The French Girl: Book summary and reviews of The French Girl by Lexie Elliott

The French Girl

by Lexie Elliott

The French Girl by Lexie Elliott
  • Readers' rating:

  • Publishes in USA 
    Feb 20, 2018
    304 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

One woman becomes trapped in the tangled bonds of friendship in an exhilarating debut novel of psychological suspense for fans of Fiona Barton, Clare Mackintosh, and Ruth Ware.

We all have our secrets...

They were six university students from Oxford--friends and sometimes more than friends--spending an idyllic week together in a French farmhouse. It was supposed to be the perfect summer getaway...until they met Severine, the girl next door.

For Kate Channing, Severine was an unwelcome presence, her inscrutable beauty undermining the close-knit group's loyalties amid the already simmering tensions. And after a huge altercation on the last night of the holiday, Kate knew nothing would ever be the same. There are some things you can't forgive. And there are some people you can't forget...like Severine, who was never seen again.

Now, a decade later, the case is reopened when Severine's body is found in the well behind the farmhouse. Questioned along with her friends, Kate stands to lose everything she's worked so hard to achieve as suspicion mounts around her. Desperate to resolve her own shifting memories and fearful she will be forever bound to the woman whose presence still haunts her, Kate finds herself buried under layers of deception with no one to set her free...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"A gripping mystery that delves into the past and the darker side of friendships, this book will have you questioning everything you think you know. The French Girl is a fantastic debut about tangled relationships, shifting perceptions, and the memories—and people—that haunt us. I was completely captivated from beginning to end." - Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author of The Perfect Stranger

"A maelstrom of complicated friendships and shifting alliances. This addictive debut will keep you up late into the night!" - Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter

The information about The French Girl shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

Carole C. (Frisco, TX)

The French Girl
The French Girl hooked me right from the start! I wasn't sure the direction it would take the whole time. You kept trying to pick which friend might have committed the crime, but then you weren't sure if it was even one of the 6 friends. The narrator was likable. This was a fast read and lots of fun! I'll definitely pick up the next book from this author.

Diane P. (Deer Park, WA)

A simple review
The French Girl is one of those books that immerses you. A well written tale of six English students who spend a week in the French countryside only to have a French girl who was staying across the way go missing. Fast forward ten years and five of the six students are now settled into their lives in London when they are notified that the remains of the French girl have been found in an old well on the property where they were staying.

Thus begins the cat and mouse game between the old friends, who knows what, each person carefully searching to see what the others know. This is not a sit on the edge of your seat thriller but a nuanced study of how friends react to news that most likely one of the is a murderer. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would highly recommend it.

Shirley Thomas (Comfort, TX)

The French Girl by Lexie Elliott
This is a really good murder mystery novel discussing friendship and the bonds that have continued over ten years. The author hooks the reader right from the beginning but then introduces intriguing doubts as secrets and betrayals are revealed and as memories change. The ghost of the murder victim plagues the heroine as she struggles with the reopened case.

Who can she trust and who has betrayed her?

Sue P. (ALBUQUERQUE, NM)

The French Girl
Wow! What a debut! I've been in the process of moving to NM from Texas, so I didn't get to this as quickly as I wanted to. But when I did start reading, I finished it in one sitting. It is well crafted and the characters are definitely 3-dimensional. The suspense and the feeling of dread builds wonderfully. I hope she writes more (and more!). So glad I requested this book.

Jane Lee (Diamondhead MS)

First sentence
First sentences can assure that I will keep reading. The debut psychological novel The French Girl begins: "Looking back,the most striking thing is that she knew I didn't like her and she didn't care." Ten years after six university friends spend a week at a French farmhouse the bones of the girl next door was discovered in the well on the property.

Narrated by Kate Channing who is a suspect the book explores friendships, long buried secrets,and betrayals on the way to a satisfying conclusion as to what happened to Severine...the French girl. An awesome first mystery.

Barbara B. (Holbrook, NY)

THE FRENCH GIRL BY LEXIE ELLIOTT
At first I thought this was going to be a book reminiscent of Amanda Knox. But a few pages in and that thought went down the drain. Memories it seems are forever with us. The older we get or the uglier the memory, in this case the disappearance of a friend and what happened to her, can start to really erode friendships. Trust, betrayals, and not being sure of who is deceiving who makes for a really suspenseful story. The ups and downs and backs and forths when they do find out what happened to their friend is written so well and so descriptive that I was just carried along. This was a truly suspenseful book.

...25 more reader reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Information

More Information

Lexie Elliott has been writing for as long as she can remember, but she began to focus on it more seriously after she lost her banking job in 2009 due to the Global Financial Crisis. After some success in short story competitions, she began planning a novel. With two kids and a (new) job, it took some time for that novel to move from her head to the page, but the result was The French Girl, which will be published by Berkley in February 2018 - available to pre-order on Amazon now!

When she's not writing, Lexie can be found running, swimming or cycling whilst thinking about writing. In 2007 she swam the English Channel solo. She won't be doing that again. In 2015 she ran 100km, raising money for Alzheimer Scotland. She won't be doing that again either. But the odd triathlon or marathon isn't out of the question. Visit her at lexieelliott.com and at facebook.com/lexieelliottwrites

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more thrillers...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice


Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Being Mortal by Atul Gawande

An eye-opening and riveting look at how how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Seven Days of Us
    by Francesca Hornak

    A warm, wry debut novel about a family forced to spend a week together over the holidays.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.