We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of Revenge Of The Middle-Aged Woman by Elizabeth Buchan

Revenge Of The Middle-Aged Woman

by Elizabeth Buchan

Revenge Of The Middle-Aged Woman by Elizabeth Buchan X
Revenge Of The Middle-Aged Woman by Elizabeth Buchan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Feb 2003, 368 pages

    Paperback:
    Jan 2004, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Full of humor, clever insight, and a whimsical sense of the absurd - an irresistible and finely written fantasy for anyone who ever wondered what a certain age would look like from beyond the looking-glass.

For twenty-five years, Rose Lloyd has juggled marriage, motherhood, and career with remarkable success. It has been a life of family picnics, books and wine, a cherished house, and her own exquisitely designed garden—sunny and comfortable. But then the carefully managed life to which Rose has become accustomed comes crashing down around her when—over the course of a few days—her marriage and her career both fall apart.

Can Rose, whose anguish is barely softened by the ministrations of friends and grown children with their own problems, ever start over? Not easily. But it's amazing what prolonged reflection, the slimming effect of a lost appetite, a new slant on independence (and a little Parisian lingerie) will do. Especially when an old flame suddenly reappears.

Full of humor, clever insight, and a whimsical sense of the absurd, Revenge of the Middle-Aged Woman is an irresistible and finely written fantasy for anyone who ever wondered what a certain age would look like from beyond the looking-glass - and who will find it ripe with promise that the best days are yet to come.

Excerpt
Revenge Of The Middle-Aged Woman

'Here,' said Minty, my deputy, with one of her breathy laughs, 'the review has just come in. It's hilariously vindictive.' She pushed towards me a book entitled A Thousand Olive Trees by Hal Thorne with the review tucked into it.

For some reason, I picked up the book. Normally I avoided anything to do with Hal but I did not think it mattered this once. I was settled, busy, different, and I had made my choice a long time ago.

When we first discussed my working on the books' pages, Nathan argued that, if I ever achieved my ambition to become the books editor, I would end up hating books. Familiarity bred contempt. But I said that Mark Twain had got it better when he said that familiarity breeds not so much contempt but children, and wasn't Nathan's comment a reflection on his own feelings about his own job? Nathan replied, 'Nonsense, have I ever been happier?' and 'You wait and see'. (The latter was said with one of his lovely, strong-...

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!
  1. Do you think the young Rose should have stayed with Hal or did she make the right decision to marry Nathan?How would you describe Minty's relationship with Rose? Were there definite indicators something was amiss that Rose might have noticed sooner?

  2. Do you think that Rose was complacent in her marriage and career? What have you learned from her journey toward self-exploration?

  3. What do you think of Minty? Did she really want Rose's life all along and just pretended to be independent or do you think something changed her?

  4. Rose sought friendship and solace with friends to help her through the depression. Are there other ways she might have helped herself? What would you have done?

  5. The novel was written from a wife's point of ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Revenge of The Middle-Aged Woman turned out to be far better than I expected it to be based on the jacket blurb and title, which led me to believe that this would be another tired story of mid-life crisis and extra-marital affairs culminating in a vindictive revenge in which the husband gets humiliated and everything ends happily ever after.

On the contrary, Buchan's book is literary proof that it is possible to take a tired old storyline and create a charming, poignant, believable tale replete with life's wisdom, and happily bereft of cliches or cute and tidy endings.

Recommended reading for the majority of women (and if they could be persuaded to read it, it would probably hit a nerve with many a middle-aged man), especially those who enjoy writers such as Elizabeth Berg and Christina Schwarz.

Media Reviews

People (Page-turner of the Week)
Middle-aged or not, readers will find this book funny and sad, serious and light. Bottom line Get REVENGE.

Denver Post
It is a nicely written piece of chick lit that ends up being thought-provoking in its restraint.... This is a novel that is about a three-dimensional woman, not a stereotype, and she's a character that grows on the reader while she grows into a new stage of her life.

