Summary and book reviews of Winterkill: A Joe Pickett Novel by C.J. Box

Winterkill: A Joe Pickett Novel

by C.J. Box

Winterkill: A Joe Pickett Novel by C.J. Box X
Winterkill: A Joe Pickett Novel by C.J. Box
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2003, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 2004, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Steeped in the sharp cliffs and the brutal wilderness of the Wyoming landscape, this is a masterful performance - a darkly compelling and utterly unforgettable classic mystery.

It's an hour away from darkness with a bitter winter storm raging when Joe Pickett finds himself deep in the forest edging Battle Mountain, shotgun in his left hand, his truck's steering wheel handcuffed to his right--and Lamar Gardiner's arrow-riddled corpse splayed against the tree in front of him.

Lamar's murder and the sudden onslaught of the snowstorm warns: Get off the mountain. But Joe knows this episode is far from over. Somewhere in the dense timber, a killer draws back his bowstring--with Joe as his prey.

Joe's pursuit of the killer through the rugged mountains that surround the snow-packed town of Saddlestring takes a horrifying turn when his beloved foster daughter is kidnapped. Now it's personal--and Joe will stop at nothing to get her back.

Steeped in the sharp cliffs and the brutal wilderness of the Wyoming landscape, Winterkill is a masterful performance, darkly compelling and utterly unforgettable. C. J. Box places all the elements of a classic mystery in a setting where the dangerous beauty of one of America's last frontiers plays accomplice to the darkest of human motives.

win·ter·kill [wíntr kìl ] vti
to die, or cause a plant, animal, fish, or other living being/organism to die, from lack of adequate protection from winter weather conditions

Chapter One
Twelve Sleep County, Wyoming
A storm was coming to the Bighorn Mountains.

It was late December, four days before Christmas, the last week of the elk hunting season. Wyoming game warden Joe Pickett was in his green four-wheel drive pickup, parked just below the tree line in the southern Wolf range. The terrain he was patrolling was an enormous wooded bowl, and Joe was just below the eastern rim. The sea of dark pines in the bowl was interspersed with ancient clear-cuts and mountain meadows, and set off by knuckle-like granite ridges that defined each small drainage. Beyond the rim to the west was Battle Mountain, separated from the Wolf range by Crazy Woman Creek, which flowed, eventually, into the Twelve Sleep River.

It was two hours away from nightfall, but the sky ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

South Florida Sun-Sentinal (AP) - Oline H. Cogdill
Few mystery authors who use the environment as a plot foundation are as even-handed and clear-eyed in their approach as C.J. Box. He has established a solid reputation for keeping a balance between environmental and human issues - as well as rip-roaring plots - in a writing career that is just revving up....Box puts a contemporary spin on the old-fashioned western in Winterkill.

St. Louis Post-Dispatch - Jeremmy C Shea
Pickett is a vivid example of the pioneer ethic, an ambivalent mixture of respect for the diminishing wilderness and bitter resentment of federal law enforcement.

New York Times Book Review - Charles Wilson
The book leaves you hoping that between Tibbs and Woods lies a third way for the American West; an approach to environmental policy that is diligent, that understands the culture that it is seeking to transform and that also -- like this jaunty and thought-provoking novel -- is serious in purpose but doesn't take itself too seriously.

Boulder Daily Camera - Chuck Brownman
Lively new Box mystery tangles with federal power and parental rights... Joe Pickett is a character that a reader can enjoy spending time with, and the issues raised are close to home and provocative. C. J. Box continues to get better with each book he writes.

Boulder Daily Camera - Chuck Brownman
Lively new Box mystery tangles with federal power and parental rights... Joe Pickett is a character that a reader can enjoy spending time with, and the issues raised are close to home and provocative. C. J. Box continues to get better with each book he writes.

USA Today
Box's advantage is how well he describes winter in Wyoming. Some books about food can whet your appetite. Winterkill will have you grabbing another blanket.

