Read advance reader review of The Lies I Tell by Julie Clark

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Lies I Tell

A Novel

by Julie Clark

The Lies I Tell by Julie Clark X
The Lies I Tell by Julie Clark
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Jun 2022, 320 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 27 member reviews
for The Lies I Tell
Order Reviews by:
  • Robin B. (Olmsted Falls, OH)
    The Lies I Tell
    I greatly enjoyed this book. I loved the twists and turns and enjoyed the mouse and cat game played between the two main characters. I am now reading another book by the same author I was so impressed. Characters were well developed.
  • Tara T. (Carterville, IL)
    The Lies I Tell
    After reading The Last Flight and absolutely loving it I was really looking forward to The Lies I Tell. And it does not disappoint at all! I absolutely loved every minute of this book. I thought I had this all figured out only to realize I was way off. It was full of lots of twists and turns. I loved it! Highly recommended!!
  • Julia A. (New York, NY)
    Clark does it again!
    I didn't think Julie Clark could top The Last Flight, but top it she did! In Kat and Meg, she has given us two main characters about whom I has a reader came to care perhaps more than I should, given the human flaws of each. This book had me questioning even the very title. Whose lies? Meg's for sure, but Kat's too. When Meg's motives become clear, it's hard to know whether to call her a grafter or a vigilante. Kat's lies get her close to Meg, but her motives are to me less pure perhaps than Meg's. To avoid spoilers, I will just say that in the end the male characters who wronged the female characters get what they deserve (with a possible exception) and this woman, for one, has to come to the guilty admission that she has been rooting for that to happen. The plot details are intricate enough to hold the reader's interest throughout. I look forward to more from Julie Clark.
  • Michele N. (Bethesda, MD)
    The Lies I Tell
    After reading Clark's "The Last Flight," I became a fan and looked forward to her next book. "The Lies I Tell" was just as good, maybe better. I found Meg (Maggie? Melody?) and Kat to be more believable than the two women in "The Last Flight." I was pulled into the story line from the beginning. It alternates between the two women, although I found Meg's character more fleshed out than Kat. The story is suspenseful with plenty of twists and turns. And towards the end, when you think you've got it figured out, you're wrong! Highly recommend.
  • Marion C. (Peabody, MA)
    Meg and Kat
    The Lies I Tell is a brilliant, twisted thriller that grabs you from the beginning. Meg, or is it Maggy or Melody, is a con artist trying to right the wrong she experienced as a young woman. She develops a devious plan to right that wrong. Kat, the other woman, a writer, has been following Meg for years, trying to prove the story behind Meg's activities. She suspects Meg is a con artist but needs proof. I enjoyed the refreshing premise behind the novel. If you relished Clark's other books, you would love The Lies I Tell.
  • Jeanne W. (Colorado Springs, CO)
    Twisty-turny Thriller
    I loved this thriller! Julie Clark has a real flair for this back and forth kind of story-telling. You expect to not like some of the characters but the two leads are very likable and Clark does an excellent job of explaining why Meg and Kat are the way they are. I felt like Meg was a little more fleshed-out than Kat but I enjoyed reading about both. It's not high-brow literature but great escapist reading. A sequel with Kat's next adventure might be fun!
  • Susan S. (Springdale, AR)
    The Lies I Tell
    Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned, or conned, or cheated, or used, or...

    I found myself rooting for the con artist, knowing that what she was doing was wrong but feeling that it was just so right. I loved that Meg partnered with unsuspecting women to target men who deserved it. Keeping true to her mother's rule that "two women working together are a force to be reckoned with," Meg seeks to even the score not only for herself but for other women whose lives have been adversely affected by scheming men. As her high school advocate would say "It's the girl code. We have to look out for each other because no one else will." Meg takes this to heart as she plays a modern-day Robin Hood, taking from the scheming men and giving to the women who had been hurt by them. Kudos to you, Meg! Go get 'em!!!

Beyond the Book:
  Gambling Addiction

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting
    by Clare Pooley
    For the many years that I've been reading, one realization has always come to mind for me after ...
  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Lies I Tell
    by Julie Clark

    The new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight!

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.