We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Nelson DeMille biography

Author Biography  | Interview  | Books by this Author  | Read-Alikes

Nelson DeMille
Photo: Sandy DeMille

Nelson DeMille

How to pronounce Nelson DeMille: duh-MILL

Nelson DeMille Biography

Nelson Richard DeMille was born in New York City on August 23, 1943 to Huron and Antonia (Panzera) DeMille. He moved as a child with his family to Long Island.

DeMille spent three years at Hofstra University, then joined the Army and attended Officer Candidate School. He was a First Lieutenant in the United States Army (1966-69), saw action in Vietnam, and was decorated with the Air Medal, Bronze Star, and the Vietnamese Cross of Gallantry.

DeMille returned to the States and went back to Hofstra University where he received his degree in Political Science and History.

DeMille's earlier books were NYPD detective novels. His first major novel was By the Rivers of Babylon, published in 1978 and still in print, as are all his succeeding novels. He is a member of The Authors Guild, the Mystery Writers of America, and American Mensa.

Nelson DeMille is the author of more than a dozen novels, co-authored Mayday with Thomas Block and has contributed short stories, book reviews, and articles to numerous magazines and newspapers. DeMille has also written under the pen names Jack Cannon, Kurt Ladner, and Brad Matthews.

Nelson DeMille's website

This bio was last updated on 10/20/2014. In a perfect world, we would like to keep all of BookBrowse's biographies up to date, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's simply impossible to do. So, if the date of this bio is not recent, you may wish to do an internet search for a more current source, such as the author's website or social media presence. If you are the author or publisher and would like us to update this biography, send the complete text and we will replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Interview

Enjoy an interactive chat session with Nelson DeMille, the critically acclaimed novelist of such best sellers as Plum Island, General's Daughter, The Lion's Game and Night Fall, where several chat attendees ask a plethora of questions.

An interview with Nelson DeMille, recorded by Talk City Network; reproduced by the permission of the publisher, Warner Books.

Time Warner Trade Publishing and Talk City Network are proud to present our special guest for tonight, Nelson DeMille.

Thank you, Nelson, for joining us today in Talk City!
Nelson DeMille: Good to be here.

TWBookmark says: What were you like as a boy? Hobbies, interests?
Nelson DeMille: I was very athletic, and played football, wrestling, and ran track in high school. My interests were girls. :-)

sushilvr-guest says: What techniques do you use as a writer to develop such a sense of suspense in your novels?
Nelson DeMille: Well, I use the cliff hanger technique. I try to end every chapter with an air of suspense. I try to leave the reader wanting to turn the page. I try to use short sentences, short paragraphs and short chapters to keep the reader's interest.

pattyann10 says: I have enjoyed reading your books and find them unforgettable. I noticed that The Lion's Game is doing very well in the bestseller charts. Would you care to comment on that? Also, which book has done the best on the best seller lists? Do you feel that the competition in this regard is increasing?
...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Nelson DeMille at BookBrowse
The Cuban Affair jacket The Panther jacket The Lion jacket The Gate House jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

All the books below are recommended as read-alikes for Nelson DeMille but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose read-alikes

  • Tom Bissell

    Tom Bissell

    Tom Bissell is the author of Chasing the Sea, God Lives in St. Petersburg, The Father of All Things, Why Video Games Matter, Magic Hours: Essays On Creators and Creation (2012) and Apostle: Travels Among the Tombs of the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Up Country

    Try:
    The Father of All Things
    by Tom Bissell

  • Tom Clancy

    Tom Clancy

    Thomas Leo "Tom" Clancy, Jr. was an American novelist and historian. He is best known for his technically detailed espionage and military science storylines set during and in the aftermath of the Cold War, and for video ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Night Fall

    Try:
    The Teeth of The Tiger
    by Tom Clancy

We recommend 17 similar authors


Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.