The Washington Post - Patrick Anderson
Box provides exquisite descriptions of the falcons that one character has trained, and he delineates Pickett's wife and daughters with skill. His story moves smoothly and suspensefully to the showdown between Pickett and the reckless federal officials who have invaded his world.

Jackson (MS) County Ledger
If Nevada Barr were a guy, she might write like C. J. Box...Winterkill is the jewel in C. J. Box's writing crown.

Rocky Mountain News - Jane Dickinson
Westerners and lovers of things Western, rejoice - there's a new book out by Wyoming writer C.J. Box, and it's a doozy...Winterkill proves that Box, winner of Anthony and Macavity awards for his first novel Open Season, is one of the best new voices in the mystery game.

Book Magazine (Four Stars - Great) - Mchael Phillips
Box isn't afraid to take risks with his characters, who are subjected here to plenty of brutality, both physical and emotional.

Bookreporter.com - Ava Dianne Day
The most remarkable thing about Winterkill is the way C.J. Box pulls you into Joe Pickett's world so thoroughly, so immediately, that you will neither want to leave it nor care to remember your own world until you've finished the book. You can read it in one night or a couple of days at most --- but what you've read will stay with you far longer. This is an author with something important to say, letting his characters do it for him. His books add a new dimension not just to mysteries, but to the whole literary scene in our country. Winterkill is a must-read.

Kirkus Reviews
The loose ends that make this the least satisfactory of Joe's three cases to date still don't inhibit Box's gift for nonstop action and his ability to see every side of the most divisive issues in the West.

Publishers Weekly
Box's description of the harsh yet splendid Wyoming landscape is vivid and memorable, his handling of complex social issues evenhanded and unsentimental. But most of his characters tend to be either two-dimensional villains or saints, and in each book the life of a member of Pickett's family is threatened.

Library Journal - Rebecca Stankowski
Box's latest novel once again centers around the environment and land management, adding a dose of realism to the rough-and-tumble action, which works well with the realistic characters and Western setting. Recommended, especially for fans of Nevada Barr and Tony Hillerman.

Booklist - Bill Ott
Starred Review. Pickett is our voice for decency in the wilderness, but he’s getting steadily angrier. A superb mystery series with an urgent message for troubled times.

BookPage
Our Tip of the Ice Pick Award for May goes to C.J. Box for Winterkill, his third installment in the series featuring Game Warden Joe Pickett....Folks familiar with the massacres at Waco and Ruby Ridge will find eerie parallels in Winterkill, and it is extremely difficult to tell the good guys from the bad guys without a cheat sheet.

Reader Reviews

S.L.B.

A good,really good winter book
I have just finished reading 'Winterkill' and couldn't wait to write my review! I found this book on your site and checked it out of the libary! This book captivated me from the very beggining to the end,I would have given it a five but...well,I ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by C.J. Box

If you liked Winterkill: A Joe Pickett Novel, try these:

  • The Poacher's Son jacket

    The Poacher's Son

    by Paul Doiron

    Published 2011

    About this book

    More books by this author

    Set in the wilds of Maine, this is an explosive tale of an estranged son thrust into the hunt for a murderous fugitive---his own father. A sterling debut of literary suspense. Taut and engrossing, it represents the first in a series featuring Mike Bowditch.

  • Flashback jacket

    Flashback

    by Nevada Barr

    Published 2004

    About this book

    More books by this author

    When it comes to a vibrant sense of place Barr has few equals, as demonstrated in her 11th Anna Pigeon novel, set in little-known Dry Tortugas National Park, a small group of islands 70 miles off Key West.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...
  • Book Jacket: Where the Light Enters
    Where the Light Enters
    by Sara Donati
    In this thrilling follow-up to The Gilded Hour, doctors Sophie and Anna Savard take on a baffling ...

Readers Recommend

Book Club
Book Jacket
Today We Go Home
by Kelli Estes

Illuminating and deeply human, Today We Go Home shines a light on the brave military women of the past and present.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.