Summary and book reviews of The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man by Jonas Jonasson

The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man

by Jonas Jonasson

The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man by Jonas Jonasson X
The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man by Jonas Jonasson
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Paperback:
    Jan 2019, 448 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

The hysterical, clever, and unforgettable sequel to Jonas Jonasson's international bestseller The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared.

What's next for Allan Karlsson? Turns out this centenarian has a few more adventures in store...

It all begins with a hot air balloon trip and three bottles of champagne. Allan and Julius are ready for some spectacular views, but they're not expecting to land in the sea and be rescued by a North Korean ship, and they could never have imagined that the captain of the ship would be harboring a suitcase full of contraband uranium, on a nuclear weapons mission for Kim Jong-un. Yikes!

Soon Allan and Julius are at the center of a complex diplomatic crisis involving world figures from the Swedish foreign minister to Angela Merkel and President Trump. Needless to say, things are about to get very, very complicated.

Another hilarious, witty, and entertaining novel from bestselling author Jonas Jonasson that will have readers howling out-loud at the escapades and misfortunes of its beloved hundred-year-old hero Allan Karlsson and his irresistible sidekick Julius.

Foreword

I AM JONAS JONASSON and I want to explain myself.

There was never meant to be a sequel to the story of the hundred-year-old man who climbed out of a window and disappeared. Many people wanted one, not least the protagonist, Allan Karlsson, who kept strolling around inside my head and calling attention to himself whenever he wished.

'Mr Jonasson,' he might say, out of nowhere, as I was busy with my own thoughts. 'Have you changed your mind yet, Mr Jonasson? Don't you want to have another round before I'm really old?'

No, I didn't. I'd already said everything I wanted to say about what was perhaps the most miserable century ever. The idea had been that if we reminded one another of all the shortcomings of the twentieth century, maybe it would make us better at remembering and less inclined to make at least those mistakes again. I packaged this message of mine with warmth and humour. Soon the book spread all over the world.

It sure as hell didn't make the world a better ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!
  1. The book opens with Allan and Julius enjoying the rich life on the beach at Bali, their wealth resulting from their previous adventures. They're getting bored however. If you had an unlimited amount of money, what would you do with it? Do you think you'd get bored eventually?
  2. At a previous birthday party Allan mentions that he thinks singer Harry Bellefonte is just a youngster. Do you think "young" and "old" are relative terms? Has your perception of who's young and who's old changed over time?
  3. Allan's love of his new iPad is a running theme throughout the book. What's your relationship with technology? Do you think the instant access to information we have today is a good thing or a bad thing?
  4. The book's action is kicked off when ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

The Daily Express (UK)
This is as much ludicrous fun as the first book but with the additional bonus of being set in today's crazy political world with delightful cameos for Kim Jong-un, Trump, Merkel and others you may have heard of, all flailing around as they are outwitted by a 101-year-old. Highly recommended.

Booklist
Readers will find this a welcome visit from an old friend that's filled with laugh out-loud hijinx as well as thought-provoking and timely satire on the current state of the world and the perils of power.

Library Journal
Starred Review. Jonasson creates the near impossible with his astute assessments of today's unstable global political climate and endearingly sweet characters, providing laugh-out-loud moments in a dark time. Reminiscent of Alexander McCall Smith's The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency with a side order of Forrest Gump, this should inspire renewed interest in Jonasson's first Allan Karlsson book. May Allan live longer and prosper.

Publishers Weekly
Uproarious....Jonasson’s clever prose, madcap delights, and satirical political commentary will please fans of the original novel and newcomers alike.

Reader Reviews

NStarr

Light, breezy and pleasant
I was looking for a book that didn’t require a lot from the reader. This story is easy to read, it’s pleasant and in the end you feel good. It’s not terribly deep nor is it complicated, but when you want to relax with a book that doesn’t break your ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Read-alikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Jonas Jonasson

If you liked The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man, try these:

  • Olive, Again jacket

    Olive, Again

    by Elizabeth Strout

    Published 2020

    About this book

    More by this author

    Winner of the 2019 BookBrowse Fiction Award

    Prickly, wry, resistant to change yet ruthlessly honest and deeply empathetic, Olive Kitteridge is "a compelling life force" (San Francisco Chronicle).

  • The Wrong Heaven jacket

    The Wrong Heaven

    by Amy Bonnaffons

    Published 2020

    About this book

    More by this author

    For fans of George Saunders and Karen Russell, an "amazing, wildly inventive" collection of stories that straddles the line between the real and the fantastical.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search read-alikes again
How we choose readalikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year.
  • More about membership!

Join BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Find out more


Today's Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman
    The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman
    by Julietta Henderson
    The Funny Thing About Norman Foreman is the comedic debut novel of writer Julietta Henderson. It ...
  • Book Jacket: In Search of a Kingdom
    In Search of a Kingdom
    by Laurence Bergreen
    The Age of Exploration in the early modern period, lasting roughly from the 15th through 16th ...
  • Book Jacket: Under a White Sky
    Under a White Sky
    by Elizabeth Kolbert
    You can never go back home...so the saying goes. According to Pulitzer Prize-winning science writer ...
  • Book Jacket: The Barbizon
    The Barbizon
    by Paulina Bren
    Esteemed historian and Vassar professor Paulina Bren brings the legendary Barbizon Hotel to life on ...

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Girl in His Shadow
by Audrey Blake
The story of one woman who believed in scientific medicine before the world believed in her.

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Crossing the River
    by Carol Smith

    A powerful exploration of grief that combines memoir, reportage, and lessons in how to heal.

  • Book Jacket

    Ariadne
    by Jennifer Saint

    A mesmerizing debut novel about Ariadne, Princess of Crete for fans of Madeline Miller's Circe.

Who Said...

Beware the man of one book

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A S I T closet

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.