Summary and book reviews of About The Author by Alfred Glossbrenner

About The Author

The Passionate Reader's Guide to the Authors You Love, Including Things You Never Knew, Juicy Bits You'll Want to Know, and Hundreds of Ideas for What to Read Next

by Alfred Glossbrenner

About The Author by Alfred Glossbrenner X
About The Author by Alfred Glossbrenner
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Paperback:
    May 2000, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Offers insider information on America's favorite writers, from Margery Allingham to Evelyn Waugh, from Michael Crichton to Charles Dickens. It gives background on the lives of the writers, what they did before becoming writers, facts about their fans, quirky tidbits, and recommendations for what to read next.

For the book fiend in the family, the ultimate fan's guide

An indispensable guide for passionate readers, About the Author offers insider information on America's favorite writers, from Margery Allingham to Evelyn Waugh, from Michael Crichton to Charles Dickens. It gives background on the lives of the writers, what they did before becoming writers, facts about their fans, quirky tidbits, and recommendations for what to read next.

Chosen for their popularity, their staying power, and the intensity of their following, this amazing range of writers will appeal to all types of readers. Find out what movies and television shows were adapted from their novels, how they decided to become writers, what the Nobel Prize for literature did for some, and what being an Oprah selection did for others. In addition, About the Author includes lists galore: from Pulitzers to fan clubs, from bestseller lists to book conventions, from reading groups to CD-ROMs.

About the Author offers an engaging feast of information that any book lover will find hard to put down.

BookBrowse selects from the best and most popular books and features a substantial excerpt of each, usually a full chapter.

The excerptions to this rule are a handful of 'reading guide' books (including this title). In this case, BookBrowse has included the book even though an excerpt was unavailable because we feel it has a contribution to make to this relatively specialized category.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Library Journal
Most of the 120 entries in this bibliographical treat are 20th-century authors selected for their popularity, staying power, and number of followers, though some earlier authors (e.g., Austen, Conrad, Tolstoy) frequently read as high school assignments are also included.... All the information provided here is available in less abbreviated form in Contemporary Authors, but this book is handy to use and reasonably priced.

School Library Journal
The Glossbrenners include quite a few enticing bits of personal or professional facts on the two pages allotted to each of 125 popular authors, mainly from this country and Great Britain. A small black-and-white photograph appears with most entries.... The book includes lots of lists and information about book clubs, conventions, special events, and publishers. It offers just the right amount of facts for quick reference or to use as a starting point for more intense investigation.

Booklist
The alphabetized order makes for some funny juxtapositions of commercial authors with literary luminaries, Danielle Steel followed by Wallace Stegner, for instance; but the Glossbrenners don't allow the pragmatic format to dull their commentary their short takes are informative and instantly addictive.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked About The Author, try these:

  • The Reading List Contemporary Fiction jacket

    The Reading List Contemporary Fiction

    by David Rubel

    Published 1998

    About this book

    Illuminates the work of 125 current novelists who have captured the imagination of the modern reader. Each entry includes critical commentary on the author's published fiction by prominent reviewers, as well as thematic and plot synopses, and a short biography.

  • Vintage Reading : From Plato to Bradbury jacket

    Vintage Reading : From Plato to Bradbury

    by Robert Kanigel

    Published 1998

    About this book

    Presents a collection of essays unlike any other stuffy attempt at introducing the modern reader to the Great Books.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Age of Living Machines
    The Age of Living Machines
    by Susan Hockfield
    In the face of looming global challenges, such as overpopulation, resource depletion and disease, Dr...
  • Book Jacket
    The Mars Room
    by Rachel Kushner
    There is palpable tension between expectation and reality in Rachel Kushner's third novel. The ...
  • Book Jacket: The Guest Book
    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake
    Sarah Blake's critically-acclaimed third novel The Guest Book was a hit with our First Impressions ...
  • Book Jacket: How It Feels to Float
    How It Feels to Float
    by Helena Fox
    Even though Biz's dad has been dead for ten years, he constantly visits her and tells stories about ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Patsy
    by Nicole Dennis-Benn

    A haunting depiction of immigration and womanhood, and the silent threads of love.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Conviction

Conviction by Denise Mina

The captivating, utterly unforgettable new thriller for fans of Killing Eve and The Woman in the Window

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L A Let L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.