The Intercept: Book summary and reviews of The Intercept by Dick Wolf

The Intercept

A Jeremy Fisk Novel

by Dick Wolf

The Intercept by Dick Wolf
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jan 2013
    400 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

Four days before the July Fourth holiday and the dedication of the new Freedom Tower building at ground zero in New York City, five passengers and a flight attendant bravely foil the hijacking of a commercial jet over the Atlantic Ocean. Thrust into the national spotlight, "The Six" as they are dubbed by the media, become instant celebrities, hailed for their bravery. But iconoclastic New York Police detective Jeremy Fisk believes there's more to this than a simple open-and-shut case of an attempted terrorist act. Fisk - from the department's Intelligence Division, a well-funded anti-terror unit modeled upon the CIA - suspects that this might be only a diversion and in reality the early warning signal that another, potentially more devastating attack is imminent.

Another passenger, a Saudi Arabian national, has disappeared into the crowds of Manhattan and now it's up to Fisk to find him before the holiday celebrations begin. Watching each promising new lead fizzle, chasing shadows to dead ends, Fisk and his partner, Krina Gersten, quickly realize that their opponents are smarter and more agile than any they have ever faced. Extremely clever and seemingly invisible, they are able to exploit every security weakness and anticipate Fisk's every move. And time is running out.

Dick Wolf makes his literary debut with this extraordinary tale - a tense, driving drama reminiscent of the classic The Day of the Jackal - filled with the ingenious twists and high-wire drama we have come to expect from this master storyteller.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Starred Review. A spectacular fiction debut ... A pulsating plotline. Clever characters. Dramatic dialogue. Surprising twists. All make for an edge-of-your-seat read that will have thriller fans eagerly awaiting the next series installment." - Library Journal

"Wolf's take on the American media's obsession with celebrity, and the way these characters cope with it and with one another, provides some of the book's finest moments. The Intercept doesn't quite measure up to the best of the thriller genre - to the likes of John Sanford and Joseph Finder - but Wolf, an Emmy-winning screenwriter, director, and TV producer, is off to a promising start as a novelist." - Publishers Weekly

"Dick Wolf has proven he's a master storyteller in any form. The Intercept is gripping, telling and timely. Bottom line: It's a great read!" - Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Fifth Witness

"Dick Wolf's The Intercept is nail-biting, page-turning, twisty suspense. Warning: If you value sleep, don't start this one late at night." - Harlan Coben #1 New York Times bestselling author of Stay Close

The information about The Intercept shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Becky H

The Intercept
Be ready for heart pounding excitement when this novel reaches its climax. Jeremy Fisk is an NYPD detective assigned to Intelligence. His job – find out if the terrorist who attempted to hijack the airliner was nut case who was working alone or is he part of a sinister plot to attack the heart of America by killing the 6 intrepid citizens who foiled the hijacker.
If you like intelligent thrillers you will love this first of a series. Great characters, clear plotting, enough clues to keep the mystery fans guessing. Only one small gripe that can’t be revealed without giving away an essential plot detail. So no spoilers here – you’ll just have to read the book!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Information

More Information

Dick Wolf, an award-winning writer, director, producer, and creator, is the architect of one of the most successful brands in the history of television - NBC's Law & Order, the longest running scripted show in television history. He has won numerous awards, including two Emmys, a Grammy, and an Edgar. This is his first novel and the first in a series featuring NYPD Detective Jeremy Fisk. He lives in Montecito, California.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more thrillers...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.