MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Summary and book reviews of The Reading List Contemporary Fiction by David Rubel

The Reading List Contemporary Fiction

A Critical Guide to the Complete Works of 110 Authors

by David Rubel

The Reading List Contemporary Fiction by David Rubel X
The Reading List Contemporary Fiction by David Rubel
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Jun 1998, 368 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Illuminates the work of 125 current novelists who have captured the imagination of the modern reader. Each entry includes critical commentary on the author's published fiction by prominent reviewers, as well as thematic and plot synopses, and a short biography.

A Critical Guide to the Complete Works of 125 Authors

Perfect for reading groups and all book lovers.

Here, at last, is the book to which the more than a quarter-million reading groups and book clubs in this country can turn for the answer to that pressing question: What should we read next?

The Reading List illuminates the work of current novelists who have captured the imagination of the modern reader. Each entry includes critical commentary on the author's published fiction by prominent reviewers, as well as thematic and plot synopses, and a short biography.

The Reading List features a broad spectrum of writers from our shores and abroad whose works are available in English. Stylistically, the authors run the gamut from Cormac McCarthy to Cristina Garcia, from Naguib Mahfouz to Barbara Kingsolver, from Jane Smiley to Salman Rushdie. Now reading groups and independent bookworms alike have a comprehensive, discriminating resource to guide them through their next literary foray.

Table of Contents

  • Introduction
  • Chinua Achebe
  • Isabel Allende
  • Dorothy Allison
  • Julia Alvarez
  • Jorge Amado
  • Martin Amis
  • Margaret Atwood
  • Paul Auster
  • Beryl Bainbridge
  • Russell Banks
  • Pat Barker
  • Andrea Barrett
  • Ann Beattie
  • Madison Smartt Bell
  • Amy Bloom
  • T. Coraghessan Boyle
  • Anita Brookner
  • Larry Brown
  • Robert Olen Butler
  • A. S. Byatt
  • Bebe Moore Campbell
  • Sandra Cisneros
  • Pat Conroy
  • Harry Crews
  • Edwidge Danticat
  • Louis de Bernieres
  • Don DeLillo
  • Pete Dexter
  • Joan Didion
  • Stephen Dixon
  • E. L. Doctorow
  • Ivan Doig
  • Roddy Doyle
  • Umberto Eco
  • Louise Erdrich
  • Laura Esquivel
  • Richard Ford
  • Carlos Fuentes
  • Mary Gaitskill
  • Cristina Garcia
  • Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Kaye Gibbons
  • Ellen Gilchrist
  • Gail Godwin
  • Francisco Goldman
  • Nadine Gordimer
  • David Guterson
  • Jane Hamilton
  • Jim Harrison
  • ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Reading List Contemporary Fiction, try these:

  • The Salon.com Reader's Guide to Contemporary Authors jacket

    The Salon.com Reader's Guide to Contemporary Authors

    by Laura Miller

    Published 2000

    About this book

    An all-original, A-to-Z guide to 225 of the most fascinating writers of our time, penned by an international cast of talented young critics and reviewers.

  • About The Author jacket

    About The Author

    by Alfred Glossbrenner

    Published 2000

    About this book

    Offers insider information on America's favorite writers, from Margery Allingham to Evelyn Waugh, from Michael Crichton to Charles Dickens. It gives background on the lives of the writers, what they did before becoming writers, facts about their fans, quirky tidbits, and recommendations for what to read next.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: When We Were Vikings
    When We Were Vikings
    by Andrew David MacDonald
    In When We Were Vikings by Andrew David MacDonald, readers are first introduced to Zelda on her ...
  • Book Jacket: How to Build a Heart
    How to Build a Heart
    by Maria Padian
    Maria Padian is well-known for her motif of exploring teen reactions to social issues. Her novel ...
  • Book Jacket: Follow Me to Ground
    Follow Me to Ground
    by Sue Rainsford
    Ada and her father are human-like beings who age slowly and possess the power to heal all illness. ...
  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Girl in White Gloves
    by Kerri Maher

    A fascinating and deeply researched novel of the extraordinary Grace Kelly.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Red Letter Days
    by Sarah-Jane Stratford

    A striking novel about two daring women who escape McCarthy-era Hollywood for London.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
Remembrance
by Rita Woods

A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.