Paul Doiron Interview, plus links to author biography, book summaries, excerpts and reviews

Paul Doiron
Photo: Mark Fleming

Paul Doiron

How to pronounce Paul Doiron: DWAHR-uhn. First syllable rhymes with "R"

An interview with Paul Doiron

Paul Doiron discusses his first novel, The Poacher's Son, an explosive tale set in the wilds of Maine, the first in a new series starring game warden Mike Bowditch.

Your novel has a vivid sense of the outdoors, and the life of a game warden. Have you ever worked as a game warden yourself?
I have worked as a Registered Maine Guide. I do have my license to lead trips, but I'm not a game warden. With guides and game wardens, there are different areas of specialization – general recreation, camping, fishing. My specialty is fly fishing.

There've been other mystery novelists who've used the outdoors, and the life of a game warden, as the settings for their works. One of the best known is C.J. Box, whose novels feature a Wyoming game warden. Are there similarities between what you're doing?
Definitely. But being a game warden in Wyoming is very different from being a game warden in the state of Maine. It's been interesting to read his books and see the differences. There are some things that are the same - catching poachers, and checking people's fishing licenses and all those mundane sort of tasks. But in Maine, game wardens really are policeman. The way I describe it, their beat is the forest. In fact, one of the great controversies in Maine is that the warden service, always underfunded, has been asked to take on more responsibility for investigating more and more crimes that have nothing to do with fish and wildlife. Part of the issue that wardens face now is that people do live closer to nature. In Maine we have these exurban communities where people are living farther and farther away from urban centers, and so you begin to have issues with wildlife. People aren't prepared for those sorts of things.

The Poacher's Son has a bear that's wandered too close to some people's homes.
Yes. The bear incident was one of the inspirations for the novel.

How did the character of your narrator, Mike Bowditch, come about? He's certainly one of the more flawed heroes of recent crime fiction, trying to discover himself, find his path.
This is the thing that interested me. I've read a lot of detective fiction, and typically the protagonists are fully formed individuals from the start. When we meet Philip Marlow, he's already Philip Marlow, he's already a self-sufficient cynical tough man. I wanted to write about how somebody becomes a heroic individual, especially if they come from difficult circumstances. I conceived of an idea of writing the series so that with each book, Mike gets one year older, so we're going to follow him through a maturing process.

The Poacher's Son also deals with what is happening with the land, and the people who live on it. It's about changing economics and fear. Maine has seen a radical transformation over the last 15 years. I've had a front row seat to that through my job. Something like six million acres of North Maine woods have changed hands. It used to be largely owned by paper companies, many with headquarters in Maine, who had a custodial relationship to the North Woods. They were there for the long term and treated their employees well. That's all changed. The major landowners are investment companies, banks, university trusts, and a lot of these companies are in it for the short term.

What's the next novel about? Considering what Mike does in the first.
Mike is dealing with how what he's done in the first book has affected his career. Guilt. What really interests me is the psychology of these characters. The next book takes place the following March. What game wardens do varies from month to month. Each book will take place in a different month of the season. March is mud season in Maine, a disgusting time of year where ice is melting and people begin taking their all-terrain vehicles and tearing up other people's land. A lousy time to be in Maine.

Unless otherwise stated, this interview was conducted at the time the book was first published, and is reproduced with permission of the publisher. This interview may not be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the copyright holder.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Paul Doiron at BookBrowse
Hatchet Island jacket Dead by Dawn jacket Stay Hidden jacket The Precipice jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Paul Doiron but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Nevada Barr

    Nevada Barr

    Nevada Barr is an award-winning novelist and New York Times best-selling author. She has a growing number of Anna Pigeon mysteries to her credit as well as numerous other books, short stories, and articles. She currently ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Poacher's Son

    Try:
    Hunting Season
    by Nevada Barr

  • C.J. Box

    C.J. Box

    C. J. Box is the author of thirty books, including the Joe Pickett series and the Cassie Dewell series, and a story collection. His books have been translated into twenty-seven languages. He has won the Edgar, Anthony, ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    The Poacher's Son

    Try:
    Winterkill: A Joe Pickett Novel
    by C.J. Box

We recommend 5 similar authors

View all 5 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.75 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Big Red
    Big Red
    by Jerome Charyn
    Jerome Charyn made his name as an author of detective novels, and over the years he has taken his ...
  • Book Jacket: If I Survive You
    If I Survive You
    by Jonathan Escoffery
    In If I Survive You, author Jonathan Escoffery portrays a family falling apart with grace. Main ...
  • Book Jacket: Stories from the Tenants Downstairs
    Stories from the Tenants Downstairs
    by Sidik Fofana
    'Everybody got a story, everybody got a tale / Question is: Is it despair or prevail?' ...
  • Book Jacket: Fire Season
    Fire Season
    by Leyna Krow
    Fire Season is a thoroughly enjoyable novel that touches upon multiple genres and themes. It ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Carolina Moonset
by Matt Goldman
An engrossing novel about family, memories and secrets too dangerous to stay hidden.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Natural History
    by Andrea Barrett

    A masterful new collection of interconnected stories, from the renowned National Book Award–winning author.

Book Club Giveaway!
Win A Minor Chorus

A Minor Chorus

A debut novel from a rising literary star that brings the modern queer and Indigenous experience into sharp relief.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

Y Can't G H A

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.