Excerpt from The Reading List Contemporary Fiction by David Rubel, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Reading List Contemporary Fiction

A Critical Guide to the Complete Works of 110 Authors

by David Rubel

The Reading List Contemporary Fiction by David Rubel X
The Reading List Contemporary Fiction by David Rubel
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Jun 1998, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Table of Contents

  • Introduction
  • Chinua Achebe
  • Isabel Allende
  • Dorothy Allison
  • Julia Alvarez
  • Jorge Amado
  • Martin Amis
  • Margaret Atwood
  • Paul Auster
  • Beryl Bainbridge
  • Russell Banks
  • Pat Barker
  • Andrea Barrett
  • Ann Beattie
  • Madison Smartt Bell
  • Amy Bloom
  • T. Coraghessan Boyle
  • Anita Brookner
  • Larry Brown
  • Robert Olen Butler
  • A. S. Byatt
  • Bebe Moore Campbell
  • Sandra Cisneros
  • Pat Conroy
  • Harry Crews
  • Edwidge Danticat
  • Louis de Bernieres
  • Don DeLillo
  • Pete Dexter
  • Joan Didion
  • Stephen Dixon
  • E. L. Doctorow
  • Ivan Doig
  • Roddy Doyle
  • Umberto Eco
  • Louise Erdrich
  • Laura Esquivel
  • Richard Ford
  • Carlos Fuentes
  • Mary Gaitskill
  • Cristina Garcia
  • Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Kaye Gibbons
  • Ellen Gilchrist
  • Gail Godwin
  • Francisco Goldman
  • Nadine Gordimer
  • David Guterson
  • Jane Hamilton
  • Jim Harrison
  • Ursula Hegi
  • Mark Helprin
  • Oscar Hijuelos
  • Peter Hoeg
  • Alice Hoffman
  • John Irving
  • Kazuo Ishiguro
  • Charles Johnson
  • William Kennedy
  • Jamaica Kincaid
  • Barbara Kingsolver
  • Milan Kundera
  • David Leavitt
  • Doris Lessing
  • Penelope Lively
  • David Lodge
  • Alison Lurie
  • Naguib Mahfouz
  • Cormac McCarthy
  • Thomas McGuane
  • Terry McMillan
  • Larry McMurtry
  • Steven Millhauser
  • Lorrie Moore
  • Toni Morrison
  • Alice Munro
  • Iris Murdoch
  • V. S. Naipaul
  • Gloria Naylor
  • John Nichols
  • Joyce Carol Oates
  • Edna O'Brien
  • Tim O'Brien
  • Kenzaburo Oe
  • Michael Ondaatje
  • Amos Oz
  • Grace Paley
  • Cathie Pelletier
  • Richard Powers
  • Reynolds Price
  • E. Annie Proulx
  • Thomas Pynchon
  • Philip Roth
  • Salman Rushdie
  • Carol Shields
  • Leslie Marmon Silko
  • Mona Simpson
  • Jane Smiley
  • Susan Sontag
  • Muriel Spark
  • Robert Stone
  • Graham Swift
  • Amy Tan
  • Melanie Rae Thon
  • William Trevor
  • Anne Tyler
  • John Updike
  • Mario Vargas Llosa
  • Alice Walker
  • Fay Weldon
  • John Edgar Wideman

  • 1
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.