Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of Hey, Kiddo by Jarrett Krosoczka

Hey, Kiddo

by Jarrett J. Krosoczka

Hey, Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka X
Hey, Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Oct 2018, 320 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rory L. Aronsky
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Hey, Kiddo is a profoundly important memoir about growing up in a family grappling with addiction, and finding the art that helps you survive.

In kindergarten, Jarrett Krosoczka's teacher asks him to draw his family, with a mommy and a daddy. But Jarrett's family is much more complicated than that. His mom is an addict, in and out of rehab, and in and out of Jarrett's life. His father is a mystery - Jarrett doesn't know where to find him, or even what his name is. Jarrett lives with his grandparents - two very loud, very loving, very opinionated people who had thought they were through with raising children until Jarrett came along.

Jarrett goes through his childhood trying to make his non-normal life as normal as possible, finding a way to express himself through drawing even as so little is being said to him about what's going on. Only as a teenager can Jarrett begin to piece together the truth of his family, reckoning with his mother and tracking down his father.

Excerpt
Hey, Kiddo

Hey, Kiddo - Pre-K
Hey, Kiddo - Middle School
Hey, Kiddo - High School

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Jarrett J. Krosoczka’s graphic memoir is a prime example of a book that can help people feel less alone in situations where they think they are unique. The arc is a hopeful one, from living with a drug-addicted parent to taking the one class that sets him on the path to his life's work. He has created a powerful beacon for those who have been searching for the same kind of hope, and this graphic novel memoir reaches deep into the heart and soul and lodges itself there...continued

Full Review (614 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Rory L. Aronsky).

Media Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Starred Review. This nuanced graphic memoir portrays a whole family and tells a story of finding identity among a life's complications.

School Library Journal
Starred Review. A compelling, sometimes raw look at how addiction can affect families. A must-have, this book will empower readers, especially those who feel alone in difficult situations.

Kirkus Reviews
Starred Review. Honest, important, and timely.

Reader Reviews

MKK

Touching memoir
This memoir will give you all the feels. It is a touching story of a boy trying to find his way, under the care of his aging grandparents, as his mother fades in and out of his life. His mother is a heroin addict, and the author struggles to ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

A Short History of Graphics & Comics

In the Beyond the Book feature that accompanies the review of the graphic novel Home After Dark, there's a list of books to read – basically a graphic novel starter pack. The earliest on the list is Maus, the Holocaust-as-cats-and-mice graphic novel by Art Spiegelman, published in 1986.

A Contract with GodBut go back eight years and you'll find A Contract with God and Other Tenement Stories by Will Eisner, published in 1978. Although historian Richard Kyle coined the term in 1964, Eisner's book is widely regarded as the first full-fledged graphic novel. When it was published, Eisner said that he had "…settled on the term as an adequate euphemism" for a comic book, and that the class he taught, called Sequential Art, was what a graphic ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Hey, Kiddo, try these:

  • Educated jacket

    Educated

    by Tara Westover

    Published 2022

    About this book

    Winner of the 2018 BookBrowse Nonfiction Award

    An unforgettable memoir about a young girl who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University.

  • Shout jacket

    Shout

    by Laurie Halse Anderson

    Published 2020

    About this book

    More by this author

    A searing poetic memoir and call to action from the bestselling and award-winning author of Speak, Laurie Halse Anderson!

We have 6 read-alikes for Hey, Kiddo, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...
  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...
  • Book Jacket: The Last Bloodcarver
    The Last Bloodcarver
    by Vanessa Le
    The city-state of Theumas is a gleaming metropolis of advanced technology and innovation where the ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
A Great Country
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda
A novel exploring the ties and fractures of a close-knit Indian-American family in the aftermath of a violent encounter with the police.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The House on Biscayne Bay
    by Chanel Cleeton

    As death stalks a gothic mansion in Miami, the lives of two women intertwine as the past and present collide.

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.