Summer Sale! Save 20% today and get access to all our member benefits.

BookBrowse Reviews The Flower Sisters by Michelle Collins Anderson

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Read-Alikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Flower Sisters by Michelle Collins Anderson

The Flower Sisters

by Michelle Collins Anderson
  • Critics' Opinion:
  • Readers' Opinion:
  • Paperback:
  • Apr 2024
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Reviews

BookBrowse:


A teenage girl visiting her grandmother in the Ozarks uncovers secrets pertaining to a town tragedy decades earlier.

Michelle Collins Anderson's novel The Flower Sisters, based in part on a real tragedy that occurred in the author's hometown in 1928, received considerable praise from our First Impressions reviewers. Out of 42 reviews, 38 rated the book either four or five stars.

What it's about:

The Flower Sisters is a debut novel centered around a real-life tragic event at an Ozarks dance hall in 1928. This event happened in West Plains, Missouri, the author's hometown. To this day, much mystery surrounds this tragedy (Dotty G). This book is a welcoming into a family history, and as all families have complexities, this is no different. It is commonplace nowadays to explore your genealogy to discover long-lost relatives or learn more about your family background, but in this story it is the year 1978. Left to her own imagination at her grandmother's house, teenage protagonist Daisy does some ...

Subscribers Only

BookBrowse's reviews and "beyond the book" articles are part of the many benefits of membership and, thus, are generally only available to subscribers, including individual members and patrons of libraries that subscribe.

Join Today


Member Login


Library Patrons

Beyond the Book:
  The Bond Dance Hall Explosion

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Flower Sisters, try these:

  • The Secret Book of Flora Lea jacket

    The Secret Book of Flora Lea

    by Patti Callahan Henry

    Published 2023

    About This book

    When a woman discovers a rare book that has connections to her past, long-held secrets about her missing sister and their childhood spent in the English countryside during World War II are revealed.

  • Carolina Moonset jacket

    Carolina Moonset

    by Matt Goldman

    Published 2022

    About This book

    More by this author

    Both suspenseful and deeply moving, Carolina Moonset is an engrossing novel about family, memories both golden and terrible, and secrets too dangerous to stay hidden forever, from New York Times bestselling and Emmy Award–winning author, Matt Goldman.

We have 4 read-alikes for The Flower Sisters, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Coin
    The Coin
    by Yasmin Zaher
    A popular choice for book jackets in recent years, perhaps especially in the historical fiction ...
  • Book Jacket: The Night of Baba Yaga
    The Night of Baba Yaga
    by Akira Otani, Sam Bett
    When Yoriko Shindo gets into a brawl on a busy street in 1970s Tokyo, she has no idea what the ...
  • Book Jacket: The Anthropologists
    The Anthropologists
    by Aysegül Savas
    A documentary filmmaker, Asya is interested in the "unremarkable grace" of daily life, "the slow and...
  • Book Jacket: Mood Swings
    Mood Swings
    by Frankie Barnet
    This book begins with a bombastic premise. Seemingly fed up with the heating planet, the world's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Who Said...

Give me the luxuries of life and I will willingly do without the necessities.

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.