The Third Wife: Book summary and reviews of The Third Wife by Lisa Jewell

The Third Wife

by Lisa Jewell

The Third Wife by Lisa Jewell
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jun 2015
    352 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Book Summary

For fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes comes a riveting family drama with a dark mystery at its core, from the internationally bestselling author of The House We Grew Up In.

In the early hours of a summer morning, a young woman steps into the path of an oncoming bus. A tragic accident? Or suicide?

At the center of this puzzle is Adrian Wolfe, a successful architect and grief-stricken widower, who, a year after his third wife's death, begins to investigate the cause. As Adrian looks back on their brief but seemingly happy marriage, disturbing secrets begin to surface. The divorces from his two previous wives had been amicable, or so it seemed; his children, all five of them, were resilient as ever, or so he thought. But something, or someone, must have pushed Maya over the edge…

With psychological nuance that gets into the heart of its characters, The Third Wife is a gripping story about a man seeking the truth behind his seemingly perfect marriage and the broken pieces left behind.

Read a Sample

Click to the right or left of the sample to turn the page.
(If no book jacket appears in a few seconds, then we don't have an excerpt of this book or your browser is unable to display it)

You can see the full discussion here. This discussion will contain spoilers!

Some of the recent comments posted about The Third Wife:

A study found that the more divorces and remarriages a child lives through, the more likely he is to divorce and the more failed marriages he'll experience as an adult. Do you see this as the future of the children in this novel?
That old expression "a child lives what he learns" is unfortunately often true and Adrian's children were all troubled and hiding their feelings in one way or another. The examples they saw of what a marriage is certainly won't help them to have ... - candaceb

Did you feel that Maya was a sympathetic character?
I did not find her sympathetic and felt that she helped to create her own role in the family. I don't remember enough about her background to determine if she could have been more assertive on her role as the current wife. I should certainly have ... - Peggy H

Do you think Maya's death was accidental or suicide?
Have to agree also. I feel as if it was an accident. Although she had made her decision to leave Adrian and move on...she was not a very strong person nor a very secure person. Her infatuation with Adrian when she first met him, her relationship with... - joang

How would you describe Cat's relationship with Adrian?
I would describe Cat's and Adrian's relationship as very immature. She was supposedly one of his eldest children, but really acted more childish than Pearl, who was at least a decade younger than her. Adrian and her met for lunch weekly, so you would... - dlpiano

How would you write the post-epilogue narrative?
The way Adrian reacted to Abby when he delivered the cat, there is no doubt that his wandering eye will never stop. He may insert him back in Caroline's house and even marry her, but it is hard to believe he will be able to resist the temptation to ... - dorinned

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

"Taut pacing and complicated characters shape this rich examination of the modern family." – Kirkus

"As in The House We Grew Up In (2014), Jewell excels at juggling multiple perspectives to slowly peel back the layers of supposed domestic bliss." - Booklist

"Lisa Jewell presents us with yet another emotionally intelligent, brilliantly plotted and beautifully written examination of a very modern family that will keep you gripped to the end... Take this to the beach, or indeed anywhere – I promise you won't regret it." – Daily Mail (London)

The information about The Third Wife shown above was first featured in "The BookBrowse Review" - BookBrowse's online-magazine that keeps our members abreast of notable and high-profile books publishing in the coming weeks. In most cases, the reviews are necessarily limited to those that were available to us ahead of publication. If you are the publisher or author of this book and feel that the reviews shown do not properly reflect the range of media opinion now available, please send us a message with the mainstream media reviews that you would like to see added.

Reader Reviews

Write your own review

karnab

The Third Wife
A dark, psychological thriller makes this well-written book a page turner. Is this blended family a truly remarkable unit or do the family members harbor grudges against each other to the extent that the newest member of the family commits suicide or is murdered? Adrian Wolfe distraught over his wife's death examines his life and that of his "families" in the hopes of finding the answer.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Author Information

Lisa Jewell Author Biography

Photo: Lucinda Chua

Lisa Jewell was born and raised in north London, where she lives with her husband and two daughters. She is the internationally bestselling author of ten previous novels, including The Making of Us and Before I Met You.

Link to Lisa Jewell's Website

Other books by Lisa Jewell at BookBrowse
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

More Recommendations

Readers Also Browsed . . .

more novels...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice


Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Being Mortal by Atul Gawande

An eye-opening and riveting look at how how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Never Coming Back
    by Alison McGhee

    A moving exploration of growing up and growing old, and the ties that bind parents and children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.