Reviews of The Lies I Tell by Julie Clark

The Lies I Tell

A Novel

by Julie Clark

The Lies I Tell by Julie Clark X
The Lies I Tell by Julie Clark
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Jun 2022, 320 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

The Lies I Tell is a twisted domestic thriller that dives deep into the psyches and motivations of two women and their unwavering quest to seek justice for the past and rewrite the future.

The new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight!

She's back. Meg Williams. Maggie Littleton. Melody Wilde. Different names for the same person, depending on the town, depending on the job. She's a con artist who erases herself to become whoever you need her to be―a college student. A life coach. A real estate agent. Nothing about her is real. She slides alongside you and tells you exactly what you need to hear, and by the time she's done, you've likely lost everything.

Kat Roberts has been waiting ten years for the woman who upended her life to return. And now that she has, Kat is determined to be the one to expose her. But as the two women grow closer, Kat's long-held assumptions begin to crumble, leaving Kat to wonder who Meg's true target is.

Kat

Present—­June

She stands across the room from me, in a small cluster of donors, talking and laughing. A jazz quartet plays in a corner, the bouncing, slipping notes dancing around us, a low undertone of class and money. Meg Williams. I take a sip of wine, savoring the expensive vintage, the weight of the crystal glass, and I watch her. There are few photographs of her in existence—­a grainy senior portrait from an old high school yearbook, and another image pulled from a 2009 YMCA staff directory—­but I recognized her immediately. My first thought: She's back. Followed closely by my second: Finally.

As soon as I saw her, I tucked my press credentials into my purse and kept to the perimeter of the room. I've been to all of Ron Ashton's campaign events in the past three months, watching and waiting for Meg to make her appearance—­called there by a Google Alert I set ten years ago. After a decade of silence, it pinged in April, with the ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!
  1. One of the most powerful tools in Meg's arsenal is a familiarity with social media. What do you think she could learn about you from your online presence?
  2. Since they both know the other woman is lying about her identity, Meg and Kat also know they shouldn't trust each other. How does their friendship grow despite this?
  3. Discuss the role of ego in Meg's cons. How do her targets create openings for her with their own bad behavior?
  4. At first, Kat blames Meg for what happened with Nate. When do you think she stopped feeling that way?
  5. The greatest downside of Meg's career is the loneliness. Do you think she could have kept in touch with her friends when she started scamming Cory? How would you feel in her position, moving cross-country every few ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

This novel is a lot of fun to read and also raises important questions about money, power, revenge, and justice in modern America (Rebecca H). What I enjoyed most was the insight into what makes a con work. I recommend this suspenseful thriller that will hold your interest to the ending. It will make you question, is doing the wrong thing for the "right" reason OK? The Lies I Tell is sure to be a great beach read this summer (Catherine H)...continued

Full Review Members Only (652 words).

(Reviewed by BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers).

Media Reviews

Library Journal
Will twist readers through an intricate, domestic thriller as the two women's lies unravel. Perfect for fans of Kimberley Belle, Alice Feeney, and Michael Robotham.

Publishers Weekly
Intriguing...Clark skillfully fleshes out the strong, multifaceted characters. The story nicely mixes brisk plot points with slow burning reveals as it builds to a satisfying conclusion. Clark doesn't disappoint.

Author Blurb Jessica Knoll, New York Times bestselling author of Luckiest Girl Alive
A meticulously plotted mindbender, with a last page I can only describe as a triumph. Do not miss it.

Author Blurb Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of A Good Marriage and Friends like These
The Lies I Tell is a uniquely riveting cat and mouse game with two artfully nuanced female protagonists that is at once a razor-sharp, page-turning mystery and a brilliant, thought-provoking exploration of what it truly means to do good in the world.

Author Blurb Laura Dave, #1 New York Times bestselling author
Julie Clark has done it again...taking you straight into the collision course of two dynamic, complicated women.

Author Blurb Liv Constantine, internationally bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish
Clark knocks it out of the park with The Lies I Tell. A modern-day Robin Hood with a feminist twist. This is one of the best books you'll read this year. Unputdownable!

Author Blurb Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of Local Woman Missing
The Lies I Tell is a knockout. Smart, savvy and so duplicitous with a propulsive storyline and two of the most beguiling female characters I've ever met. Julie Clark does it again!

Author Blurb Sarah Pekkanen, co-author of The Golden Couple
Another terrific nail-biter by Julie Clark. The Lies I Tell weaves together the stories of two strong, complicated women: a brilliant con artist, and the journalist determined to unmask her. Fast-paced and beautifully plotted.

Reader Reviews

Robin B. (Olmsted Falls, OH)

The Lies I Tell
I greatly enjoyed this book. I loved the twists and turns and enjoyed the mouse and cat game played between the two main characters. I am now reading another book by the same author I was so impressed. Characters were well developed.
Tara T. (Carterville, IL)

The Lies I Tell
After reading The Last Flight and absolutely loving it I was really looking forward to The Lies I Tell. And it does not disappoint at all! I absolutely loved every minute of this book. I thought I had this all figured out only to realize I was way ...   Read More
Julia A. (New York, NY)

Clark does it again!
I didn't think Julie Clark could top The Last Flight, but top it she did! In Kat and Meg, she has given us two main characters about whom I has a reader came to care perhaps more than I should, given the human flaws of each. This book had me ...   Read More
Michele N. (Bethesda, MD)

The Lies I Tell
After reading Clark's "The Last Flight," I became a fan and looked forward to her next book. "The Lies I Tell" was just as good, maybe better. I found Meg (Maggie? Melody?) and Kat to be more believable than the two women in "The Last Flight." I ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Gambling Addiction

Slot machine in casino in dim lighting In Julie Clark's The Lies I Tell, main character Kat's boyfriend Scott struggles with a gambling addiction, which affects the two of them and their relationship. When asked in an interview what she wanted readers to take away from Scott's gambling problem, Clark stated, "I want readers to see the complexity and heartache of loving an addict. That they are more than the worst thing they've done."

Sometimes referred to as a gambling disorder, or compulsive gambling, this type of addiction is characterized by the ongoing urge to gamble, even when it leads to consequences that have a destructive effect on one's life and the lives of others. Poker or other card games, playing slots and betting on sporting events are all activities that ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Read-alikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Julie Clark

If you liked The Lies I Tell, try these:

  • The Favor jacket

    The Favor

    by Nora Murphy

    Published 2022

    About this book

    A gripping debut domestic suspense novel, Nora Murphy's thrilling The Favor explores with compassion and depth what can happen when women pushed to the limit take matters into their own hands.

  • The Stone Girl jacket

    The Stone Girl

    by Dirk Wittenborn

    Published 2021

    About this book

    More by this author

    The Stone Girl is a riveting tale of deception, vengeance, and power set against the haunting beauty of the Adirondack wilderness.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search read-alikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for 12 months or $12 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...
  • Book Jacket: Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    by Alison Espach
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate...
  • Book Jacket: Mercy Street
    Mercy Street
    by Jennifer Haigh
    Jennifer Haigh's Mercy Street centers around a Boston clinic that provides abortion services. The ...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Jackie & Me
    by Louis Bayard

    Master storyteller Louis Bayard delivers a surprising portrait of a young Jackie Kennedy as we've never seen her before.

  • Book Jacket

    The Lies I Tell
    by Julie Clark

    The new thriller from the New York Times bestselling author of The Last Flight!

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.