Summary and book reviews of The Time Bike by Jane Langton

The Time Bike

by Jane Langton

The Time Bike
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2000, 144 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2001, 144 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Eddy receives an unusually large packing crate from his mysterious uncle, containing an old-fashioned bicycle with the ability to travel through time, and soon Eddy is on the ride of his life! Reading Age 9-12 years.

The strangest things seem to happen to the Hall family--like the time Eddy and Eleanor had an adventure and found an enchanted diamond, or the summer their cousin Georgie flew with geese. Now their adventure is with time itself. It starts when Eddy receives an unusually large packing crate from his mysterious uncle, Prince Krishna, containing an old-fashioned bicycle, complete with a wicker basket--the kind of bike no self-respecting boy like Eddy would be caught dead riding.

The bike possesses more than just a basket, however: It possesses the ability to travel through time, and soon Eddy is on the ride of his life! But trips through time can have unpredictable results, and they're not without danger...

Newbery Honor author Jane Langton's sixth book about the extraordinary Hall family is a magical account of the perils--and surprises--of travel in the fourth dimension.

Reading Age 9-12 years.

Chapter One

It was Eddy’s birthday, so of course it should have been a good day.

And for Eddy it was a good day, because his birthday present was a bicycle, a new Timuri bike in Killer Tomato Red with rock shocks and compression damping and rear derailleur and rapid-fire shifters and twenty-one combinations of gears that worked with handlebar grips.

It was the bike he had hardly dared hope for, it was so expensive. But Uncle Freddy and Aunt Alex had found the money somewhere. When Eddy came running down in the morning, there it was in the front hall, shiny and red and beautiful.

He took it out before breakfast and raced up Walden Street to the center of Concord, whizzed around the corner of Main Street to the library, veered left on Sudbury Road, and sped home by way of Stow Street and Everett.

All the way around he hoped to see admiring glances from the sidewalk, but the only person who noticed him was his old friend Oliver Winslow. Oliver saw Eddy on his new ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Bookshelf

In addition to Walden Pond, Concord, Mass., is home to the eccentric Hall family, which has had some remarkable adventures in a series of novels. This time it's Eddy, whose bright red 21-speed birthday bicycle disappears. In its place, a Transcendental Transport truck delivers an old-fashioned one-speed number that can travel through time, with a Time Clock on the handlebars that goes forward and backward. Great fun.

Bookshelf

In addition to Walden Pond, Concord, Mass., is home to the eccentric Hall family, which has had some remarkable adventures in a series of novels. This time it's Eddy, whose bright red 21-speed birthday bicycle disappears. In its place, a Transcendental Transport truck delivers an old-fashioned one-speed number that can travel through time, with a Time Clock on the handlebars that goes forward and backward. Great fun.

School Library Journal

Eighth-grader Eddy Hall and his older sister Eleanor plan to use their time-traveling bicycle to improve the past and avoid hassles in the future, until several misadventures show them that time is too powerful for even an enchanted bike to change. Readers may recognize Eddy and Eleanor as the protagonists in The Diamond in the Window (1973) and four sequels including the much honored The Fledgling (1980, both HarperCollins). The Time Bike retains the charmingly old-fashioned, somewhat breathless style of the previous books, although the Concord, MA, setting is updated with references to computers, mountain bikes, and the millennium

Kirkus Reviews

After 16 years of mostly mysteries for adults, Langton resurrects the Concord cast of Fragile Flag(1984) and its predecessors for a charming, if patchwork, time-travel tale. T….The major characters are easy to like (or, in Preek's case, despise), and the magical events are folded into the fabric of everyday life so neatly that they seem to belong there.

Publishers Weekly

Though computer-craving Eddy is a thoroughly up-to-date youngster, this tale has a pleasingly old-fashioned air. A whimsical and enthralling book, infused with a truly American flavor of magical realism.

Reader Reviews

U.S. weekly

This book was....
This book was really good something new happened when you turned the page. It made it sound like it was a real story. I would recomend this book to people whom like exciting things.

Eddie

Time Bike
It was one of the most interesting books I have ever read!

nate

great

jim

I tought the book was great. I think its worth reading it over an over again. My real name is jim not bob, but I still think the book was awsome.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Time Bike, try these:

  • Hokey Pokey jacket

    Hokey Pokey

    by Jerry Spinelli

    Published 2014

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Master storyteller Jerry Spinelli has written a dizzingly inventive fable of growing up and letting go, of leaving childhood and its imagination play behind for the more dazzling adventures of adolescence, and of learning to accept not only the sunny part of day, but the unwelcome arrival of night, as well.

  • The New Policeman jacket

    The New Policeman

    by Kate Thompson

    Published 2008

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    An enchanting tale of heart-stopping music, magic, enchantment, and time passing to quickly; set in Ireland. For ages 10+.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: My Name Is Leon
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.