MLA Gold Award Site

Summary and book reviews of Uplift by Barbara Delinsky

Uplift

Secrets from the Sisterhood of Breast Cancer

by Barbara Delinsky

Uplift
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2001, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    May 2003, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Practical, warm, funny, reassuring, supportive, personal... the contributors reveal how they faced the fear of breast cancer and came through their ordeal ready to get on with life and love, career and family -- and how you can too.

Bestselling author Barbara Delinsky, whose life has been shaped by her mother's breast cancer as well as her own, has created the book she wished had existed when she went through her treatment. Uplift is a one-of-a-kind collection of anecdotes and advice, told in the words of everyday women of all ages who are part of the ever-growing sisterhood of breast cancer survivors. You won't find medical advice or technical matters discussed here. But you will find all the little things that only someone who's been there can tell you about. What kind of deodorant can I use during radiation? Are there certain foods that really satisfy on treatment days? How do I address my surgery with my coworkers? Is it really okay to lean on my friends? How can I still feel feminine? Is there romance after breast cancer? What can I do to feel more in control of my body and my life?

But Uplift isn't only for those with breast cancer. Friends and family can read it to find out what they can best do to help. And men? Uplift contains quotes from them, too. They share what worked best and how they felt as they helped the women in their lives through it all.

Practical, warm, funny, reassuring, supportive, personal...the insights by the contributors to Uplift reveal how they faced their fears and came through their ordeal ready to get on with life and love, career and family -- and how you can too. If there is one book you'll want to keep close at hand as a nightstand support group, Uplift is it.

Contents

Foreword

1 On Diagnosis: First Things First

2 Losing a Breast: Practical and Emotional

3 Radiation: Soaking Up the Rays

4 Chemo and Hair: Mane Matters

5 Chemo and Everything Else: A Smorgasbord

6 Taking the Reins: Regaining Control

7 Family: Our Inheritance

8 Friends: We Pick 'Em

9 The Workplace: Making It User-Friendly

10 Support Groups: From Traditional to Offbeat

11 Humor: You Gotta Laugh...

12 Men: By, For, and About

13 Exercise: Making the Body Better

14 Religion: Bringing In the Big Gun

15 Pure Uplift: Wrapping It Up with a Bow

Acknowledgments

List of Contributors

An Invitation from Uplift

Chapter One: On Diagnosis

First Things First

Where was I when I learned that I had breast cancer? You may as well ask where I was when I learned that JFK had been shot. I will never forget either answer.

In the case of JFK, I was in college, returning to my ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Delinsky has collected a compendium of survival secrets that have nothing to do with doctors, machines or drugs and everything to do with women helping women that she wished had been available to her when she was diagnosed in 1994.

Reader Reviews

Vickie Fournier

I just want to thank Barbara Delinsky for this very special book, Uplift. After I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer and knew I'd have radiation, I went to the library to find books that would tell me about it. I found this book. It has been a real God...   Read More

Kayleen Rouse

I so much enjoyed the Foreward with your story, Barbara. I thought I could read the entire book but it was more than I could handle at this point in my life. I have been an avid fan of yours for a long time and don't think I have missed any of ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Uplift, try these:

  • When Breath Becomes Air jacket

    When Breath Becomes Air

    by Paul Kalanithi

    Published 2016

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

  • The Spare Room jacket

    The Spare Room

    by Helen Garner

    Published 2010

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    A powerful, witty, and taut novel about a complex friendship between two women—one dying, the other called to care for her—from an internationally acclaimed and award-winning author.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Murder at the 42nd Street Library
    Murder at the 42nd Street Library
    by Con Lehane
    It doesn't matter if you're stopping in your favorite library to quickly pick up a book, or settling...
  • Book Jacket: The Loney
    The Loney
    by Andrew Hurley
    Landscape can be a writer's best friend. Whether it's the mountains of England's lake...
  • Book Jacket: The Mirror Thief
    The Mirror Thief
    by Martin Seay
    It is easy to see why Martin Seay's debut novel, The Mirror Thief, has been compared to David ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Dark Lady's Mask
    by Mary Sharratt

    Based on the life of the first professional woman poet in Renaissance England, and her collaboration with Shakespeare.

    Read Member Reviews

Members review books pre-publication. Read their opinions in First Impressions

Win this book!
Win The Children

From NYT bestselling author Ann Leary

The captivating story of an unconventional New England family.

Enter

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Girl Waits with Gun
by Amy Stewart

An enthralling novel based on the forgotten true adventures of one of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I A Greek T M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.