We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of Mortal Prey by John Sandford

Mortal Prey

by John Sandford

Mortal Prey by John Sandford X
Mortal Prey by John Sandford
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 2002, 416 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2003, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Lucas Davenport and Clara Rinker meet again. He's drafted to track her down after a hitman kills her boyfriend, the son of a local drug lord, and she goes missing - but Rinker is as unpredictable as ever and the case can only get more dangerous as it goes along...

Years ago, Lucas Davenport almost died at the hands of Clara Rinker, a pleasant, soft-spoken, low-key Southerner, and the best hitwoman in the business. Now retired and living in Mexico, she nearly dies herself when a sniper kills her boyfriend, the son of a local druglord, and while the boy's father vows vengeance, Rinker knows something he doesn't: The boy wasn't the target--she was--and now she is going to have to disappear to find the killer herself. The FBI and DEA draft Davenport to help track her down, and with his fiancée deep in wedding preparations, he's really just as happy to go--but he has no idea what he's getting into. For Rinker is as unpredictable as ever, and between her, her old bosses in the St. Louis mob, the Mexican drug lord, and the combined, sometimes warring, forces of U.S. law enforcement, this is one case that will get more dangerous as it goes along. And when the crossfire comes, anyone standing in the middle won't stand a chance....

Filled with the rich characterization and exceptional drama that are his hallmarks, Mortal Prey proves that John Sandford just keeps getting better.

Chapter 1

THE THOUGHT POPPED INTO HER HEAD as she lay in the soft-washed yellowed sheets in the hospital bed. The thought popped in between the gas pains and muscle spasms, through the pungent odor of alcohol swabs, and if she'd read the thought in a book, she might have smiled at it.

She wasn't smiling at anything now.

She stared past the IV drip bag at the whitewashed plaster ceiling and tried not to groan when the pains came, knowing that they would end; tried not to look at the hard-eyed Mexicano at the end of the bed, his hand never far from the pistol that lay under the newspaper on the arm of his chair. Tried not to think about Paulo.

Tried not to think about anything, but sometimes the thoughts popped up: tall, wiry Paulo in his ruffled tuxedo shirt, his jacket on the chair, a glass of red wine in one hand, his other hand, balled in a fist, on his hip, looking at himself in the full-length mirror on the back of his bedroom door, pretending to be a matador. Paulo ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Booklist - Wes Lukowsky
The thirteenth Prey novel is among the most ambitious..... Davenport and Rinker may not be the equal of Holmes and Moriarity but certainly belong in the family portrait.

Kirkus Reviews
Vivid cast, bristling action, neat surprises—and it's funny. Probably the cop novel of the year.

Publishers Weekly
Sandford's eye for the tell-all character quirk remains finely tuned, as does his deadpan humor, rivaled by few in the crime-drama ranks.

Reader Reviews

jpj

This was my first Sandford book. I 've heard a lot about the 'Prey' books. It's a police book with FBI and local cops in a fast-paced chase to stop a hired killer who comes back to kill her former employers. Mostly the hero, Lucas Davenport, gets ...   Read More
Linda Proctor

Have read all the Prey books and enjoy following Lucas as he
is challenged by different characters. Lucas and Rinker were my
favorite match in two of the Prey books. I will look forward to reading about Lucas's adventures as long as John keeps them ...   Read More
tatjana

very touchy
N. Schuetz

In his 13th Lucas Davenport suspense novel, Mortal Prey, John Sandford pits his Minneapolis investigator against a killer-for-hire, Clara Rinker, first introduced in Certain Prey.
Rinker, who unsuccessfully tries to leave the crime world, ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Mortal Prey, try these:

  • The Murder Book jacket

    The Murder Book

    by Jonathan Kellerman

    Published 2003

    About this book

    More by this author

    A classic story of good and evil, sacrifice and sin -- a gripping page-turner that illuminates the darkest corridors of the human mind. A stunning tour de force.

  • 1st To Die jacket

    1st To Die

    by James Patterson

    Published 2002

    About this book

    More by this author

    Full of the breathtaking drama and unforgettable emotions for which James Patterson is famous. The start of a blazingly fast-paced and sensationally entertaining new series of crime thrillers.

We have 4 read-alikes for Mortal Prey, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by John Sandford
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.