Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of A Day Late and A Dollar Short by Terry McMillan

A Day Late and A Dollar Short

by Terry McMillan

A Day Late and A Dollar Short by Terry McMillan X
A Day Late and A Dollar Short by Terry McMillan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2001, 448 pages

    Paperback:
    Dec 2001, 480 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Meet the Price family, matriarch Viola, her sometimes-husband Cecil, and their four adult kids, each of whom sees life -- and one another -- through thick and thin, and entirely on their own terms. McMillan gives us six more friends we never want to leave.

Much-heralded and long awaited, Terry McMillan's tour-de-force novel introduces the Price family -  matriarch Viola, her sometimes-husband Cecil, and their four adult kids, each of whom sees life -- and one another -- through thick and thin, and entirely on their own terms. With her hallmark exuberance and cast of characters so sassy, resilient, and full of life that they breathe, dream, and shout right off the page, the author of the phenomenal best-sellers Waiting to Exhale and How Stella Got Her Groove Back has given us a novel that takes us ever-further into the hearts, minds, and souls of America -- and gives us six more friends we never want to leave.

Way I See It

Can't nobody tell me nothing I don't already know. At least not when it comes to my kids. They all grown, but in a whole lotta ways they still act like children. I know I get on their nerves-but they get on mine, too - and they always accusing me of meddling in their business, but, hell, I'm their mother. It's my job to meddle.

What I really do is worry. About all four of 'em. Out loud. If I didn't love 'em, I wouldn't care two cents about what they did or be the least bit concerned about what happens to 'em. But I do. Most of the time they can't see what they doing, so I just tell 'em what I see. They don't listen to me half the time no way, but as their mother, I've always felt that if I don't point out the things they doing that seem to be causing 'em problems and pain, who will? Which is exactly how I ended up in this damn hospital: worrying about kids.

I don't even want to think about Cecil ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!
Introduction

"One thing I do know about men and kids is that they always come back. They may be a day late and a dollar short, but they always come back." –Viola, A Day Late and A Dollar Short

When Viola Price returns home from the hospital after a near fatal asthma attack, she comes to an important realization: she may not survive the next one. While keeping her fears a secret from everyone but her best friend, Loretta, Viola shapes a plan for bringing her family—on the verge of breaking apart from numerous petty squabbles and insecurities—together as a supportive, loving unit. Doing so will prove no easy task but one that Viola, who asserts "it's my job to meddle," is more than equipped to tackle. Over ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Philadelphia Tribune
Arguably the best chronicler of Black life today.

Philadelphia Tribune
Arguably the best chronicler of Black life today.

San Francisco Chronicle
...the world's finest chronicler of modern life among African American men and women.

Boston Globe
McMillan is carving a formidable niche in fiction.

Boston Globe
McMillan is carving a formidable niche in fiction.

New York Newsday
McMillan is not only a gifted fiction writer but a social critic as clear-eyed as Mark Twain, Zora Neale Hurston or Edith Wharton.

The Washington Post Book World
Terry McMillan is the only novelist I have ever read . . . who makes me glad to be a woman . . . [Hers] is the voice of the kind of woman all of us know and all of us need the warm, strong, bossy mother/sister/best friend.

Reader Reviews

a j darden

I really enjoyed everything about the book from the writing style to the complexity of the characters. T. McMillan is an execellent story teller.
jackie watkins

Fantastic. Everyone should read this book, you'll find a family member among the pages. I know I found several, including myself. A must read for the avid reader.
Ms Tee

I read this book,and was so enlighted it was hard to put down.
It will have you laughing,and feeling sad too.
I can relate to some of things that happen in that family,
It's like the author was talking to me.
It was a good book and every family
should ...   Read More
Twain

This book, which I read almost a year ago, captures the reader from the start. The characters are breathing also, from the start of the book. they are so clearly defined that the names could have been delelted from the text after the first forty ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked A Day Late and A Dollar Short, try these:

  • I Wish I Had A Red Dress jacket

    I Wish I Had A Red Dress

    by Pearl Cleage

    Published 2002

    About this book

    More by this author

    Cleage captures the mores, culture, and rhythm of black urban youth and the romantic tensions between mature black adults as she weaves contemporary issues into a love story.

  • Between Lovers jacket

    Between Lovers

    by Eric Jerome Dickey

    Published 2002

    About this book

    More by this author

    Set in the San Francisco Bay area, Between Lovers brings together three irresistible characters. How they handle an unusual and complex love triangle makes for one of Dickey's most provocative and unforgettable novels.

We have 4 read-alikes for A Day Late and A Dollar Short, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Terry McMillan
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.