We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of Inkspell by Cornelia Funke

Inkspell

by Cornelia Funke

Inkspell by Cornelia Funke X
Inkspell by Cornelia Funke
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2005, 635 pages

    Paperback:
    Jun 2006, 688 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

In this spellbinding follow-up to Inkheart, Funke expertly mixes joy, pain, suspense and magic.

Although a year has passed, not a day goes by without Meggie thinking of Inkheart, the book whose characters came to life. But for Dustfinger, the fire-eater brought into being from words, the need to return to the tale has become desperate. When he finds Orpheus, a crooked storyteller with the magical ability to read him back, Dustfinger leaves behind his young apprentice Farid and plunges into the medieval world of the past. Distraught, Farid goes in search of Meggie. Before long, both are caught inside the book, too. And the story is threatening to evolve in ways neither of them could ever have imagined.

Like Inkheart, Inkspell features the special touches that transform Funke's novels into keepsakes. Each chapter begins with a surprisingly relevant literary excerpt and concludes with a charming line illustration by the author herself. And this, the second book in the trilogy, also includes a hand-drawn map of the Inkworld and, as a helpful reference for readers old and new, a "dictionary" of characters. Silvertongue, Fenoglio, Crookback, Firefox: The entire epic cast is described in detail.

Orpheus took the sheet of paper back with an awkward smile. "I can't promise that it'll be the same time of day there," he said in a muted voice. "The laws of my art are difficult to understand, but believe me, no one knows more about them than I do. Fore instance, I've discovered that if you want to change or continue a story, you should use only words that are in the book already. Too many new words and nothing at all may happen, or alternatively something could happen that you didn't intend. Perhaps it's different if you wrote the original story ---"

"In the name of all the fairies, you're fuller of words than a whole library!" Dustfinger interrupted impatiently. "How about just reading it now?"

Orpheus fell silent as abruptly as if he had ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Booklist - Carolyn Phelan
Like many other fantasies, this will appeal to a broad age range, though the writing is far less child-centered than it is, for example, in the Harry Potter series. Grades 6-12.

Kirkus Reviews
Funke delivers more than enough action, romance, tragedy, villainy and emotion to keep readers turning the pages-and waiting for the sequel the cliffhanger ending promises. Ages 10+

School Library Journal - Sharon Rawlins
This 'story within a story' will delight not just fantasy fans, but all readers who like an exciting plot with larger-than-life characters. Grades 4-8.

Publishers Weekly
In this spellbinding follow-up to Inkheart, Funke expertly mixes joy, pain, suspense and magic. Ages 8+

Reader Reviews

cloey stewart

Ink spell
This book is very full of action, love, and hope. When I start reading it i just cant stop and time goes by too fast. I really love this book and I could read it a thousand times over!
Avery

Inkspell
Amazing second book but I prefer Inkheart and Inkdeath but still amazing all the same!
scrabble

best book ever
This book was wonderfully written and was the best book I've ever read.
Viv

Inkspell
This book had me on the edge of my seat! when Dustfinger died, I was really sad. Other than that, fantasy lovers will adore this book!

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Inkspell, try these:

  • Enchanted jacket

    Enchanted

    by Alethea Kontis

    Published 2013

    About this book

    It isn't easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday's only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true...

  • Seeker jacket

    Seeker

    by William Nicholson

    Published 2007

    About this book

    More by this author

    A coming-of-age story about courage, friendship, desire, and faith.

We have 6 read-alikes for Inkspell, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Cornelia Funke
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...
  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.