Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Sue Henry Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Sue Henry

Sue Henry

An interview with Sue Henry

Sue Henry talks about the places, people, and events of the trips that found their way into the pages of Dead North.

The Ultimate Road Trip.

For anyone who travels in a motor home, or dreams of doing so, the Alaska Highway is an ultimate trip--well over 2,000 miles of adventure into the far northern United States and Canada. The highway, now asphalt-surfaced from one end to the other, is no longer the ordeal it was when it was built by the military in a record eight months and 12 days just after the start of WWII.

Still, to me, as to most Alaskans, the highway was usually just one way of going from point A (Alaska) to point B (the Lower Forty-Eight). So, when I decided to write Dead North, which was to take place along this route, I immediately acquired a motor home of my own and hit the road to do weeks of research, traveling in both directions. It was a luxury to have the time to wander along, taking three weeks each way, and discover much of what the Alaska Highway and its side-trips had to offer.

I took hundreds of photos and pages of notes, and many of the places, people, and events of those trips found their way into the pages of Dead North. An ominous stranger joined the tourists and locals strolling along the main street of Jasper. The Kiskatinaw River Bridge (the only original timber bridge still in use) was the perfect site for a murder. The Sign Forest of Watson Lake (where I located the original sign nailed up by a soldier from Illinois during the construction of the highway and added to by thousands since 1942) provided confusion for a chase. A mud slide at Summit Lake delayed me for hours, then did the same for my characters and allowed a killer to catch up. The incredible peaks and glaciers of the Icefields Parkway of Alberta even made the cover, lifted from one of my photos. Travel and creative tensions melted away at Liard Hot Springs and again at Dawson Peaks Resort, just outside of Teslin, where I pulled in to visit friends, Dave Hett and Carolyn Allen, and breakfast on prize-winning rhubarb pie. But how could I not include them both as settings that were perfect contrasts to dastardly deeds?

On the last trip north, as I sat beside a campfire and watched a rising full moon paint a path of glittering gold across the waters of Kluane Lake, I was reminded that the spirit of the Klondike Gold Rush still lingers in that part of the country, which includes Dawson City, Whitehorse, and Skagway. Though anxious to finish the trip and return to my computer, I honestly couldn't decide which was more appealing: traveling to do research for Dead North, or writing it and providing actual and armchair travelers with a sample of what the Alaska Highway has in store.

Thankfully, I didn't have to make a choice.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sue Henry at BookBrowse
Dead North jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Sue Henry but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • John Balzar

    John Balzar

    John Balzar is Senior Vice President, Communications, of the Humane Society of the United States. He joined the executive staff in 2007 after a 33-year career as a journalist, writer, and adventurer.

    His opinion columns ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Dead North

    Try:
    Yukon Alone
    by John Balzar

  • C.J. Box

    C.J. Box

    C. J. Box is the author of thirty books, including the Joe Pickett series and the Cassie Dewell series, and a story collection. His books have been translated into twenty-seven languages. He has won the Edgar, Anthony, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Dead North

    Try:
    Winterkill: A Joe Pickett Novel
    by C.J. Box

We recommend 6 similar authors

View all 6 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Liberty Equality Fashion
    Liberty Equality Fashion
    by Anne Higonnet
    With the title Liberty Equality Fashion, it may seem like Anne Higonnet's new book is an unserious ...
  • Book Jacket: Real Americans
    Real Americans
    by Rachel Khong
    Rachel Khong's sophomore novel Real Americans is an intergenerational saga that questions racial and...
  • Book Jacket: A Short Walk Through a Wide World
    A Short Walk Through a Wide World
    by Douglas Westerbeke
    From the very first page of A Short Walk Through a Wide World, debut novelist (and librarian!) ...
  • Book Jacket: The Swans of Harlem
    The Swans of Harlem
    by Karen Valby
    Journalist Karen Valby's first book, The Swans of Harlem, introduces readers to the little-known ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Long After We Are Gone
by Terah Shelton Harris
After their father's death, four siblings rally to save their family home in this gripping and hopeful tale.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

R is a D B S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.