Summary and book reviews of Kiki Strike by Kirsten Miller

Kiki Strike

Inside the Shadow City

by Kirsten Miller

Kiki Strike
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2006, 250 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2007, 400 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

When Ananka Fishbein she ventures into an enormous sinkhole near her New York City apartment. She discovers a million rats, delinquent Girl Scouts out for revenge, and a secret city below the streets of Manhattan.

Life will never be the same for Ananka Fishbein after she ventures into an enormous sinkhole near her New York City apartment. A million rats, delinquent Girl Scouts out for revenge, and a secret city below the streets of Manhattan combine in this remarkable novel about a darker side of New York City you have only just begun to know about…

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

By taking the time to open this book, you’ve become a member of a very elite group: The Curious. I can’t tell you how pleased I am that we’ve found each other. As you must have noticed, there aren’t many of us around.

Contained on these pages is a true account of my first adventure with the legendary Kiki Strike. If you’re looking for a thrilling story to keep you entertained on those rainy days when you have nothing better to do, it should serve that purpose quite nicely. But if you’re interested in learning a few essential skills along the way, all the better. Of course, I’m not speaking of the kind of skills you’re likely to learn in any classroom. Hopefully, I’ll be able to provide you with an altogether more useful education.

Happy Reading,
Ananka Fishbein

CHAPTER ONE: The Shadow City

Until the age of twelve, I led what most people would consider a unexceptional life. My activities...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Miller's fast moving, streamlined writing style draws girls into the first volume of this planned series which offers courage and derring-do in abundance.   (Reviewed by BookBrowse Review Team).

Full Review Members Only (450 words).

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Deliciously entertaining debut novel... the author's love for New York's nooks and crannies shines from every page, making this a rare adventure story.

Booklist

*Starred Review* Gr. 5-8. While some discerning readers may complain that the conclusion is too quick and tidy, readers will welcome the hints of sequels, all hopefully narrated by Ananka, the most intriguing and carefully developed of Miller's characters.

School Library Journal

Kiki Strike celebrates the courage and daring of seemingly ordinary girls, and it will thrill those who long for adventure and excitement.

Kirkus Reviews

An absurdly satisfying romp for disaffected smart girl, with hints of more to come.

Reader Reviews

Kimi

Excellant
Kiki Strike is my favorite book. I recommend it to anyone who loves mysteries, action, and spy books, because it is a perfect combination of all three. The original is better than the sequel, but they are both really good. I could read Kiki Strike ...   Read More

Em

Talk about a Page Turner
Not only does Kirstin Miller make you LOVE & HATE Kiki Strike the character, she also makes you want to be there and think of all there plans and the next step they should take. Making the characters not the stereo-type girl power girls, she gives ...   Read More

indigo york

kiki strike book reveiw
Anaka Fishbean is a thirteen year old girl. She lives with her parents in a flat in New York City. When an enormous sinkhole appears in the park across from her home it’s only the start of her adventures. When she discovers and underground room she ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Kirsten Miller works in advertising in New York. She says that the idea for Kiki Strike did not come to her all at once, but that Kiki was the first character to arrive, because she loved the idea of a young, female mastermind who lived by her own set of rules (not all of them good). Then, in 2001, she heard about the front lawn of a nursing home in Manhattan that had collapsed revealing the forgotten basement of a building that had been torn down eighty years before; the room was complete with tables, chairs and even wall decorations. This was one of the events that triggered Miller's fascination with the many other tunnels and hidden rooms under New York, which inspired her to create the Shadow City.

"I wanted to...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Kiki Strike, try these:

  • Goodbye Stranger jacket

    Goodbye Stranger

    by Rebecca Stead

    Published 2015

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Winner of the 2015 BookBrowse Award for Best Young Adult Novel

    This brilliant novel by Newbery Medal winner Rebecca Stead explores multiple perspectives on the bonds and limits of friendship.

  • The Night Tourist jacket

    The Night Tourist

    by Katherine Marsh

    Published 2008

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    After an accident, Jack Perdu, a shy, ninth-grade Classics prodigy, is sent to a mysterious doctor in New York City. While there he meets Jack meets Euri, a young girl who offers to show him the secrets of Grand Central Station, with whom he explores New York’s ghostly underworld.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...

First Impressions

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.