Rage Against the Dying: Book summary and reviews of Rage Against the Dying by Becky Masterman

Rage Against the Dying

by Becky Masterman

Rage Against the Dying by Becky Masterman X
Rage Against the Dying by Becky Masterman
Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

You have never met an (ex) FBI agent like Brigid Quinn.

"Keeping secrets, telling lies, they require the same skill. Both become a habit, almost an addiction, that's hard to break even with the people closest to you, out of the business. For example, they say never trust a woman who tells you her age; if she can't keep that secret, she can't keep yours. I'm fifty-nine."

Brigid Quinn's experiences in hunting sexual predators for the FBI have left her with memories she wishes she didn't have and lethal skills she hopes never to need again. Having been pushed into early retirement by events she thinks she's put firmly behind her, Brigid keeps telling herself she is settling down nicely in Tucson with a wonderful new husband, Carlo, and their dogs.

But the past intervenes when a man named Floyd Lynch confesses to the worst unsolved case of Brigid's career - the disappearance and presumed murder of her young protégée, Jessica. Floyd knows things about that terrible night that were never made public, and offers to lead the cops to Jessica's body in return for a plea bargain.

It should finally be the end of a dark chapter in Brigid's life. Except…the new FBI agent on the case, Laura Coleman, thinks the confession is fake, and Brigid finds she cannot walk away from violence and retribution after all, no matter what the cost.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Starred Review. Resist any temptation to bail after the creepy prologue...because then you'll miss one of the most memorable FBI agents since Clarice Starling as well as a killer debut thriller." - Publishers Weekly

"Although Brigid sometimes takes things too far, stretching the bounds of credulity, it is worth the suspension of disbelief to hang with her. Fans of Lisa Gardner and Tess Gerritsen will love this book." - Booklist

"Readers who can accept the coincidence of two sex killers sharing the same zip code and Brigid's unconvincing explanation of why she doesn't just report Peasil's death, which would manifestly be covered by a self-defense plea, are in for a ride as thrilling as they can find outside the pages of Jeffery Deaver (who's regularly invoked here), in the company of a heroine whose cleareyed disillusionment gives each wisecrack a trembling sense of mortality. A scorching, humane first novel that reads as if Masterman's been sitting for a long time on some truly ugly secrets." - Kirkus

"Wow. An absolute pleasure. Chilling, smart, funny, and what a voice she has." - Gillian Flynn, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller Gone Girl

"First time is the charm for Masterman's masterful debut, featuring 59-year-old retired FBI Agent Brigid Quinn, still tough, still determined, and still smarting to catch that one killer who got away. An author to watch. A thriller that must be read." - Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Catch Me and Love You More

"Blown away. What else can I tell you? Brigid Quinn is a heroine to cheer for, and Masterman writes like an angel who has seen far too many ungodly things." - Linwood Barclay, author of the New York Times bestseller No Time for Goodbye

This information about Rage Against the Dying shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's membership magazine, and in our weekly "Publishing This Week" newsletter. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Any "Author Information" displayed below reflects the author's biography at the time this particular book was published.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Lillian D. (Apache Junction, AZ)

Rage Against The Dying
Brigid Quinn, a decommissioned FBI agent, was previously involved in the Route 66 serial killer case. She didn't get her man, but her man did capture and kill her protege, Special Agent, Jessica Robertson. So when it seems that he has reappeared after many years of inactivity, Brigid gets involved. Brigid is tough and disrespectful and very funny. She is also warm and caring. "Rage Against The Dying" is fast moving and totally engrossing. I will recommend this book to my mystery loving friends. I also hope for many more Brigid Quinn sequels.

Sue P. (Richardson, TX)

Rage Against the Dying
This book got lost in the mail so it took a while to receive it, but oh, it was well worth the wait!
I have seldom seen such engaging writing from a debut author! Brigid, the 59-year old protagonist of the book is very well drawn - as are her other characters. This book is suspenseful, riveting in places, and has such an ORIGINAL voice. I do hope this turns into a series.