Minneapolis Star Tribune
The revenge of an abandoned spouse is a dish best served in the company of her or his long-lost love. And in fairy tales (or novels such as Elizabeth Buchan's Revenge of the Middle-Aged Woman) that's exactly what happens.

Rocky Mountain News
an eye-catcher of the first degree—even if most of those eyes are starting to disappear into the folds of their faces.... I raced through [the book] like a woman two weeks late for her hair-color appointment...[it] is a guilty pleasure.

USA Today
This ‘Middle-Aged' woman's revenge is delightfully dishy. The 'revenge' in the title has little to do with getting back at people. Rather, Buchan celebrates the patience and wisdom that only age brings. While middle-aged women will relish the novel, it's a cautionary tale for husbands with eyes glued to the pertly twitching buttox of that office minx. Beware. Better that aging first bride than the girlish tendril you seduced. She just might start craving what you thought you had escaped.

Independent
A gorgeously well-written tale funny, sad, sophisticated.

The Times, London
Wise, melancholy, funny and sophisticated.

Booklist - Carrie Bissey
[Buchan's] latest sensitive, satisfying tale is a most untraditional exploration of the landscapes of love and grief that refrains from shortcuts and cliches.

Kirkus Reviews
A wry and elegant tale about a woman of a certain age fighting back and winning unexpected victories.

Library Journal
A best seller in England that's slated for the post-Bridget Jones crowd.

Publishers Weekly
Living wisely is the best revenge for a London book review editor who loses both husband and job to her conniving assistant in this sophisticated and satisfying novel.

Author Blurb Joanna Trollope
An excellent story…strong, imaginative power…wonderful atmosphere

Reader Reviews

Tamaratu

Very engaging as an entertaining, empathetic diversion, this wee little novel was frothy and satisfying all at once. Certainly, it's a plot line we've come to expect - though the characters are richer and deeper than your generic chick-lit offering. ...   Read More
Anonymous

Very enjoyable! There was great depth to the characters - which is nice to see for a change. The author did a wonderful job showing everyone's point of view. There was growth and change and a believable 'happy' ending.
Jenny

Age 22 - I was a little disappointed by the anticlimactic ending to this book and the spelling errors. The character development was pretty good though.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Revenge Of The Middle-Aged Woman, try these:

  • Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake jacket

    Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake

    by Anna Quindlen

    Published 2013

    About this book

    More by this author

    In this irresistible memoir, the #1 New York Times bestselling author writes about her life and the lives of women today, looking back and ahead - and celebrating it all - as she considers marriage, girlfriends, our mothers, faith, loss, all that stuff in our closets, and more.

  • Cover The Butter jacket

    Cover The Butter

    by Carrie Kabak

    Published 2006

    About this book

    Buoyant and deeply moving, Cover the Butter proves that starting over has nothing to do with age and everything to do with spirit.

We have 6 read-alikes for Revenge Of The Middle-Aged Woman, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Elizabeth Buchan
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Wild and Distant Seas
    Wild and Distant Seas
    by Tara Karr Roberts
    Tara Karr Roberts is a newspaper columnist who also teaches English and journalism. Wild and Distant...
  • Book Jacket: The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    The Djinn Waits a Hundred Years
    by Shubnum Khan
    Shubnum Khan's eloquent and moving debut novel opens in 1932, when a djinn that haunts a house by ...
  • Book Jacket: Transient and Strange
    Transient and Strange
    by Nell Greenfieldboyce
    Throughout her powerful essay collection, Transient and Strange, science reporter Nell ...
  • Book Jacket: Prophet Song
    Prophet Song
    by Paul Lynch
    Paul Lynch's 2023 Booker Prize–winning Prophet Song is a speedboat of a novel that hurtles...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Adversary
    by Michael Crummey

    An enthralling novel about a small town struggling to survive, and a bitter vendetta between two rivals.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.