Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Dead North by Sue Henry

Dead North

by Sue Henry

Dead North by Sue Henry X
Dead North by Sue Henry
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2001, 288 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2002, 384 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Once again, the remarkable Sue Henry brilliantly evokes a magnificent northern landscape -- and chills the blood with a riveting tale of suspicion, suspense, and lives found and lost on an unforgettable journey.

What was once the home of champion Alaskan "musher" Jessie Arnold is now a pile of charred logs and ashes. With her life in pieces, she gratefully accepts a friend's proposal that she drive his RV up from Idaho, along a two-thousand-mile-long road that winds past glaciers and glass-blue lakes, hot springs and breathtaking wilderness: the Alaska Highway.

With her lead sled dog, Tank, along for the ride, Jessie sets out from the Lower Forty-Eight, sharing the journey with new friends she encounters along the way. One of them, Maxie, a colorful senior citizen living life at full throttle, makes the miles melt away. But it's Patrick Cutler who brings terror aboard.

Jessie offers the hungry, frightened teenager shelter, a compassionate ear, and a ride. But at Jasper National Park, he disappears. Suddenly police are swarming around Jessie and Maxie, searching for the runaway in connection with two shocking murders. Jessie's instincts are telling her that Patrick is innocent, but her concern, linked with a determined need to uncover the truth, has plunged her and her elderly companion into the deadly center of a crazed blood vendetta. There are dark secrets in the boy's past that could have devastating -- perhaps fatal -- consequences for anyone who unearths them. Because, stalked victim or murderous maniac, Patrick Cutler is a lightning rod for violence and death. And now Jessie is a target -- a traveler on a cold and empty wilderness road that could be leading her not to her home...but to her grave.

Once again, the remarkable Sue Henry brilliantly evokes a magnificent northern landscape -- and chills the blood with a riveting tale of suspicion, suspense, and lives found and lost on an unforgettable journey.

Chapter One

The old man woke still tired from a restless sleep in the back bedroom of his small house on the outskirts of Cody, Wyoming, and grumbled to himself as he rolled over, seeking comfort in a new position. His legs were aching again and there was a charley horse in his right foot. He slid down far enough in the bed to brace it against the footboard and push hard against the cramped muscles of the arch, stretching them until the spasm finally eased, then for a while longer, just to make sure it wouldn't immediately return.

Wide awake now, he pushed himself to a sitting position so he could swing his feet painfully out of the bed, stood up, and tottered toward the bathroom. Couldn't sleep through the night anymore without his bladder waking him at least twice. A couple of times lately he had even dreamed that he got up and made it to the toilet, only to come suddenly awake in the middle of the action and find himself lying shamefully in a wet spot like some ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Cleveland Plain-Dealer
Henry revels in the wilderness of Alaskan scenery and keeps the tension mounting...a fine adventure.

Booklist
.... a tough mystery, compelling characters, vivid scenery, endearing dogs, and a breakneck pace. Paradoxically, the fast-moving narrative sometimes seems to undermine Henry's strengths as a writer, drawing our attention away from her characters and use of landscape in a frantic push toward the climactic showdown.

Publishers Weekly
This is one of Henry's best if not the best, because characters, not a dog team, drive the plot.... This book, with its stunning locale, will appeal to armchair travelers and readers interested in Alaska, as well as Henry's usual fans.

Reader Reviews

Rebecca Hannum Age: 17

Suspense
Thank you for your novel about the Alaskan Highway! I traveled the highway over the summer of 2006 and It was as interesting as you had said in the novel yet nothing that tragic happened. I love the way that you told the story and had me sitting on ...   Read More
Thomas Lyle

this is a great book and I recomend everyone to read it
lee ann martinsen

what a great trip you travel on in the novel.. i wanted to learn more about the alaskan highway, and want to travel it some day. since i have read other novels by sue henry, i was in suspense until the last sentence, wondering what twists the plot...   Read More
Terry G. Lacy

A slow pleasant start that picks up the pace and becomes a furious chase - I couldn't put it down.
Thank you once again, Sue Henry.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Dead North, try these:

  • Village of the Ghost Bears jacket

    Village of the Ghost Bears

    by Stan Jones

    Published 2011

    About this book

    Alaska State Trooper Nathan Active must figure out what connects a dead hunter on a remote Arctic lake with a deadly series of events.

  • A Deeper Sleep jacket

    A Deeper Sleep

    by Dana Stabenow

    Published 2008

    About this book

    More by this author

    A brutal murder takes place in a small Alaskan community. People know who the culprit is, and he has evaded justice for many years. But Kate Shugak is determined to find the evidence needed to convict him.

We have 6 read-alikes for Dead North, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Song of the Six Realms
    Song of the Six Realms
    by Judy I. Lin
    Xue'er has no place in the kingdom of Qi or any of the Six Realms. Her name means "Solitary Snow" ...
  • Book Jacket: The Demon of Unrest
    The Demon of Unrest
    by Erik Larson
    In the aftermath of the 1860 presidential election, the divided United States began to collapse as ...
  • Book Jacket: Daughters of Shandong
    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung
    Daughters of Shandong is the debut novel of Eve J. Chung, a human rights lawyer living in New York. ...
  • Book Jacket: Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    Anita de Monte Laughs Last
    by Xochitl Gonzalez
    Brooklyn-based novelist Xochitl Gonzalez is an inspiring writer to follow. At forty, she decided to ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Only the Beautiful
by Susan Meissner
A heartrending story about a young mother’s fight to keep her daughter, and the terrible injustice that tears them apart.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stolen Child
    by Ann Hood

    An unlikely duo ventures through France and Italy to solve the mystery of a child’s fate.

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.