We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of The Lion's Game by Nelson DeMille

The Lion's Game

by Nelson DeMille

The Lion's Game by Nelson DeMille X
The Lion's Game by Nelson DeMille
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Jan 2000, 528 pages

    Paperback:
    Nov 2000, 944 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

DeMille delivers the signature plot twists and sardonic humor his readers have come to expect.

The Los Angeles Times calls him "a master of the intelligent thriller." Now blockbuster author Nelson DeMille brings back John Corey, the hero of his #1 New York Times bestseller Plum Island, in an epic story of breathless pace, heart-pounding suspense, and chilling fear...

THE LION'S GAME

From a special observation post in New York's JFK Airport, members of the elite Anti-Terrorist Task Force wait for a passenger arriving from Paris: an alleged Libyan terrorist known as "the Lion," who is defecting to the West. Everything is going as planned; Flight 175 with its hundreds of passengers, including the Libyan and his CIA and FBI escorts, is right on schedule. Yet it soon becomes apparent that something is horribly, eerily wrong. And that the affair of Flight 175 is only a prelude to the terror that is to follow...

John Corey, having survived three bullet wounds on the NYPD, knows that he's used up his allotment of good luck. Nevertheless, he signs on as a contract agent with the Federal government's Anti-Terrorist Task Force, working in the high-pressure Mideast section. Kate Mayfield is John's senior in rank and junior in age--a bad combination for both of them. Even so, she is able to hold her own against John's brash style, his contempt for Federal agents, and his obsession with doing everything his way.

As a bloody trail of terror streaks across the country, John and Kate soon learn that their quarry is more than a man; he has the instincts of a wild animal, the blood lust of a carnivore, and the boldness and speed of a cat of prey. The cunning, violence, and ruthlessness that Corey encounters are like nothing he has ever experienced before, even on the streets of New York. Until this assignment, Corey has always been lucky in dodging the fatal bullet. But luck, as he's learned on the streets, at the gambling table, and in love, always runs out. To survive in a new game with no rules at all, he must invent a strategy that includes no luck at all...

More than ever before, Nelson DeMille presents vivid, fully fleshed characters and delivers the signature plot twists and sardonic humor his readers have come to expect. THE LION'S GAME is truly a DeMille to remember.

Excerpt
The Lion's Game

You'd think that anyone who'd been shot three times and almost became an organ donor would try to avoid dangerous situations in the future. But, no, I must have this unconscious wish to take myself out of the gene pool or something.

Anyway, I'm John Corey, formerly of the NYPD, Homicide, now working as a Special Contract Agent for the Federal Anti-Terrorist Task Force. I was sitting in the back of a yellow cab on my way from 26 Federal Plaza in lower Manhattan to John F. Kennedy International Airport with a Pakistani suicide driver behind the wheel.

It was a nice spring day, a Saturday, moderate traffic on the Shore Parkway, sometimes known as the Belt Parkway, and recently renamed POW /MIA Parkway to avoid confusion. It was late afternoon, and seagulls from a nearby landfill-formerly known as a garbage dump-were crapping on the taxi's windshield. I love spring.

I wasn't headed off on vacation or anything like that - I was reporting for work with ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

New York Times Book Review
DeMille works with enormous intelligence, pacing his two narrative strands...with the greatest craft. Suspense builds steadily and artfully as the clues pile up...The Lion's Game carries us along with professionalism many writers, highbrow and low, should admire.

People
DeMille deftly interweaves Corey's search with Khalil's grisly rampage, resulting in a tense tale as well as a surprisingly complex portrayal of what might have been just another nasty villain.

Kirkus Reviews
Corey, teaming up with Kate Mayfield, his minder from the Bureau, sets out to track the Lion, figure out what hes up to this time, and, with all the reckless panache of a homicide cop turned loose to play James Bond, save the free world from unspeakable perils. The biggest-scaled yet of DeMilles bestselling crime thrillers.

Publishers Weekly
DeMille artfully constructs a compulsively readable thriller around a troubling story line, slowly developing his villain from a faceless entity into a nation's all-too-human nemesis. Agent, Nick Ellison.

Reader Reviews

G

garrettgenovese@yahoo.com
My personal favorite book of my life so far. It would be a tragedy to ruin John Coreys image in my head by Nick Cage stinking up the screen with his horrible acting. Clooney is alright, I'm thinking younger. Maybe Jeremy Renner, either way this book ...   Read More
Anonymous

Wonderful Book i hope there could be a second part
Ruth A. Permisa

I am just an amateur reader but after reading The General's daughter of DeMille, i did crave for more DeMille's novels. I have also read The Plum Island. But what really amazed me a lot is its sequel, The Lion's Game. I was really absorbed by the ...   Read More
Anonymous
I ahve thoroughly enjoyed The Lion's game, although I wish Asad <<edited for potential plot spoiler content>>. Perhaps it would be better to leave it until the next part. I really hope it comes up soon, and please inform me on this forum ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Lion's Game, try these:

  • I Am Pilgrim jacket

    I Am Pilgrim

    by Terry Hayes

    Published 2014

    About this book

    This astonishing debut espionage thriller depicts the collision course between two geniuses, one a tortured hero and one a determined terrorist, in a breakneck story reminiscent of John le Carré and Robert Ludlum at their finest.

  • The Walking Dead jacket

    The Walking Dead

    by Gerald Seymour

    Published 2008

    About this book

    More by this author

    A young man starts a journey from a dusty village in Saudi Arabia. An armed protection officer is charged with neutralizing the growing menace to London's safety. With intelligence and deep understanding, Seymour shows us the world in which we live, with all its dangers and complexities, and the choices we are forced to make.

We have 7 read-alikes for The Lion's Game, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Nelson DeMille
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.