Announcing our Top 20 Books of 2022 and Award Winners

Erica Lorraine Scheidt Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Erica Lorraine Scheidt
Photo: Amy Perl

Erica Lorraine Scheidt

How to pronounce Erica Lorraine Scheidt: shayt

An interview with Erica Lorraine Scheidt

Erica Lorraine Scheidt answers questions about her first novel, Uses for Boys, and comments on its arresting lyrical style.

Q: What inspired you to write Uses for Boys?

A: Childhood, divorce, stepfamilies, the suburbs, The Lover by Marguerite Duras, this word: slut, borrowing your best friend's clothes, thrift stores, The Ice Storm by Rick Moody, sharing cigarettes, the stories our moms tell us, the lies we tell our friends, Francesca Lia Block, first apartments, taking off your bra without taking off your shirt, bathtubs, Portland, parties your parent's basement, Rum 151, faded t-shirts, best friends, sneaking out in the middle of the night, boyfriends, Anais Nin, blue jeans, kissing.



Q: What are uses for boys?

A: It's odd to think of it that way, isn't it? Usefulness, as a lens to look at the world, didn't work for Anna. I think Anna's story, and certainly her experience, combats the idea of using people. Over the course of the novel, Anna comes to see all the many ways that we're needed and all the ways we need others.



Q: The book is written in an unusually lyrical style, with repeated phrases and short chapters. How did you take the decision to write in this way, and will your next book also push the boundaries of YA in both content and style?

A: Thank you. I love lyrical books. I love Christine Schutt and Rick Moody and writers like Steve Brezenoff and Nova Ren Suma. Even though the form that Uses for Boys took felt very specific to Anna's story, both novels I'm working on now also put a lot of pressure on each sentence. But they're very different in tone. For example,  A Girl Like Me (working title), is far more populated and less lonely than Uses for Boys.



Q: In 140 characters or less, please describe Uses for Boys

A: It's about boys and best friends. About girls and wanting and the stories we tell. It's about using sex as a shortcut. It's about family. 



Q: Reading Uses for Boys, was an emotional experience. I had so many conflicting feelings about Anna. How do you see her?

A: I think Anna is strong. Readers sometimes say that they want to shake her, that they can't understand her bad decisions, but I look at her and think: she wants to do the right thing, but doesn't know what that is. And the thing is, she just keeps moving forward. That's Anna's strength. I think sometimes the only power a kid has is to keep going, to keep trying until something works.



Q: What was the hardest part of writing your book? 

A: The hardest part was understanding the shape that the story was going to take. I wrote it for three and a half years and much of that time, maybe the first two years, was about learning what Anna was moving towards. It took me a long time to understand how much of the story was about family. 



Q: Anna struggles with who she is in the world, who she thinks she needs to be, who she wants to be and who and what is important to her. I think it's a story every teen should read. Having lived through being a teen, is there any advice you'd give to girls like Anna who are trying to find out who they are and where they fit in?

A: Thank you. The teens I know are trying so hard to do the right thing—to be true to themselves and do right by their friends and do right by their family. I'm amazed by the strength and the resilience of the young people I know. I love what Sam's mom told Anna, "you are strong." To Anna, I would say: You are important. Your story is important. And to the adults who know a girl like Anna, I would say: she shouldn't have to do this alone.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Erica Lorraine Scheidt at BookBrowse
Uses for Boys jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Erica Lorraine Scheidt but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Jo Knowles

    Jo Knowles

    Jo Knowles is the author of the young adult novels Lessons from a Dead Girl, Jumping Off Swings, Pearl, and See You At Harry's. She has a master's degree in children's literature. Some of her awards include the PEN New ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Uses for Boys

    Try:
    See You at Harry's
    by Jo Knowles

  • E Lockhart

    E Lockhart

    E. Lockhart is the author of the #1 New York Times bestseller We Were Liars and its prequel, Family of Liars. Other novels: Whistle: A New Gotham City Hero, Again Again, Genuine Fraud, Fly on the Wall, Dramarama, The ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Uses for Boys

    Try:
    Genuine Fraud
    by E Lockhart

We recommend 7 similar authors

View all 7 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join and Save 20%!

Become a member and
discover exceptional books.

Find out more


Award Winners

  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Voted 2022 Best Fiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. Geraldine Brooks creates a ...
  • Book Jacket: In Love
    In Love
    by Amy Bloom
    Voted 2022 Best Nonfiction Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. In 2019, author Amy Bloom and her...
  • Book Jacket: Remarkably Bright Creatures
    Remarkably Bright Creatures
    by Shelby Van Pelt
    Voted 2022 Best Debut Award Winner by BookBrowse Subscribers. Shelby Van Pelt's debut novel, ...

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Scatterlings
    by Resoketswe Martha Manenzhe

    The debut novel of a gifted storyteller who has become a sensation in her native South Africa.

Wordplay

The Big Holiday Wordplay

Enter Now

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Honor
by Thrity Umrigar
Set in India, a tender and evocative novel about love across a cultural divide, familial devotion and betrayal.
Who Said...

Knowledge is of two kinds. We know a subject ourselves, or we know where we can find information on it.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.