MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Remembrance: Book summary and reviews of Remembrance by Rita Woods

Remembrance

by Rita Woods

Remembrance by Rita Woods X
Remembrance by Rita Woods
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jan 2020
    416 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

Remembrance by Rita Woods is a breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for the many fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

Remembrance…It's a rumor, a whisper passed in the fields and veiled behind sheets of laundry. A hidden stop on the underground road to freedom, a safe haven protected by more than secrecy…if you can make it there.

Ohio, present day. An elderly woman who is more than she seems warns against rising racism as a young woman grapples with her life.

Haiti, 1791, on the brink of revolution. When the slave Abigail is forced from her children to take her mistress to safety, she discovers New Orleans has its own powers.

1857 New Orleansa city of unrest: Following tragedy, house girl Margot is sold just before her 18th birthday and her promised freedom. Desperate, she escapes and chases a whisper.... Remembrance.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!
  1. The novel opens with Gaelle's dream, evoking the tragic memory of the earthquake that destroyed her family. Discuss the memories that are woven into the novel's title, Remembrance. How is the act of remembrance passed between Gaelle's ancestors? How has remembrance been communicated from one generation to the next in your family?
  2. At the beginning of Part Two, we read about the day Abigail and her sister were captured near their village in Africa. How did Abigail find the will and the courage to survive?
  3. What did the novel teach you about the Haitian Revolution? If you were Hercule, would you have become a Maroon? In what ways can fiction help us understand the truth about actual historical events? In the novel and in real life, how ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"This book deserves to be a breakout hit. Woods's magical realist take on the black female experience will have huge appeal to readers of Marlon James and Tara Conklin." - Library Journal (starred review)

"Despite a few rookie missteps, the novel's originality makes it worth reading." - Kirkus Reviews

"Woods' writing is assured, the historical settings vivid, and her characters fully realized. Hand this to fans of Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing and Octavia Butler's Kindred, who will appreciate this complex, genre-blending debut." - Booklist

"Fine attention to sensory details and brutal honesty concerning the horrors of slavery and racial relations over more than two centuries of American history make this a standout." - Publishers Weekly

The information about Remembrance shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Jan H.

Absolutely outstanding
Just finished reading this debut book by Dr. Rita Woods. It is unlike any other I've read. It is historical fiction, from a different perspective - that of former slaves, some with powers beyond understanding. The writing is excellent, and the story is even better.

RutheH

History's Sadness
Great book for a first time author, Dr. Rita Woods. This time in history always makes me think "how could we?" Mother Abigail shows true strength to create this safe haven; Winter was amazing with her talents; Louisa was such a "b" but she knew lots of stuff; Margot compassionate yet tough and thank God for David Henry, the rescuer! All the character's are well developed, and the countryside descriptions were so vivid, the author took me there with them. I won't even say anything about "the white guys" dirty slavers! I look forward to reading Rita Woods next novel.

CarolT

Compelling
Woods has a real knack for drawing the reader in and holding her there. The characters are real and the plot is fascinating. I found myself wondering what talents I might have if I only focused better.

Linda K. (Sunset, SC)

Remembrance
For fans of historical based novels, Remembrance is an emotional experience into a dark chapter of slavery in the new world. The overlaying stories of the female characters in Dominica in the late 17th century, fleeing to the port city of New Orleans, the American Civil War and Underground Railroad provide a rich background drop for Rita Woods' novel. The characters are interesting and elicited an emotional reader connection to the story.

As well written as it was, I felt myself losing interest in the final chapters which became bogged down with too much dialogue. However, loved the ending with the current day character of Gaelle and think as sequel would be anticipated.

Becky S. (Springfield, MO)

Twist on a familiar story
This book was so different from any I have ever read! I am not one to read science fiction or the fantasy genre, yet I have read many historical fiction books.. this was what I would call a mystical, historical fiction. The special powers of the women in the story, is what made it all so special. I found that I couldn't put the book down and was tense with wondering what was going to happen next! I thoroughly enjoyed this book and the imaginative way it was written.. very talented author ! I recommend this book for anyone who thinks they have read all there is about slavery, for this gives it a different twist altogether. It sure gave me a lot to think about ... are there people with special, mystical gifts walking amongst us? Read this book and I suspect you might become a believer!

Mary O. (Boston, MA)

Special
I LOVED this book! This book is a study of superb character development and the interconnections between three special women. As you turn the pages, you become even more a participant in their lives and the characters continue to haunt you after the book is long done. A book everyone should read - a TOTAL JOY!!

...34 more reader reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Rita Woods

Rita Woods is a family doctor and the director of a wellness center. When she's not busy working or writing Dr. Woods spends time with her family or at the Homer Glen library where she served on the board for ten years. Remembrance is her first novel.

More Author Information

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more novels...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...
  • Book Jacket: The Truants
    The Truants
    by Kate Weinberg
    The Truants opens with Jess Walker, a first-year university student in Norfolk, England, ...
  • Book Jacket: The End of the Ocean
    The End of the Ocean
    by Maja Lunde
    In The History of Bees, her debut novel for adults, internationally bestselling Norwegian writer ...
  • Book Jacket: Heart of Junk
    Heart of Junk
    by Luke Geddes
    In Luke Geddes' debut novel, The Heart of America is the largest year-round antique mall in Kansas, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    American Dirt
    by Jeanine Cummins

    A new American classic, and the first book to ever score a perfect 5-stars in BookBrowse's early reader program!
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Sounds Like Titanic

"The definition of an overdeliver." —Vox

"A tricky, unnerving, consistently fascinating memoir."
Kirkus, starred review

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.