Summary and book reviews of Liar's Game by Eric Jerome Dickey

Liar's Game

by Eric Jerome Dickey

Liar's Game
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jun 2000, 384 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2001, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Brimming with contemporary issues, steamy romance, stinging betrayal, and sweet redemption.

Eric Jerome Dickey is burning up the charts and poised to become a household name. His previous two books hit bestseller lists across the country, and reviewers from coast to coast call his work "compelling" (USA Today), "remarkable" (Detroit Free Press), and "deftly crafted" (Ebony). Brimming with contemporary issues, steamy romance, stinging betrayal, and sweet redemption, Liar's Game is a book that has everything his millions of fans have come to expect.

Running from a bad relationship that lasted way too long, New York native Dana Ann Smith leaves the city and moves to Los Angeles--the perfect place to start over with a new atmosphere, a new job, and a new man. When she meets Vincent Calvary Browne, Jr., he seems like a dream come true: handsome, hardworking with a good job, and sexy in a strong, silent kind of way. But that silence also means he's not letting Dana in on a few important things about his life. When both Dana's former lover and Vince's ex-wife suddenly come to town, the two must confront painful truths about their pasts and open their hearts and souls to each other with a new honesty. Only then will they have a fighting chance at a future together.

Chapter One
Vince

I was making love to En Vogue.

Not the group, but one majestic woman in a royal blue negligee. She had Cindy's intelligent smile, Maxine's sexy disposition, Terri's womanly grace. Her negligee slipped off her shoulders, slid down across her breasts. Inside her moan, she sang my name. Inched me toward her warm soul.

Dana hummed with the feeling. "You love me, Vince?"

Okay, I was about to tell you my name, but I guess Dana beat me to the punch. Vincent Calvary Browne Jr. And the woman I was holding, the one who had my face flushed, toes curling while I sang her name, the angel who was squirming ever so slowly in pleasure, that was my woman. The one I wanted to have forever. The last one I ever wanted to make love to.

I'm almost thirty and don't have a lot of family. Not now anyway. Not since my divorce. Not since Moms and Pops died. Moms had colon cancer and it spread up. That was when I was nineteen. Pops had it in ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

USA Today

There's magic when they meet, but, as the title implies, neither is upfront about the past. That allows Dickey to pack in contemporary issues, steamy romance, betrayal and redemption. Dickey's fifth novel is entertaining. He investigates a variety of relationships, keeping readers interested in the story line.

USA Today

There's magic when they meet, but, as the title implies, neither is upfront about the past. That allows Dickey to pack in contemporary issues, steamy romance, betrayal and redemption. Dickey's fifth novel is entertaining. He investigates a variety of relationships, keeping readers interested in the story line.

Kirkus Reviews

Dickey’s fifth novel (Cheaters, 1999, etc.) begins unpromisingly with hip smart-talking and gloomy banter, but eventually the characters—and the author’s treatment of them—mature and deepen.

Publishers Weekly

Dickey creates heroes and heroines who overcome many trials without ever suffering any real defeats. On the plus side are the author's quips on political and cultural issues such as police brutality and justice, custody issues, and cultural conflicts between Africans and African-Americans.

Reader Reviews

in love with books

How a real man treats a woman
I don't usually don't like Jerome Dickey's books because they can be a little bit disgusting, but this book I LOVED! I felt like I was listening to my life play out by someone else. after I got through reading this book I had to evaluate a lot of ...   Read More

Michelle Watson

Astoundingly Great
This was one excellent book. It captures the dynamics of what relationships are really like. Mr. Dickey knows how to keep his reader's attention with his details and fast paced plots. I would recommend this book to all those who are interested in ...   Read More

chris jeter

this book is great it id probsbly one of the greatest

Pinky_thick

I THOUGHT THIS BOOK WAS GOOD BECAUSE IT STARTED OUT WITH EXCITING THINGS AND DRAMA I RATED THIS A 5 BECAUSE THIS BOOK AND OTHER ERIC JEROME DICKEY BOOKS ARE ABOUT TRUE LIFE AND THINGS THAT HAPPEN IN AMERICA OR YO HOOD TODAY I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS AND...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Liar's Game, try these:

  • In Her Shoes jacket

    In Her Shoes

    by Jennifer Weiner

    Published 2003

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Follows three expertly realized and finely nuanced characters on an alternately hilarious and heartrending journey in search of contentment, connection--and each other.

  • A Day Late and A Dollar Short jacket

    A Day Late and A Dollar Short

    by Terry McMillan

    Published 2001

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Meet the Price family, matriarch Viola, her sometimes-husband Cecil, and their four adult kids, each of whom sees life -- and one another -- through thick and thin, and entirely on their own terms. McMillan gives us six more friends we never want to leave.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.