Jim S. (Austin, TX)

Rage Against Dying
Brigid Quinn, ex FBI agent, has married the "Perfessor" who is supposedly unaware of her history with hunting sexual predators. She was involved in a case in which a fellow female FBI agent was never found after being used for bait to catch a predator of young women. Though disappointed she has retired but always ponders this loss.
The book opens with Brigid being a target of a sexual predator of older women, of which Brigid is one being 59. Following this event Brigid is again involved in the hunt for for a new or possibly old foe which leads to working with old colleagues as well as new relationships.
I thought the characters were true to their roles. The plot was realistic and the outcomes exciting. I would recommend the book as one of the best books of this genre. It should do well in 2013.

Carolyn F. (Hilton Head Island, SC)

The Victim Turned Predator
You hold your breath as an older woman is thrown into the van, only to realize that she is not your average victim. and now you are off on the hunt for a serial killer, with a hunter who is past middle age, emotionally conflicted, but gutsy and determined. a great read, an admirable heroine!

Jeanine

Rage Against the Dying
Wow! This is a book you might not want to read in public because people may stare as you gasp, cringe, cover your eyes, cheer. It totally involved me and held me to the last word. I probably wouldn't recommend it to the extremely squeamish or faint of heart, but it IS a thriller, after all. This writer can really write! Having spent time in Tucson, Catalina and San Manuel, the setting felt authentic to me. It can be harsh there. The protagonist is complex, unique, scary-gutsy, and smart. I liked her, even though she did make me shake my head from time to time. It's a 5 star for its genre. I predict a best seller and the first in a series. (I hope, I hope.) I would look forward to more from this author.

Diana J. (Highland Falls, NY)

Rage Against the Dying, a middle aged heroine
I enjoyed this book a lot...as with most first offers, I'm sure if Ms Masterman continues this series, there will be more character development. But it was enjoyable to read about a woman of a certain age who was tough and smart. Good book if you like Sue Grafton type heroines, and lots of action. I read it cover to cover in one sitting. I'd recommend it.

...21 more reader reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Becky Masterman Author Biography

Becky Masterman, who was an acquisitions editor for a press specializing in medical textbooks for forensic examiners and law enforcement, received her M.A. in creative writing from Florida Atlantic University. Her debut thriller, Rage Against the Dying, was a finalist for the Edgar Award for Best First Novel, the CWA Gold Dagger Award for Best Crime Novel of 2013, the ITV Thriller Award, as well as the Macavity, Barry, and Anthony awards. Becky lives in Tucson, Arizona, with her husband.

Link to Becky Masterman's Website

Other books by Becky Masterman at BookBrowse
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more thrillers...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Sea Gate
    The Sea Gate
    by Jane Johnson
    In Jane Johnson's novel, The Sea Gate, set in England, readers are introduced to Becky, a young ...
  • Book Jacket: Stories from Suffragette City
    Stories from Suffragette City
    by M.J. Rose, Fiona Davis
    Our First Impressions readers were fascinated by the historical fiction from a range of authors ...
  • Book Jacket: The Mystery of Mrs. Christie
    The Mystery of Mrs. Christie
    by Marie Benedict
    The Mystery of Mrs. Christie by Marie Benedict, notable author of previous historical fiction such ...
  • Book Jacket: To Be a Man
    To Be a Man
    by Nicole Krauss
    While, as its title hints, To Be a Man by Nicole Krauss is concerned with masculinity, it renders a ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    At the Edge of the Haight
    by Katherine Seligman

    Winner of the 2019 PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction.

    Reader Reviews
  • Book Jacket

    The Prophets
    by Robert Jones Jr.

    A stunning debut novel about the forbidden union between two enslaved young men on a Deep South plantation.

    Reader Reviews
Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Moment of Lift
by Melinda Gates
How can we summon a moment of lift for women? Because when you lift up women, you lift up humanity.
Who Said...

Be sincere, be brief, be seated

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T M T C, T M T Stay T S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.