We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Nevada Barr Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Nevada Barr

Nevada Barr

An interview with Nevada Barr

Nevada Barr discusses how she chooses the settings for her novels, the inspiration for Anna Pigeon, and of all the national parks she has visited and worked in ... which one is her favorite?

Q. How do you choose the settings for your novels?

A. In the beginning of the series, I wrote about the parks I had worked in. Since retiring parks have a number of ways of creeping into my consciousness. First, are they a good place to die? Second, do I know anybody there I can use as a contact to weasel my way into the heart of things?

Q. What was the inspiration behind the creation of Anna Pigeon?

A. Anna was conceived as my alter ego when I was working as a law enforcement ranger in Guadalupe Mountains National Park in Texas. Track of the Cat, the first book, was not written as the first in a series, but as an expression of who I was then set amid murder and mayhem. Since then, Anna has evolved into her own person.

Q. In Flashback, Anna is considering marriage. Does this mean she'll be settling down? Where will she go next?

A. Anna may marry –I haven't decided yet—but settle down? Never! The next book is set in Yosemite National Park and tentatively titled High Country. The superintendent there is a friend of mine and he very kindly arranged for me to spend some time horse packing in the backcountry with Laurel Boyers, a wonderful ranger who really is the heart and soul of Anna Pigeon. It will be out in the spring of 2004.

Q. Anna seems to love diving. Do you share her fascination with the underwater world?

A. Yes, no doubt about it. In the water, there is a fabulous realm where we are not designed or equipped to tread, a place inhabited by creatures so bizarre and fierce and beautiful that they would beggar Isaac Asimov's imagination that I cannot resist. The sea both attracts and terrifies me. Diving is not only a way into this world but enhances one of my favorite neuroses, claustrophobia.

Q. Flashback has historical aspect, as well as the mystery that Anna must deal with. How was the writing of this novel different from your past work? Was it any harder?

A. In FlashbackI had the great fun of writing from the first person for the historical chapters and of creating a world very different from those Anna and I have been wandering in all these years. To do a totally different form and character was marvelously refreshing. The difficulty lay in tying the two mysteries together in a believable way and in capturing in words and language the feel of the 1860s without being stiff or pretentious.

Q. How did you make the leap from acting to rangering?

A. I'd been acting professionally for about 10 years and interested in the environmental movement for seven of those. I was making a living as an actor (a minor miracle) but I'd reached my peak. Meryl Streep was not losing sleep for fear I would show up at an audition for a part she wanted. In working seasonally for the NPS I could continue to make my living acting and still have a connection with the real world. Once I'd begun the parks stole my heart and acting went by the wayside.

Q. Of all the parks you have worked or visited, which is your favorite? Would Anna settle near one of her beloved parks?

A. I've never been able to pick a favorite. They are, literally, incomparable. For canoeing you can't beat Voyageur or the Everglades, for climbing Rocky Mountain and Yosemite are unbelievable, for diving it's St. John and Dry Tortugas. They are so different and so perfect each in their own way. Anna might live near one but settle? I don't think so ...

Q. Anna Pigeon is a wonderful series, but do you plan to write another series, maybe of a different genre?

A. I love the idea of writing a different series, historical mysteries perhaps. And I've written a book of spiritual meditations, Seeking Enlightenment Hat by Hat, which will be out summer of 2003, but I've no real plans. At present I have just vague yearnings.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Nevada Barr at BookBrowse
What Rose Forgot jacket Destroyer Angel jacket The Rope jacket Burn jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Nevada Barr but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • C.J. Box

    C.J. Box

    C. J. Box is the author of thirty books, including the Joe Pickett series and the Cassie Dewell series, and a story collection. His books have been translated into twenty-seven languages. He has won the Edgar, Anthony, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Deep South

    Try:
    Winterkill: A Joe Pickett Novel
    by C.J. Box

  • Paul Doiron

    Paul Doiron

    Paul Doiron is the author of the Mike Bowditch series of crime novels, including The Poacher's Son, which won the the Barry Award and the Strand Critics Award for Best First Novel and was nominated for an Edgar Award, an ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Hunting Season

    Try:
    The Poacher's Son
    by Paul Doiron

We recommend 17 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.