Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of The Brilliant Abyss by Helen Scales

The Brilliant Abyss

Exploring the Majestic Hidden Life of the Deep Ocean, and the Looming Threat That Imperils It

by Helen Scales

The Brilliant Abyss by Helen Scales X
The Brilliant Abyss by Helen Scales
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jul 2021, 288 pages

    Paperback:
    Jun 2022, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Grace Graham-Taylor
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

"The oceans have always shaped human lives," writes marine biologist Helen Scales in her vibrant new book The Brilliant Abyss, but the surface and the very edges have so far mattered the most. "However, one way or another, the future ocean is the deep ocean."

A golden era of deep-sea discovery is underway. Revolutionary studies in the deep are rewriting the very notion of life on Earth and the rules of what is possible. In the process, the abyss is being revealed as perhaps the most amazing part of our planet, with a topography even more varied and extreme than its Earthbound counterpart. Teeming with unsuspected life, an extraordinary interconnected ecosystem deep below the waves has a huge effect on our daily lives, influencing climate and weather systems, with the potential for much more―good or bad depending on how it is exploited. Currently the fantastic creatures that live in the deep―many of them incandescent in a world without light―and its formations capture and trap vast quantities of carbon that would otherwise poison our atmosphere; and novel bacteria as yet undiscovered hold the promise of potent new medicines. Yet the deep also holds huge mineral riches lusted after by many nations and corporations; mining them could ultimately devastate the planet, compounded by the deepening impacts of ubiquitous pollutants and rampant overfishing.

Eloquently and passionately, Helen Scales brings to life the majesty and mystery of an alien realm that nonetheless sustains us, while urgently making clear the price we could pay if it is further disrupted. The Brilliant Abyss is at once a revelation and a clarion call to preserve this vast unseen world.



If you were to sail out into the open ocean and drop a glass marble over the side of the boat, for the first six or seven minutes it would fall through the uppermost layer of water, the part where the sun still shines. Some call this the epipelagic or euphotic zone, or simply the sunlit zone. It's the most familiar part of the oceans, where most of the known species live, and it's where all the oceans' photosynthesis takes place. The sun-catchers come in the form of large seaweeds as well as microscopic, single-celled creatures, collectively known as phytoplankton, which all suck in carbon dioxide and turn it into food for almost all the rest of ocean life.

As the marble drops, the sunlight fades until, at around 660 feet, there is just enough dim blue light to see by but not enough to power photosynthesis, and phytoplankton venture no deeper (at least while they're still alive). Here the marble enters the deep. Below, horizontal zones are laid out one above the other, like ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

The most outlandish creations of science fiction can't hold a candle to the inhabitants of the abyss, and I enjoyed the even-handed way Scales bestows her attention on them. The great whales that "headbutt the sky" are lavished with as much admiration as the minute Osedax worms that feast on their decaying bones, which gave me an equal appreciation for both. In this way, the author subtly expresses the significance of even the smallest species for the health of the marine ecosystem — a point that becomes important later, when she outlines both the current and potential threats to this ecosystem...continued

Full Review (601 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Grace Graham-Taylor).

Media Reviews

New Republic
Fascinating ... The book's purview is technically all of history, but the incredible paucity of interaction people have had with the deep sea means that most of the information here takes the form of news delivered as a dire, last-minute warning.

New York Times
The Brilliant Abyss, Helen Scales's sweeping survey of the seafloor, is brave enough to risk a darker and, in some ways, more satisfying tone...Scales's great gift is for transmuting our awe at the wonders of the deep sea into a kind of quiet rage that they could soon be no more...She urges us to err on the side of preservation: no deep-sea mining, fishing, oil drilling or extraction of any kind. The deep, she argues, is too vulnerable, and too crucial to the working of the planet to blindly ransack.

Daily Telegraph (UK)
It is, indeed, weirdness all the way down, and Scales's bestiary is a wonderful introduction to its variety...Scales's enthusiasm for her subject is matched by a gift for visual evocation...The book also has a crusading message, which is that we depend on the ocean more than we realise, and are harming ourselves the more we harm it.

Geographical
As with her previous best-selling books, Scales has an uncanny ability to make complex science engaging and entertaining.

New Scientist (UK)
Weaving together the latest discoveries with well-known examples, [Scales] details the many fascinating adaptations that life has evolved to survive in a world unlike anything at Earth's surface...The Brilliant Abyss is an enjoyable and accessible introduction to the deep sea, told with a passion that I found infectious. The stories of life's struggle for survival beneath the waves are compelling and Scales is particularly evocative when describing hydrothermal vents...Scales brings to life this important part of our planet.

New Statesman
Written by a highly articulate expert in the field, [The Brilliant Abyss is] so comprehensive and insightful that it will be a long time before it's surpassed

Booklist (starred review)
Scales writes of the astonishingly small group of scientists who explore the ocean's greatest depths ... It is the author's lush descriptive language and the breadth of her knowledge that truly stand out.

Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
Scales offers crisp, engaging prose, linking everything together in an accessible, entertaining manner...A captivating nature tour and a convincing warning that 'the deep needs decisive, unconditional protection.'

Library Journal (starred review)
A fascinating international glimpse of Earth's last frontier that will draw in readers concerned for the health of our oceans.

Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Marine biologist Scales tours the lightless depths of the ocean and showcases its denizens in this show-stopping work...This vivid survey hits the mark as an awe-filled paean to the mysteries of the deep.

Author Blurb Aimee Nezhukumatathil, bestselling author of World of Wonders
Helen Scales offers up an abundance of wondrous revelation and wise warnings in this mesmerizing consideration of the vibrant world of darkness under the sea. This is essential, unforgettable reading about our marvelous blue planet.

Reader Reviews

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Rare Earth Metals and Global Politics

Wind turbines in Southern California In The Brilliant Abyss, Helen Scales draws attention to growing international interest in rare earth mining. Rare earths look set to overtake fossil fuels as the most valued energy resource on the planet, as they are key to producing green technology. What will this profound shift mean for oil- and gas-producing countries?

In the 20th century, the struggle to secure oil and gas resources was a defining feature of international relations. Now that we are facing an imminent climate crisis, the era of global reliance on fossil fuels must come to an end. Think tank the Carbon Tracker Initiative has predicted that the value of gas, coal and oil will decline by two-thirds over the coming years, as countries work to meet the targets set by ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Brilliant Abyss, try these:

  • The Blue Machine jacket

    The Blue Machine

    by Helen Czerski

    Published 2024

    About this book

    A scientist's exploration of the "ocean engine"—the physics behind the ocean's systems—and why it matters.

  • The Treeline jacket

    The Treeline

    by Ben Rawlence

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    In the tradition of Elizabeth Kolbert and Barry Lopez, a powerful, poetic and deeply absorbing account of the "lung" at the top of the world.

We have 11 read-alikes for The Brilliant Abyss, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Helen Scales
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...
  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...
  • Book Jacket: Say Hello to My Little Friend
    Say Hello to My Little Friend
    by Jennine CapĂł Crucet
    Twenty-year-old Ismael Reyes is making a living in Miami as an impersonator of the rapper/singer ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Half a Cup of Sand and Sky
by Nadine Bjursten
A poignant portrayal of a woman's quest for love and belonging amid political turmoil.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.