BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

Reviews of The Flower Sisters by Michelle Anderson

The Flower Sisters by Michelle Collins Anderson

The Flower Sisters

by Michelle Collins Anderson
  • BookBrowse Review:
  • Critics' Consensus:
  • Readers' Rating:
  • Paperback:
  • Apr 2024
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Book Summary

From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention for readers of Kristy Woodson Harvey, Donna Everhart, Sue Monk Kidd, Jeannette Walls, and Rita Mae Brown…

Drawing on the little-known true story of one tragic night at an Ozarks dance hall in the author's Missouri hometown, this beautifully written, endearingly nostalgic novel picks up 50 years later for a folksy, character-driven portrayal of small-town life, split second decisions, and the ways family secrets reverberate through generations.

Daisy Flowers is fifteen in 1978 when her free-spirited mother dumps her in Possum Flats, Missouri. It's a town that sounds like roadkill and, in Daisy's eyes, is every bit as dead. Sentenced to spend the summer living with her grandmother, the wry and irreverent town mortician, Daisy draws the line at working for the family business, Flowers Funeral Home. Instead, she maneuvers her way into an internship at the local newspaper where, sorting through the basement archives, she learns of a mysterious tragedy from fifty years earlier…

On a sweltering, terrible night in 1928, an explosion at the local dance hall left dozens of young people dead, shocking and scarring a town that still doesn't know how or why it happened. Listed among the victims is a name that's surprisingly familiar to Daisy, revealing an irresistible family connection to this long-ago accident.

Obsessed with investigating the horrors and heroes of that night, Daisy soon discovers Possum Flats holds a multitude of secrets for a small town. And hardly anyone who remembers the tragedy is happy to have some teenaged hippie asking questions about it – not the fire-and-brimstone preacher who found his calling that tragic night; not the fed-up police chief; not the mayor's widow or his mistress; not even Daisy's own grandmother, a woman who's never been afraid to raise eyebrows in the past, whether it's for something she's worn, sworn, or done for a living.

Some secrets are guarded by the living, while others are kept by the dead, but as buried truths gradually come into the light, they'll force a reckoning at last.

(Inspired by the true story of the Bond Dance Hall explosion, a tragedy that took place in the author's hometown of West Plains, Missouri on April 13, 1928. The cause of the blast has never been determined.)

Prologue

August 13, 1928

She leaned against the front balcony of the dance hall and shook her shiny dark hair in its neat, new bob, reveling in the delicious sensation of goose bumps on the back of her bare neck. Through the open door came the wail of Mo Wheeler's saxophone, bluesy and beckoning, while the plaintive piano answered with a seduction of its own. She smiled, realizing that one of her patent leather pumps was tapping the time with Dale Diggs' trap drum. She loved this new "jazz," the way it snaked through your veins and made you want to writhe and sway, to merge with that resonant, relentless beat and sing your blessings out loud. Amen.

And she was lucky tonight, wasn't she? Despite her mother's admonition to skip the dance: "It's Friday the thirteenth, you know." But her twin sister had practically pushed her out the door at the first honk of Charlie Walters' Plymouth—his father's car, actually. The gang packed in both seats tighter than ammunition, Dash unfolding ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!
  1. The novel's prologue, which takes place in a 1928 Ozarks dance hall, introduces us to many characters who still live in Possum Flats when the story picks up in 1978. What are your first impressions of Dash, Violet, Jimmy, Ginger, Hazel and the gang? How did your assessment of any or all of them change throughout the course of the book? Why?
  2. As Rose is preparing "The Mayor" for his funeral, she muses "Maybe we can't always be the person we want to be. Maybe not even most of the time." The not-so-secret extramarital affairs didn't align with his upstanding public persona Mayor's. But who else in the novel is not exactly as they appear to be on the outside? Does this cognitive dissonance cause any problems?
  3. Rose's position as a small ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Michelle Collins Anderson takes the tragic event and creates a whole world of fascinating and complex people whose stories become part of the reader's world (Mary L). The warmth and spirit of Anderson's writing will keep you turning pages, laughing or crying, but always happy to be in the middle of the action (Carol S). This debut historical novel based on the tragic Bond Dance Hall explosion of 1928 is a multigenerational masterpiece (Dorothy S). The Flower Sisters is a standout! I loved this book (Marianne L)...continued

Full Review Members Only (788 words)

(Reviewed by BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers).

