Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Uplift by Barbara Delinsky

Uplift

Secrets from the Sisterhood of Breast Cancer

by Barbara Delinsky

Uplift by Barbara Delinsky X
Uplift by Barbara Delinsky
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2001, 288 pages

    Paperback:
    May 2003, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Practical, warm, funny, reassuring, supportive, personal... the contributors reveal how they faced the fear of breast cancer and came through their ordeal ready to get on with life and love, career and family -- and how you can too.

Bestselling author Barbara Delinsky, whose life has been shaped by her mother's breast cancer as well as her own, has created the book she wished had existed when she went through her treatment. Uplift is a one-of-a-kind collection of anecdotes and advice, told in the words of everyday women of all ages who are part of the ever-growing sisterhood of breast cancer survivors. You won't find medical advice or technical matters discussed here. But you will find all the little things that only someone who's been there can tell you about. What kind of deodorant can I use during radiation? Are there certain foods that really satisfy on treatment days? How do I address my surgery with my coworkers? Is it really okay to lean on my friends? How can I still feel feminine? Is there romance after breast cancer? What can I do to feel more in control of my body and my life?

But Uplift isn't only for those with breast cancer. Friends and family can read it to find out what they can best do to help. And men? Uplift contains quotes from them, too. They share what worked best and how they felt as they helped the women in their lives through it all.

Practical, warm, funny, reassuring, supportive, personal...the insights by the contributors to Uplift reveal how they faced their fears and came through their ordeal ready to get on with life and love, career and family -- and how you can too. If there is one book you'll want to keep close at hand as a nightstand support group, Uplift is it.

Contents

Foreword

1 On Diagnosis: First Things First

2 Losing a Breast: Practical and Emotional

3 Radiation: Soaking Up the Rays

4 Chemo and Hair: Mane Matters

5 Chemo and Everything Else: A Smorgasbord

6 Taking the Reins: Regaining Control

7 Family: Our Inheritance

8 Friends: We Pick 'Em

9 The Workplace: Making It User-Friendly

10 Support Groups: From Traditional to Offbeat

11 Humor: You Gotta Laugh...

12 Men: By, For, and About

13 Exercise: Making the Body Better

14 Religion: Bringing In the Big Gun

15 Pure Uplift: Wrapping It Up with a Bow

Acknowledgments

List of Contributors

An Invitation from Uplift

Chapter One: On Diagnosis

First Things First

Where was I when I learned that I had breast cancer? You may as well ask where I was when I learned that JFK had been shot. I will never forget either answer.

In the case of JFK, I was in college, returning to my ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Delinsky has collected a compendium of survival secrets that have nothing to do with doctors, machines or drugs and everything to do with women helping women that she wished had been available to her when she was diagnosed in 1994.

Reader Reviews

Vickie Fournier

I just want to thank Barbara Delinsky for this very special book, Uplift. After I was diagnosed with Breast Cancer and knew I'd have radiation, I went to the library to find books that would tell me about it. I found this book. It has been a real God...   Read More
Kayleen Rouse

I so much enjoyed the Foreward with your story, Barbara. I thought I could read the entire book but it was more than I could handle at this point in my life. I have been an avid fan of yours for a long time and don't think I have missed any of ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Uplift, try these:

  • I Found My Tribe jacket

    I Found My Tribe

    by Ruth Fitzmaurice

    Published 2019

    About this book

    A transformative, euphoric memoir about finding solace in the unexpected for readers of H is for Hawk and When Breath Becomes Air.

  • When Breath Becomes Air jacket

    When Breath Becomes Air

    by Paul Kalanithi

    Published 2016

    About this book

    Winner of the 2016 BookBrowse Nonfiction Award

    For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

We have 6 read-alikes for Uplift, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Barbara Delinsky
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Last Murder at the End of the World
    The Last Murder at the End of the World
    by Stuart Turton
    The island is the only safe place left on Earth. Since a deadly fog overtook the planet, the ...
  • Book Jacket
    A Kind of Madness
    by Uche Okonkwo
    The word "madness," like many others that can be used to stigmatize mental illness — e.g., "...
  • Book Jacket: Long After We Are Gone
    Long After We Are Gone
    by Terah Shelton Harris
    Terah Shelton Harris's marvelous family drama Long After We Are Gone begins with the death of the ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhibit
    Exhibit
    by R O. Kwon
    Exhibit, R.O. Kwon's sophomore novel (after The Incendiaries, 2018), introduces readers to Jin Han, ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Look on the Bright Side
by Kristan Higgins
From the author of Pack Up the Moon comes a funny, romantic, and moving novel about life's unexpected rewards.
Book Jacket
The Pecan Children
by Quinn Connor
Two sisters deeply tied to their small Southern town fight to break free of the darkness swallowing the land whole.
Win This Book
Win Bright and Tender Dark

Bright and Tender Dark by Joanna Pearson

A beautifully written, wire-taut debut novel about a murder on a college campus and its aftermath twenty years later.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A W in S C

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.