We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Jennifer Bradbury Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Jennifer Bradbury
Photo: camyleephotography.com

Jennifer Bradbury

An interview with Jennifer Bradbury

Jennifer Bradbury answers questions about herself in this revealing Q&A.

What is your birthdate?
6/1

Previous occupations
camp counselor, swim lesson instructor, english teacher

Favorite job
Writer/Mom.

High school and/or college
I went to Daviess County High School in Owensboro, KY and Western Kentucky University (Go toppers!)

Name of your favorite composer or music artist?
Lyle Lovett.

Favorite movie
Ooh . . . maybe How to Steal a Million or Rear Window.

Favorite television show
Dr. Who

Revealing Questions

How would you describe your life in only 8 words?
I write books when my kids take naps.

How would you describe perfect happiness?
Utter contentment.

More specifically? Something like traveling with very little stuff in a place that's new and full of possibility.

If you could be anywhere in the world right now, where would you choose to be?
India.

With whom in history do you most identify?
Maybe that guy in the Gospel of Matthew who said "I believe, help me overcome my unbelief!"

Which living person do you most admire?
My friends Jodi and Jenny.

What are your most overused words or phrases?
Really? Actually . . . I've only learned these because of the way my daughter has begun to parrot me.

What do you regret most?
Not studying harder in French. Seriously.

If you could acquire any talent, what would it be?
Maybe gardening. Or making my own clothes.

What is your greatest achievement?
A happy marriage.

What's your greatest flaw?
I'm a bit of a loner.

What's your best quality?
Loyalty.

Who is your favorite fictional hero?
Elizabeth Bennet.

Who is your favorite fictional villain?
Uriah Heep. "HEEP!"

What is your favorite occupation, when you're not writing?
Teaching.

What's your fantasy profession?
Traveling schoolteacher. With an invisible jet. Fantasy, right?

What 3 personal qualities are most important to you?
Honesty, creativity, and a sense of humor.

If you could eat only one thing for the rest of your days, what would it be?
Really perfect pears.

On Books and Writing

Who are your favorite authors?
Markus Zusak, Charlotte Bronte, Charles Dickens, Kenneth Oppel, Chris Crutcher, Sonya Hartnett, Gary Schmidt, Joan Bauer, Rebecca Stead, Sara Zarr, Bryce Courtenay, Laurie Halse Anderson, Nancy Farmer and so, so, so many more!

What are your 5 favorite books of all time?
Jane Eyre
David Copperfield
The Book of Phillipians
Speak
I am the Messenger

Is there a book you love to reread?
Nope. Too many new ones to seek out! I reread occasionally, but not for pleasure.

Do you have one sentence of advice for new writers?
Don't camp too long on that first manuscript. Find another story and start telling it as soon as you can!

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Jennifer Bradbury at BookBrowse
A Moment Comes jacket Shift jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Jennifer Bradbury but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Louise Brown

    Louise Brown

    Louise Brown is an academic at Birmingham University in England and the author of several books on Asia, including The Dancing Girls of Lahore. She frequently returns to Lahore, Pakistan. (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Moment Comes

    Try:
    The Dancing Girls of Lahore
    by Louise Brown

  • Moying Li

    Moying Li

    Moying Li grew up in Beijing, China during the tumultuous Cultural Revolution (1966-1976).  During that period, Moying was primarily self-taught, following the reading lists her father, who had been a prominent ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    A Moment Comes

    Try:
    Snow Falling in Spring
    by Moying Li

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Read-Alikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...
  • Book Jacket: The Frozen River
    The Frozen River
    by Ariel Lawhon
    "I cannot say why it is so important that I make this daily record. Perhaps because I have been ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.