We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of How to Behave So Your Children Will, Too! by Dr. Sal Severe

How to Behave So Your Children Will, Too!

by Dr. Sal Severe

How to Behave So Your Children Will, Too! by Dr. Sal Severe X
How to Behave So Your Children Will, Too! by Dr. Sal Severe
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jul 2000, 272 pages

    Paperback:
    Jul 2003, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Children learn what they live...your children do as you do." Instead of focusing on what children do wrong, this book teaches parents what they can do right.

Dr. Sal Severe maintains that "children learn what they live...your children do as you do." How to Behave So Your Children Will, Too! is based on his belief that a child's behavior is often a reflection of the parents' behavior. Instead of focusing on what children do wrong, this book teaches parents what they can do right, by focusing on the positive--reinforcing the good behavior instead of criticizing the child, being consistent--not giving in to misbehavior just to placate the child, and being more patient--recognizing that children operate on a different time schedule. Based on stories, ideas, and solutions from the more than 20,000 parents who have attended Dr. Severe's workshops, How to Behave So Your Children Will, Too! is a book that will entertain, comfort, and make parenting simpler and more enjoyable.

Dr. Severe has spent the last 25 years working with behavior disordered children, as a teacher, counselor, principal, school psychologist, and director of special education. In How to Behave So Your Children Will,Too!, he combines expertise with his own brand of practical, easy-to-follow advice that teaches parents how to be consistent, manage their anger, prevent arguments and power struggles, and make discipline simple, making their lives easier. In the 1960s, Dr. Spock revolutionized the way parents raised their children. Now, Dr. Sal Severe is destined to become the next guru of child-rearing for parents, grandchildren, and children.

First published around April 1997. Republished in 2000.

Chapter 1
How Successful Parents Behave

Whenever I am asked if my children have ever done something I was unprepared to handle, I tell this story. Anthony was almost three years old when my spouse became pregnant. We knew it was vital to prepare him for the arrival of a new baby. We wanted to avoid the dreaded effects of sibling rivalry. We read the Berenstain Bears New Baby book a dozen times. We did everything imaginable to make him feel that our new baby was also going to be his new baby. As Mom's tummy began to grow, Anthony kept a little doll tucked beneath the front of his T-shirt.



Leah's birth fascinated Anthony. He was so excited. Nearly everyone who brought a present for Leah brought one for him. It was like Christmas in May. He loved his new sister, even though he noticed that she did not have any teeth. Everything was going just as we had planned.

On Leah's sixth day home, it happened. Anthony hopped out of the bathtub. His rosy skin smelled ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

The New York Daily News
This book gives parents the confidence they need to practice self-discipline, patience, and constancy in order to raise well-behaved children.

Author Blurb Jack Canfield, New York Times Best-selling Author, Chicken Soup for the Soul.
I found this to be a very valuable book. It has helped me immensely with my children.

Author Blurb Jack Canfield, New York Times Best-selling Author, Chicken Soup for the Soul.
I found this to be a very valuable book. It has helped me immensely with my children.

Author Blurb John Bradshaw, New York Times Best-selling Author, Bradshaw On The Family
This book speaks to the heart of the family system-the parents. Parents must behave so their children will, too!

Author Blurb John Bradshaw, New York Times Best-selling Author, Bradshaw On The Family
This book speaks to the heart of the family system-the parents. Parents must behave so their children will, too!

Author Blurb Neil Aaron, M.D., F.A.A.P. Pediatrician
This book is concise yet comprehensive. My wife and I use the ideas with our own children. The techniques work. Whenever a parent asks me about child misbehavior, this is the book I recommend.

Author Blurb Neil Aaron, M.D., F.A.A.P. Pediatrician
This book is concise yet comprehensive. My wife and I use the ideas with our own children. The techniques work. Whenever a parent asks me about child misbehavior, this is the book I recommend.

Author Blurb Robert Brooks, Ph.D. Diplomate in Clinical Psychology Faculty, Harvard Medical School Author, The Self Esteem Teacher
Your book is wonderful. Not only does it contain a wealth of very sensible and realistic information about parenting but, in addition, your style of writing makes it a pleasure to read. Your respect for children and parents is apparent on every page as is your warmth and sense of humor.

Reader Reviews

Alana Tappin

Excellent book for anyone who's has difficulties getting their children to cooperate. I used it with my much younger brother and I appreciate the spirit of wanting to do the right thing my brother now has, instead of him just doing what I say. This ...   Read More
ME

BAD
This book was the worst book on the planet. Terrible does not do anything. How do people read this garbage. I like my child just the perfect little way she is and I should just agree with her more or read a stupid little book about it!

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked How to Behave So Your Children Will, Too!, try these:

  • Queen Bee Moms & Kingpin Dads jacket

    Queen Bee Moms & Kingpin Dads

    by Rosalind Wiseman, Elizabeth Rapoport

    Published 2007

    About this book

    More by this author

    Essential reading for parents today. Offering us the tools to become wiser, more relaxed parents – and the inspiration to speak out, act according to our values, show humility, and set the kind of example that will make a real difference in our children's lives.

  • Hold On To Your Kids jacket

    Hold On To Your Kids

    by Gordon Neufeld, Gabor Maté

    Published 2006

    About this book

    The concepts, principles and practical advice contained in Hold On to Your Kids will empower parents to satisfy their children’s inborn need to find direction by turning towards a source of authority, contact and warmth.

We have 8 read-alikes for How to Behave So Your Children Will, Too!, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray

    She took on titans, battled generals, and changed the world as we know it…

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.