Summary and book reviews of The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man by Jonas Jonasson

The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man

by Jonas Jonasson

The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man by Jonas Jonasson X
The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man by Jonas Jonasson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Jan 2019, 448 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

The hysterical, clever, and unforgettable sequel to Jonas Jonasson's international bestseller The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared.

What's next for Allan Karlsson? Turns out this centenarian has a few more adventures in store...

It all begins with a hot air balloon trip and three bottles of champagne. Allan and Julius are ready for some spectacular views, but they're not expecting to land in the sea and be rescued by a North Korean ship, and they could never have imagined that the captain of the ship would be harboring a suitcase full of contraband uranium, on a nuclear weapons mission for Kim Jong-un. Yikes!

Soon Allan and Julius are at the center of a complex diplomatic crisis involving world figures from the Swedish foreign minister to Angela Merkel and President Trump. Needless to say, things are about to get very, very complicated.

Another hilarious, witty, and entertaining novel from bestselling author Jonas Jonasson that will have readers howling out-loud at the escapades and misfortunes of its beloved hundred-year-old hero Allan Karlsson and his irresistible sidekick Julius.

Foreword

I AM JONAS JONASSON and I want to explain myself.

There was never meant to be a sequel to the story of the hundred-year-old man who climbed out of a window and disappeared. Many people wanted one, not least the protagonist, Allan Karlsson, who kept strolling around inside my head and calling attention to himself whenever he wished.

'Mr Jonasson,' he might say, out of nowhere, as I was busy with my own thoughts. 'Have you changed your mind yet, Mr Jonasson? Don't you want to have another round before I'm really old?'

No, I didn't. I'd already said everything I wanted to say about what was perhaps the most miserable century ever. The idea had been that if we reminded one another of all the shortcomings of the twentieth century, maybe it would make us better at remembering and less inclined to make at least those mistakes again. I packaged this message of mine with warmth and humour. Soon the book spread all over the world.

It sure as hell didn't make the world a better ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!
  1. The book opens with Allan and Julius enjoying the rich life on the beach at Bali, their wealth resulting from their previous adventures. They're getting bored however. If you had an unlimited amount of money, what would you do with it? Do you think you'd get bored eventually?
  2. At a previous birthday party Allan mentions that he thinks singer Harry Bellefonte is just a youngster. Do you think "young" and "old" are relative terms? Has your perception of who's young and who's old changed over time?
  3. Allan's love of his new iPad is a running theme throughout the book. What's your relationship with technology? Do you think the instant access to information we have today is a good thing or a bad thing?
  4. The book's action is kicked off when ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

The Daily Express (UK)
This is as much ludicrous fun as the first book but with the additional bonus of being set in today's crazy political world with delightful cameos for Kim Jong-un, Trump, Merkel and others you may have heard of, all flailing around as they are outwitted by a 101-year-old. Highly recommended.

Booklist
Readers will find this a welcome visit from an old friend that's filled with laugh out-loud hijinx as well as thought-provoking and timely satire on the current state of the world and the perils of power.

Library Journal
Starred Review. Jonasson creates the near impossible with his astute assessments of today's unstable global political climate and endearingly sweet characters, providing laugh-out-loud moments in a dark time. Reminiscent of Alexander McCall Smith's The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency with a side order of Forrest Gump, this should inspire renewed interest in Jonasson's first Allan Karlsson book. May Allan live longer and prosper.

Publishers Weekly
Uproarious....Jonasson’s clever prose, madcap delights, and satirical political commentary will please fans of the original novel and newcomers alike.

Reader Reviews

NStarr

Light, breezy and pleasant
I was looking for a book that didn’t require a lot from the reader. This story is easy to read, it’s pleasant and in the end you feel good. It’s not terribly deep nor is it complicated, but when you want to relax with a book that doesn’t break your ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Jonas Jonasson

If you liked The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man, try these:

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The World Doesn't Require You
    The World Doesn't Require You
    by Rion Amilcar Scott
    You can't move for young authors being marketed as "unique," "bold" and "visionary" these days. So ...
  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...


Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.