Excerpt from The Reading List Contemporary Fiction by David Rubel, plus links to reviews, author biography & more

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Reading List Contemporary Fiction

A Critical Guide to the Complete Works of 110 Authors

by David Rubel

The Reading List Contemporary Fiction by David Rubel
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    Jun 1998, 368 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Print Excerpt

Table of Contents

  • Introduction
  • Chinua Achebe
  • Isabel Allende
  • Dorothy Allison
  • Julia Alvarez
  • Jorge Amado
  • Martin Amis
  • Margaret Atwood
  • Paul Auster
  • Beryl Bainbridge
  • Russell Banks
  • Pat Barker
  • Andrea Barrett
  • Ann Beattie
  • Madison Smartt Bell
  • Amy Bloom
  • T. Coraghessan Boyle
  • Anita Brookner
  • Larry Brown
  • Robert Olen Butler
  • A. S. Byatt
  • Bebe Moore Campbell
  • Sandra Cisneros
  • Pat Conroy
  • Harry Crews
  • Edwidge Danticat
  • Louis de Bernieres
  • Don DeLillo
  • Pete Dexter
  • Joan Didion
  • Stephen Dixon
  • E. L. Doctorow
  • Ivan Doig
  • Roddy Doyle
  • Umberto Eco
  • Louise Erdrich
  • Laura Esquivel
  • Richard Ford
  • Carlos Fuentes
  • Mary Gaitskill
  • Cristina Garcia
  • Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Kaye Gibbons
  • Ellen Gilchrist
  • Gail Godwin
  • Francisco Goldman
  • Nadine Gordimer
  • David Guterson
  • Jane Hamilton
  • Jim Harrison
  • Ursula Hegi
  • Mark Helprin
  • Oscar Hijuelos
  • Peter Hoeg
  • Alice Hoffman
  • John Irving
  • Kazuo Ishiguro
  • Charles Johnson
  • William Kennedy
  • Jamaica Kincaid
  • Barbara Kingsolver
  • Milan Kundera
  • David Leavitt
  • Doris Lessing
  • Penelope Lively
  • David Lodge
  • Alison Lurie
  • Naguib Mahfouz
  • Cormac McCarthy
  • Thomas McGuane
  • Terry McMillan
  • Larry McMurtry
  • Steven Millhauser
  • Lorrie Moore
  • Toni Morrison
  • Alice Munro
  • Iris Murdoch
  • V. S. Naipaul
  • Gloria Naylor
  • John Nichols
  • Joyce Carol Oates
  • Edna O'Brien
  • Tim O'Brien
  • Kenzaburo Oe
  • Michael Ondaatje
  • Amos Oz
  • Grace Paley
  • Cathie Pelletier
  • Richard Powers
  • Reynolds Price
  • E. Annie Proulx
  • Thomas Pynchon
  • Philip Roth
  • Salman Rushdie
  • Carol Shields
  • Leslie Marmon Silko
  • Mona Simpson
  • Jane Smiley
  • Susan Sontag
  • Muriel Spark
  • Robert Stone
  • Graham Swift
  • Amy Tan
  • Melanie Rae Thon
  • William Trevor
  • Anne Tyler
  • John Updike
  • Mario Vargas Llosa
  • Alice Walker
  • Fay Weldon
  • John Edgar Wideman

  • 1
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Do Not Become Alarmed
    Do Not Become Alarmed
    by Maile Meloy
    Full disclosure: I've never had any desire to go on a cruise. I start getting antsy and ...
  • Book Jacket: Priestdaddy
    Priestdaddy
    by Patricia Lockwood
    Patricia Lockwood is a poet and the daughter of Greg Lockwood, a Catholic priest. While Catholic ...
  • Book Jacket: Before We Sleep
    Before We Sleep
    by Jeffrey Lent
    Katey Snow, aged seventeen, leaves home one night. "There was a void within her and one that could ...

Win this book!
Win News of the World

News of the World

A brilliant work of historical fiction that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T's S I Numbers

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.