MLA Gold Award Site

Matt Beynon Rees biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Matt Beynon Rees

Matt Beynon Rees

How to pronounce Matt Beynon Rees: BUY-nun rees

Matt Beynon Rees Biography

Journalist and author Matt Beynon Rees was born in Wales in 1967 and studied at Oxford University and the University of Maryland.  He then worked as a financial reporter in London, Washington D.C. and New York before becoming the first Middle East correspondent for The Scotsman in 1996.  He speaks fluent Arabic and lives in Jerusalem.

As a journalist, he has covered the Middle East for over a decade, with the vast majority of that time spent amongst Palestinians and Israelis. He's a Contributor for Time based in Jerusalem, where he was the magazine's bureau chief from June 2000 until January 2006. In 2004 he published a nonfiction account of the divisions within Israeli and Palestinian societies called Cain's Field: Faith, Fratricide, and Fear in the Middle East.

His first detective novel, The Collaborator of Bethlehem, the first in a planned series of seven, was published in the U.S. in February 2007.  The series has been sold to leading publishers in France, Italy, Britain, Poland, Spain, Germany, Israel, Portugal, and Brazil.

He has wanted to be a writer since he was nine years old and his schoolteacher pinned a story he wrote on the classroom wall. The first mystery he ever read was The Maltese Falcon; he says, "Hammett inspired me to take not just the character but the whole social context of the story. Having been a journalist [in Jerusalem] for the past 10 years, I don't have to wonder what Palestinians are like."

He is described as a dogged reporter, wide reader, old movie buff, and fitness enthusiast.

Bibliography:

Nonfiction

  • Cain's Field: Faith, Fratricide, and Fear in the Middle East (2004)


  • Omar Yussef novels
  • The Collaborator of Bethlehem (2007)
  • A Grave in Gaza (2008)
  • The Samaritan's Secret (2009)
  • The Fourth Assassin (2010)


  • Historical novels
  • Mozart's Last Aria (2011)
  • Link to Matt Beynon's website

    This biography was last updated on 08/02/2011.

    A note about the biographies
    We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate. However, with over 2500 lives to keep track of it's inevitable that some won't be as current or as complete as we would like. So, please help us - if the information about a particular author is out of date, inaccurate or simply very short, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and those connected with authors: If you wish to make changes to your bio, please send your complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

    Membership Advantages
    • Reviews
    • "Beyond the Book" backstories
    • Free books to read and review (US only)
    • Find books by time period, setting & theme
    • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
    • Book club discussions
    • and much more!
    • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
    • More about membership!

    Books by this Author

    Books by Matt Beynon Rees at BookBrowse
    Mozart's Last Aria jacket The Fourth Assassin jacket The Samaritan's Secret jacket A Grave in Gaza jacket
    Membership Advantages
    • Reviews
    • "Beyond the Book" backstories
    • Free books to read and review (US only)
    • Find books by time period, setting & theme
    • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
    • Book club discussions
    • and much more!
    • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
    • More about membership!

    Readalikes

    All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Matt Beynon Rees but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
    How we choose readalikes

    • Izzeldin Abuelaish

      Izzeldin Abuelaish

      Izzeldin Abuelaish, MD, MPH, is a Palestinian physician and infertility expert who was born and raised in the Jabalia refugee camp in the Gaza Strip. He received a scholarship to study medicine in Cairo, and then received a ... (more)

      If you enjoyed:
      The Collaborator of Bethlehem

      Try:
      I Shall Not Hate
      by Izzeldin Abuelaish

    • Jimmy Carter

      Jimmy Carter

      Jimmy Carter was born in Plains, Georgia in 1924, and served as thirty-ninth President of the United States. He and his wife, Rosalynn, founded The Carter Center, a nonprofit organization that prevents and resolves conflicts,... (more)

      If you enjoyed:
      The Collaborator of Bethlehem

      Try:
      Palestine
      by Jimmy Carter

    We recommend 13 similar authors

    View all 13 Readalikes

    Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
    Membership Advantages
    • Reviews
    • "Beyond the Book" backstories
    • Free books to read and review (US only)
    • Find books by time period, setting & theme
    • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
    • Book club discussions
    • and much more!
    • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
    • More about membership!
    Member Benefits

    Join Now!

    Check the advantages!
    Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

      •  
      • FREE
      • MEMBER
      • Range of media reviews for each book
      • Excerpts of all featured books
      • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
      • Browse by genre
      • Book club discussions
      • Book club advice and reading guides
      • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
      •  
      • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
      •  
      • Free books to read and review (US Only)
      •  
      • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
      •  
      • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
      •  
      • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
      •  

    Editor's Choice

    • Book Jacket
      The Lost Child
      by Caryl Phillips
      The Lost Child is a modern novel constructed within a historical frame, invoking one of the most ...
    • Book Jacket: Homegoing
      Homegoing
      by Yaa Gyasi
      It's all very well to challenge people to be the masters of their own destiny, but when you&#...
    • Book Jacket
      Bad Country
      by CB McKenzie
      If author CB McKenzie's decidedly noir debut novel Bad Country were chocolate, it would be at ...

    First Impressions

    • Book Jacket

      Since She Went Away
      by David Bell

      A chilling novel of guilt, regret, and a past which refuses to die...

      Read Member Reviews

    Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

    Book Discussions
    Book Jacket
    Sweet Caress
    by William Boyd

    William Boyd's Sweet Caress captures an entire lifetime unforgettably within its pages. It captivates.

    About the book
    Join the discussion!
    Win this book!
    Win The Charmers

    The Charmers by Elizabeth Adler

    "This tale of romantic suspense makes the perfect beach read."
    —Library Journal

    Enter

    Word Play

    Solve this clue:

    C To T Q

    and be entered to win..

    Books that     
    entertain,
         engage

     & enlighten

    Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

    Join Today!

    Your guide toexceptional          books

    BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.