Media Reviews

Historical Novel Society
The perspectives of different characters dominate each chapter so that the reader knows a great deal more than Daisy, our nominal tour guide. The Flower women—Daisy's grandmother and her mother—are wonderful creations, strong, conflicted characters.

Author Blurb Donna Everhart, author of The Saints of Swallow Hill
Michelle Collins Anderson delivers what every booklover craves in her absorbing and exhilarating debut. Combined with an intriguing historical event and charismatic characters with deeply held secrets, the end result is a mesmerizing story about reconciling guilt and letting go of the past so new beginnings are possible. Anderson's talent is undeniable and held me spellbound until the very last page.

Author Blurb Kim Michele Richardson, New York Times bestselling author of The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
Anderson weaves a rich and poignant tale of a small Ozarks town's factual tragedy, its generational secrets and the juxtapose of searching and belonging. Vivid and evocative, this is a debut to savor.

Author Blurb Susan Meissner, USA Today bestselling author of Only the Beautiful
A vivid blend of sensorial writing, historical detail, and memorable characters await in this compelling, surprising, insightful story of the weight of long-held secrets and the resulting hunger for truth.

Reader Reviews

Dotty G. (Alpharetta, GA)

The Flower Sisters
The Flower Sisters is a debut novel centered around a true tragic event in an Ozarks dance hall in1938. This event happened in West Plains, Missouri, the author's hometown. To this day, much mystery surrounds this tragedy. The novel has a dual ...   Read More
Linda J. (Ballwin, MO)

"The Flower Sisters" Bloom
Starting the book, I was a bit unsure if it would fall into my "unfinished" pile. But Anderson's plot development kept me going. I am glad I did. Being from Missouri and familiar with the setting, I found myself completely invested in Daisy, Violet, ...   Read More
Mary H. (Phoenix, AZ)

On This Date In History
This book is a welcome into a family history, and as all families have complexities, this is no different. It is common place nowadays to invest in your ancestry to discover long lost relatives or your genealogy in order to learn more about your ...   Read More
Laurette A. (Rome, NY)

Unique portrait of a tragic event
I chose this book mainly because I enjoy historical fiction and The Flower Sisters by Michelle Collins Anderson did not disappoint. It is based on the tragic and true event of the Bond Dance Hall fire in West Plains, MO that happened one hot August ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book



The Bond Dance Hall Explosion

large gravestone monument for victims of explosionMichelle Collins Anderson's historical novel The Flower Sisters draws inspiration from a tragic event that occurred in the author's hometown of West Plains, Missouri: the explosion of a dance hall packed with young dancers, the cause of which was never determined.

It was Friday, April 13, 1928. The Bond Dance Hall was located on the second floor of a brick building; a mechanic's shop called Wiser's Garage was on the ground floor. Most Friday nights, young members of the West Plains community came together to dance there. On this particular night, the band was playing their last song before an intermission around 11:00 pm when an explosion ripped through the building, resulting in flames as high as 150 feet. It collapsed quickly, burying ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Flower Sisters, try these:

  • The Secret Book of Flora Lea jacket

    The Secret Book of Flora Lea

    by Patti Callahan Henry

    Published 2023

    About this book

    When a woman discovers a rare book that has connections to her past, long-held secrets about her missing sister and their childhood spent in the English countryside during World War II are revealed.

  • Carolina Moonset jacket

    Carolina Moonset

    by Matt Goldman

    Published 2022

    About this book

    More by this author

    Both suspenseful and deeply moving, Carolina Moonset is an engrossing novel about family, memories both golden and terrible, and secrets too dangerous to stay hidden forever, from New York Times bestselling and Emmy Award–winning author, Matt Goldman.

We have 4 read-alikes for The Flower Sisters, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Bury Your Gays
    Bury Your Gays
    by Chuck Tingle
    Chuck Tingle, for those who don't know, is the pseudonym of an eccentric writer best known for his ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Ruin
    Blue Ruin
    by Hari Kunzru
    Like Red Pill and White Tears, the first two novels in Hari Kunzru's loosely connected Three-...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman and a Thief
    A Gentleman and a Thief
    by Dean Jobb
    In the Roaring Twenties—an era known for its flash and glamour as well as its gangsters and ...
  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Book Jacket
Lady Tan's Circle of Women
by Lisa See
Lisa See's latest historical novel, inspired by the true story of a woman physician from 15th-century China.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Win This Book
Win Smothermoss

Smothermoss by Alisa Alering

A haunting, imaginative, and twisting tale of two sisters and the menacing, unexplained forces that threaten them and their rural mountain community.

Enter