Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Charles Cumming biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Charles Cumming
Photo: Toby Madden

Charles Cumming

Charles Cumming Biography

Charles Cumming is a British writer of spy fiction. He was educated at Eton College (1985-1989) and the University of Edinburgh (1990-1994), where he graduated with First Class Honours in English Literature. The Observer has described him as "the best of the new generation of British spy writers who are taking over where John le Carré and Len Deighton left off."

Charles Cumming's website

This bio was last updated on 01/01/2022. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

In a range of interviews, both video (with actor Dominic West) and text, Charles Cumming talks about his spy novels: The Trinity Six, The Hidden Man, A Spy By Nature and The Spanish Game.

Various interviews with Charles Cumming about The Trinity Six, The Hidden Man, A Spy By Nature and The Spanish Game


Charles Cumming, author of The Trinity Six, discusses The Cambridge Spy Ring



Dominic West speaks with Charles Cumming about The Trinity Six



Charles Cumming talks about his spy novels: The Hidden Man, A Spy By Nature and The Spanish Game

BookBrowse Note: A Spy by Nature was published in the UK in 2001 but not released in the USA until 2007. It's sequel, The Spanish Game was released in the USA in 2008. The Hidden Man was published in the UK in 2003 but is not yet released in the US.

What gave you the idea for The Hidden Man?

The Hidden Man began life as a screenplay. Like any self-respecting arts graduate in his early twenties, I started writing film scripts more or less as soon as I'd left university. This is about 10 years ago. At the time, it wasn't really possible to walk down the street without bumping into six or seven people who were also hoping to make it big in the movie business. (It's like the famous Peter Cook joke: Two guys are at a party. One says, “I'm working on a novel” and the other replies, “Neither am I.”) Anyway, I was ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Charles Cumming at BookBrowse
JUDAS 62 jacket BOX 88 jacket A Divided Spy jacket A Colder War jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Charles Cumming but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • John Altman

    John Altman

    John Altman is a musician and freelance writer living in New York City. A graduate of Harvard, he comes from an extended family of writers, including the novelists Karen Bender, Aimee Bender, and Robert Anthony Siegel.

    In... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Spanish Game

    Try:
    A Gathering of Spies
    by John Altman

  • William Brodrick

    William Brodrick

    William Brodrick, in a career change that reverses that of his character Father Anselm's, was an Augustinian friar before leaving in order to become a practicing barrister. (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Colder War

    Try:
    The 6th Lamentation
    by William Brodrick

We recommend 31 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine CapĂł Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Painter's Daughters
    The Painter's Daughters
    by Emily Howes
    Peggy and Molly Gainsborough are sisters and best friends, living an idyllic life in 18th-century ...
  • Book Jacket: Beverly Hills Spy
    Beverly Hills Spy
    by Ronald Drabkin
    When it comes to espionage, not only is truth stranger than fiction, sometimes it can be downright ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
A Great Country
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
A novel exploring the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

Who Said...

The low brow and the high brow

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

S B the B

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.