Summary and book reviews of Flight of Eagles by Jack Higgins

Flight of Eagles

by Jack Higgins

Flight of Eagles
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    May 1998, 328 pages
    Paperback:
    Jul 1999, 320 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

It is the early days of World War II, and two brothers find themselves on opposite sides. Max and Harry Kelso were born in the U.S. of a German mother and an American father. They were separated as boys when their mother took Max back with her to Germany, and now Max has grown up to become a feared pilot with the Luftwaffe, and Harry a Yank ace in the RAF. Each has kept track of the other's progress, but neither could possibly predict the extraordinary circumstances under which they are about to meet again. Forces much greater than they have set in motion an intrigue so devious, so filled with peril, that it will require that they question everything they know, all that they hold most dear - their lives, their families, their loyalties. Upon the results of their actions will hang, unalterably, the course of the war itself...

Filled with harrowing twists and high-tension action, Flight of Eagles is Higgins at his very best.

When we lost the starboard engine I knew we were in trouble, but then the whole trip was bad news from the start.

My wife had been staying with me for a few days at our house in Jersey in the Channel Islands when a phone message indicated a strong interest from a major Hollywood producer in filming one of my books. It meant getting over to England fast to our house at Chichester, a staging post to London. I phoned the air taxi firm I usually used, but they had no plane available. However, they'd see what they could do. What they came up with was a Cessna 310 from Granville on the coast of Brittany and a rather ageing pilot named Dupont. Beggars not being choosers, I booked the flight without hesitation because the weather forecast wasn't good and we wanted to get on with it. I sat in the rear, but the 310 had dual controls, and my wife, a highly experienced pilot, chose to occupy the right-hand seat in front. Thank God she did.

THE CHANNEL ISLANDS and the English ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Kirkus Reviews

Another crowd-pleasing, if somewhat wooden, tale of steely heroism and stiff-upper-lip bravado from the prolific Higgins.

School Library Journal - Anita Short

Intrigue and deceit abound in this easy-to-read, action-packed novel. Initially the plot seems obvious, but unexpected twists and turns will keep YAs' interest right up until the surprise ending.

Reader Reviews

Dustin Vance

Two Thumbs Up!!!
I just finished this book as an assignment for my AP US History class. I was completely amazed at the skill of the author to write such an incredible book. The action and suspense kept me immersed for hours. The plot was astounding and had me ...   Read More

JoAnne

Flight of Eagles
Loved it! The combination of intrigue, suspense and engrossing historical information.

Joel Thunborg

The book is very well written, although I don't know if it is true. I've found only one site that mentions Max von Halder and that is on an online gaming site. Nonetheless, I love this book.

Alyssia

I read this book and liked the story very much. However, I don't think it is a true story. The characters just don't seem to have existed - even if someone wanted to keep certain things secret, history can't be erased just like that. Another thing ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Flight of Eagles, try these:

  • Headwind jacket

    Headwind

    by John J. Nance

    Published 2002

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    An ex-president of the US is in danger. Captain Dayton flies him on an against-the-clock mission to find a safe haven while Harris's rumpled and outgunned lawyer wrestles an international team of legal sharks snapping at their biggest prize yet.

  • The Prometheus Deception jacket

    The Prometheus Deception

    by Robert Ludlum

    Published 2001

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Nicholas Bryson spent years as a deep cover operative for an American secret intelligence group, The Directorate. After critical undercover mission went horribly wrong, Bryson was retired to a new identity. Years later, his cover is cracked and Bryson learns that the Directorate was not what it claimed.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.