Summary and book reviews of Inkspell by Cornelia Funke

Inkspell

by Cornelia Funke

Inkspell by Cornelia Funke
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2005, 635 pages
    Paperback:
    Jun 2006, 688 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

In this spellbinding follow-up to Inkheart, Funke expertly mixes joy, pain, suspense and magic.

Although a year has passed, not a day goes by without Meggie thinking of Inkheart, the book whose characters came to life. But for Dustfinger, the fire-eater brought into being from words, the need to return to the tale has become desperate. When he finds Orpheus, a crooked storyteller with the magical ability to read him back, Dustfinger leaves behind his young apprentice Farid and plunges into the medieval world of the past. Distraught, Farid goes in search of Meggie. Before long, both are caught inside the book, too. And the story is threatening to evolve in ways neither of them could ever have imagined.

Like Inkheart, Inkspell features the special touches that transform Funke's novels into keepsakes. Each chapter begins with a surprisingly relevant literary excerpt and concludes with a charming line illustration by the author herself. And this, the second book in the trilogy, also includes a hand-drawn map of the Inkworld and, as a helpful reference for readers old and new, a "dictionary" of characters. Silvertongue, Fenoglio, Crookback, Firefox: The entire epic cast is described in detail.

Orpheus took the sheet of paper back with an awkward smile. "I can't promise that it'll be the same time of day there," he said in a muted voice. "The laws of my art are difficult to understand, but believe me, no one knows more about them than I do. Fore instance, I've discovered that if you want to change or continue a story, you should use only words that are in the book already. Too many new words and nothing at all may happen, or alternatively something could happen that you didn't intend. Perhaps it's different if you wrote the original story ---"

"In the name of all the fairies, you're fuller of words than a whole library!" Dustfinger interrupted impatiently. "How about just reading it now?"

Orpheus fell silent as abruptly as if he had ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly

In this spellbinding follow-up to Inkheart, Funke expertly mixes joy, pain, suspense and magic. Ages 8+

Kirkus Reviews

Funke delivers more than enough action, romance, tragedy, villainy and emotion to keep readers turning the pages-and waiting for the sequel the cliffhanger ending promises. Ages 10+

School Library Journal - Sharon Rawlins

This 'story within a story' will delight not just fantasy fans, but all readers who like an exciting plot with larger-than-life characters. Grades 4-8.

Booklist - Carolyn Phelan

Like many other fantasies, this will appeal to a broad age range, though the writing is far less child-centered than it is, for example, in the Harry Potter series. Grades 6-12.

Reader Reviews

cloey stewart

Ink spell
This book is very full of action, love, and hope. When I start reading it i just cant stop and time goes by too fast. I really love this book and I could read it a thousand times over!

Avery

Inkspell
Amazing second book but I prefer Inkheart and Inkdeath but still amazing all the same!

scrabble

best book ever
This book was wonderfully written and was the best book I've ever read.

Viv

Inkspell
This book had me on the edge of my seat! when Dustfinger died, I was really sad. Other than that, fantasy lovers will adore this book!

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Inkspell, try these:

  • Enchanted jacket

    Enchanted

    by Alethea Kontis

    Published 2013

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    It isn't easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday's only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true...

  • Seeker jacket

    Seeker

    by William Nicholson

    Published 2007

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    A coming-of-age story about courage, friendship, desire, and faith.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.