Summary and book reviews of The Fox and The Pussycat by Barbara Sohmers

The Fox and The Pussycat

by Barbara Sohmers

The Fox and The Pussycat by Barbara Sohmers X
The Fox and The Pussycat by Barbara Sohmers
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published:
    Jan 1998, 212 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Maggy Renard has accepted a job as MC at the Pussycat Club. Then she finds the mutilated corpse of one of the strippers, and the fun is gone.

Alone in Paris while her husband, Fred, is shooting a film in Provence, Maggy Renard has accepted a job as MC at the Pussycat Club.

At first, the steamy, funky atmosphere amuses her. It is a change from the more dignified world of legitimate theatre to which she is accustomed. Then she finds the mutilated corpse of one of the strippers, and the fun is gone.

From the pompous arrogance of Chief Inspector Charvier to the brutal indifference of Mario, the club's manager, reaction to the ugly crime seems to Maggy so lukewarm as to be utterly inhuman.

Is it because of the victim's profession? Not only the tabloid press but the mainstream news media seem ready, as always, to blame the victim, and as more girls are killed, the public gets ever greedier for their nightly dose of blood.

Maggy and her friend Sheila, a " working girl " in Pigalle, swear to do whatever it takes to bring the killer to justice. But there are hidden monetary and political aspects to the case. And most monstrous of all, in Maggy's eyes; the evil that justifies torture by dehumanizing the victims. " She was only a whore, after all. " Will Maggy's pursuit of the killer put her at risk of departing on a last, fatal journey of her own?

From The Publisher
I love a writer who takes chances. Barbara Sohmers has the courage to plunge into social issues by including in her plot a shocking cultural practice carried on in over forty countries. You can find the practice carried on even in the United States.

Introduce into the plot, girls working in a strip club turning up dead, and you have two very different social situations side by side. Barbara Sohmers has the skill to turn up the heat in a suspenseful mixture of time, place, and characters that place the reader in the situation. Everything about her writing is cinematic. I musn't forget her ability to throw in humor in all this. Don't go to that movie, pick up a copy of The Fox and the Pussycat instead.

From The Author
We are used to hearing the expression "the food chain", referring to the natural hierarchy in which someone, or something, on the bottom, always gets eaten first while who-or whatever is on top gets to feast on its favorite food.

It seems to me that there exists another hierarchy, among humans, in which the strongest, best-looking, most successful and affluent possess privileges and powers far beyond the reach of those below them on the chain.

Take the apex of the pyramid. Rich, healthy, powerful Caucasian males must surely occupy the very top. Who, then, is at the bottom? Don't bother, I've worked it out for you.

The least valued, most exploited, neglected and generally mistreated human creatures in any society are powerless, dark-skinned, female and poor. It might seem a toss-up between the old and very young but, having given it some thought, I must opt for the latter. No one is as totally defenceless in our world as a young black girl.

Why do I tell you this? Only because it has haunted me for some time and because, no matter how important entertainment is to me, it is not the only need from which I write. I want to cry out for compassion and justice; to protest that, although nature seems indifferent to fairness, we must not be; to inject a few drops of human kindness between the hard bones of plot, characters and style.

"Who cares?" Maggy wonders. She does, and so does Fred. And so do I. Perhaps you will too. Read on and find out.

Excerpt
The Fox and The Pussycat

Maggy smelled death as soon as she opened the door. When she was nine years old, a rat had died in the crawlspace under her parent's house in Bordeaux. The stench of its decay had stayed in her nostrils for weeks after her father had removed the corpse. The same sickly-sweet odor enveloped her now like a noxious cloud.

Maggy wanted to run. She imagined herself tearing down the six steep flights to the courtyard, past the Concierge's lodge, into the street. Instead, she pushed the door open and forced herself to step into the room.

It was tiny and dim. The only light filtered in through a grimy dormer window. There had been a pathetic attempt at decor, with travel posters of exotic resorts, mostly white beaches and azure seas, and a few bright throw-rugs on the dirt-colored linoleum. A shiny new console TV looked out of place, incongruous among the thrift shop table and chairs.

A bamboo screen made a pretense of dividing the place into ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

The Midwest Book Review - James A. Cox

Barbara Sohmers burst upon the literary scene with her outstanding novel, The Fox and The Pussycat, introducing Fred and Maggy to the reading public. Now this intrepid couple are back in The Fox and The Pussycat. The place is Paris, justifiably know as The City of Light , but like any great metropolis, it has dark pockets of evil. It is Maggy who discovers Marie-Claude's mutilated corpse. She fights her way into the investigation in spite of the stonewalling arrogance of Chief Inspector Charvier and the threats of her brutal, womanizing boss, Mario. Maggy's pursuit of the killer puts her at risk of departing on a fatal journey of her own. Readers will escape into the night world of Paris, meet the girls of Pigalle, and enjoy one terrific and suspenseful tale spun by a master storyteller.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Fox and The Pussycat, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.