BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

Reviews of A Moment Comes by Jennifer Bradbury

A Moment Comes by Jennifer Bradbury

A Moment Comes

by Jennifer Bradbury
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  •  Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
  • Jun 25, 2013
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Book Summary

Against the backdrop of the nearly forgotten history of the partition of India, Jennifer Bradbury, as if with strands of silk, weaves together the heart-pounding tale of three teenagers on wildly different paths, on the verge of changing each other's lives forever.

Before India was divided, three teens, each from wildly different backgrounds, cross paths. And then, in one moment, their futures become irrevocably intertwined.

Tariq. Anupreet. Margaret. As different as their Muslim, Sikh, and British names. But in one moment, their futures become entirely dependent on one another's.

While the rest of India anxiously awaits the upcoming partition that will divide the country into two separate religious states, eighteen-year-old Tariq focuses on his own goal: to study at Oxford. But for a Muslim born and raised in India, there is no obvious path to England - until Tariq is offered a job translating for one of the British cartographers stationed in India, tasked with establishing the new borders.

Margaret, the cartographer's daughter, has only just arrived in India. But already she has discovered it to be hot, loud, and dull. She can't go anywhere alone for fear of the riots and violence. Eager for a distraction, she finds one in Tariq.

But it's Anupreet, another member of the staff, who has truly captured Tariq's eye. She's strikingly beautiful - but she's a Sikh, so not someone Tariq should even be caught looking at. And yet he's compelled t

Against the backdrop of the nearly forgotten history of the partition of India, Jennifer Bradbury, as if with strands of silk, weaves together the heart-pounding tale of three teenagers on wildly different paths, on the verge of changing each other's lives forever.

CHAPTER 1

Tariq
June 3, 1947

"I know you will make us proud, Tariq," Master Ahmed calls out to me as I step onto the dusty sidewalk outside the school gates.

I stop, press my palms together, bow. "Khuda hafiz,"

"And may He guard you as well," Master Ahmed replies. "Give my best to your parents." "Shukriya."

I speed up as I round the corner and the scrubby cricket pitch. It seems like longer than a year has passed since I sat for my examinations, since I enrolled at the college. Doing nothing has a way of slowing time. The college shut down after the professors got scared and quit teaching, when both the school and the faculty became easy targets for the Sikh mobs. And with no school, with nothing changing but the way people all over Punjab seem to have gone crazy, I've felt stuck. Trapped, even.

But now. Now there is hope.

My hand sneaks into the pocket of my churidhars, just to make sure the slip of paper is still there. I have already memorized the number ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

It is a testament to Jennifer Bradbury’s writing that, even when characters' actions are unlikeable, their motivations for those actions never seem inexplicable...In addition, Bradbury’s incorporation of historical people and events, such as Lady Mountbatten and the train from Amritsar, into her fictionalized narrative, lends an air of reality to the book and facilitates the reader’s immersion in the narrative. Reading A Moment Comes is an evocative, compelling experience...continued

Full Review (643 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Heather A Phillips).

Media Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
Starred Review. Historical fiction that brings its history to bloody, poignant life: rare and notable.

Booklist
Bradbury's story, told from the alternating points of view of the three teens, does an excellent job of creating a setting that is at once vivid and dangerous. The ending is both abrupt and improbable, but the three characters invite sympathy and will hold readers' attention to the last page. An excellent book for classroom use.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book



Sikhism

Sikhism is a monotheistic religion prevalent in the Punjab region of India and Pakistan where A Moment Comes takes place. One of the main characters in the book, Anupreet, is a Sikh.

Guru NanakSikhism was founded in the 16th century by Guru Nanak. Nanak's family were Hindus, but he studied both Hinduism and Islam. This deep study, as well as Nanak's innovative thinking and talents at poetry and philosophy, were the foundations of Sikhism. Three of his most radical beliefs were that there is only one God, that every person should and could have direct access that God, and that the caste system was wrong, that everyone, regardless of caste or gender, was equal. Nine gurus who followed Nanak also helped shape Sikhism. The tenth Guru, Guru Gobind ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked A Moment Comes, try these:

  • Moth jacket

    Moth

    by Melody Razak

    Published 2023

    About this book

    Melody Razak makes her literary debut with this internationally-acclaimed saga of one Indian family's trials through the tumultuous partition - the 1947 split of Pakistan from India - exploring its impact on women, what it means to be "othered" in one's own society, and the redemptive power of family.

  • Dirt Bikes, Drones, and Other Ways to Fly jacket

    Dirt Bikes, Drones, and Other Ways to Fly

    by Conrad Wesselhoeft

    Published 2015

    About this book

    Video gamer and daredevil dirt bike rider Arlo Santiago is recruited by the U.S. military at White Sands to pilot drone missions in Pakistan. When the game becomes all too real, how will Arlo reconcile his duty with the violent death that haunts his family?

We have 7 read-alikes for A Moment Comes, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Jennifer Bradbury
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

To win without risk is to triumph without glory

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!