Verlyn Klinkenborg Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Verlyn Klinkenborg

Verlyn Klinkenborg

How to pronounce Verlyn Klinkenborg: ver-lin clink-en-borg

An interview with Verlyn Klinkenborg

A conversation with Verlyn Klinkenborg about his book Timothy, or Notes of an Abject Reptile written from the viewpoint of an 18th century tortoise; and an interview with Timothy as well!

How did you stumble upon Timothy and Mr. Gilbert White’s journals?
I’ve known about Gilbert White’s major work—The Natural History of Selborne—since I was a graduate student in English Literature at Princeton University. But I read White’s journals—some of the finest and most observant prose written in the 18th century—all the way through for the first time only a few years ago. Though the journals are not well known, The Natural History of Selborne has gone through many dozens of editions and has been a favorite of readers who love nature—and good writing—ever since it was first published in 1789.

How are humans separate from the rest of nature?
They’re not separate at all, not in any way. Humans are animals and are subject to the fundamental environmental and population constraints that all other species on this planet are subject to. What sets us apart is that we love to believe we’re not subject to those constraints.

How did you decide to write the book from Timothy’s point of view?
It popped into my head. I was reading White’s journals four winters ago, and I was struck by how carefully he watched Timothy. I thought to myself, it would be interesting to write a book in which the tortoise watches the natural historian. I wrote that thought down, and it seemed like such a good idea that I wrote next to it: Do this!

Animal consciousness can be a controversial topic – how did you approach that in the book? How did you decide upon Timothy’s extremely high level of intelligence?
I’ve noticed that science is constantly discovering that animals are smarter than we think they are. I don’t recall ever seeing a study that said, for instance, that animals are stupider than we think they are. Perhaps that suggests that we’ve always underestimated them—or perhaps that we’ve always overestimated ourselves. As for Timothy’s intelligence, I decided that the reader has already crossed that threshold the moment he or she accepts that this is a book in which a tortoise is talking. Once the reader accepts that, it’s no harder to accept a highly intelligent tortoise than it would be to accept one that isn’t half as bright. I think a reader has vastly more to learn from a Timothy who can see around the corners of human behavior than from one who can’t. Besides, Gilbert White once wrote a letter in which he tried to speak in Timothy’s voice, and he too assumed that Timothy would be a highly intelligent creature.

What is known about Timothy after Mr. White’s death?
Very little. Timothy is said to have died in the spring of 1794, but that is all that is said. I suspect the tortoise was found dead when spring returned to Selborne. But the shell was preserved and it can now be seen in the Natural History Museum in London.

How does Timothy feel about Mr. Gilbert White? How does Mr. White relate to nature?
What Timothy hints at several times in this book but never quite says aloud is this—though the tortoise watches Gilbert White closely and judges his behavior, he is by far the most tolerant, the most understanding of humans when it comes to nature and the lives of the animals around him. His science may seem intrusive, clumsy, and, at times, downright destructive. But it is the basis for a feeling for nature, in him, that is surprisingly rich. These are feelings that Timothy takes for granted, a sense of kinship that comes naturally. Mr. White has to work at it over the years to acquire that sensitivity to the natural world. He has to rationalize it before he can really feel it. But there were very few men or women in England in the 18th century who could match his feel for the subtleties of the natural world around him. That’s why The Natural History of Selborne is such a beloved book.


A Conversation with Timothy, narrator of Timothy; or, Notes of an Abject Reptile

You say that it took you “many months among them to trust that humans could keep from falling over.” What other human qualities and behaviors are you unsure of, and why?
Talk. Talk. Talk. Talk. What does it mean? The buzzing of the human hive. Every other word lost in the droning. Stunning inattention to the world around them. Alert only to each other. Ear always pricked for the sound of a human voice. Also the puzzle of self-doubt. Each one disagreeing with himself. As if the mirror were talking back to him. No animal is plagued in that way. Lice, yes. Fleas, yes. Worms, yes. The humans have all of these. And they have doubt nagging at them like an empty stomach. It is a wonder the race has prospered at all. The merest wren has more confidence.

You say you have two “tricks”: longevity; and going underground each autumn and coming up again each spring. Do you have other tricks that humans just cannot see?
Tricks. Qualities that catch the human eye. Attributes that make them wonder. They marvel at my age. Fail to marvel at my youth. Struck by my hibernation. But they take the architecture of my shell for granted. If only they knew how commodious it was. How wellframed it is to my ambition. If only they understood the profundity of my self-reliance, how it is anchored by my carapace. But here, in the garden’s ease, they misjudge me. The shell, an appurtenance, the sign of my being. They have no sense how suited I am to the life I was born into.

You say, “Each creature judges the condition of others and finds all but its own imperfect.”What does Mr. White observe about you in his journals that makes you shake your head in disbelief?
Unceasing attention to diet. To rising and setting, sleeping and walking. As if a tortoise were nothing but a nest of appetites. A machine for propelling those appetites from place to place. I sound, in his pages, as though I were a sort of solitary cow who got separated from the herd. Utterly domesticated. Never a thought for my wildness. Never a thought for the place of my wildness.

What are Mr. White’s limitations as a human?
The better question? What are his limitations as a tortoise? For a human, he is all that he could be. More than most humans manage to be. But as a tortoise? Hopeless. Limbs and head always exposed. Wakeful every winter. Desperate cravings of his overheated blood. Inability to warm himself with the heat of the earth. Preposterous longing for a life beyond this one. The resulting inability to make this one count the way it should.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Verlyn Klinkenborg at BookBrowse
Timothy jacket The Rural Life jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Verlyn Klinkenborg but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Simon Barnes

    Simon Barnes

    Simon Barnes was born in Bristol in 1951. He is the multi-award-winning chief sportswriter for The Times (London). He is also a nature writer, horseman, and the author of a dozen books, including the bestselling How to Be a ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Timothy

    Try:
    Ten Million Aliens
    by Simon Barnes

  • Elizabeth Berg

    Elizabeth Berg

    Elizabeth Berg is the author of many bestselling novels, including Open House (an Oprah's Book Club selection), Talk Before Sleep, and The Year of Pleasures, as well as the short story collection The Day I Ate Whatever I... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Rural Life

    Try:
    The Year of Pleasures
    by Elizabeth Berg

We recommend 19 similar authors

View all 19 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: They're Going to Love You
    They're Going to Love You
    by Meg Howrey
    Teenage Carlisle lives with her mother in Ohio, but their relationship has never felt particularly ...
  • Book Jacket: The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen
    by Isaac Blum
    That irreplaceable feeling of everyone knowing your name. The yearning to be anonymous. Parents ...
  • Book Jacket: Now Is Not the Time to Panic
    Now Is Not the Time to Panic
    by Kevin Wilson
    The edge is a shantytown filled with gold seekers. We are fugitives, and the law is skinny with ...
  • Book Jacket: Foster
    Foster
    by Claire Keegan
    Irish author Claire Keegan is experiencing a surge in popularity, thanks to the selection of her ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
The Bell in the Lake
by Lars Mytting
The engrossing epic novel - a #1 bestseller in Norway - of a young woman whose fate plays out against her village's mystical church bells.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Family Izquierdo
    by Rubén Degollado

    A masterful debut that weaves together the lives of three generations of a Mexican American family bound by love, and a curse.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

W N, W Not

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

I find that a great part of the information I have was acquired by looking something up and finding something else ...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.