Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of The Winter Soldier by Daniel Mason

The Winter Soldier

by Daniel Mason

The Winter Soldier by Daniel Mason X
The Winter Soldier by Daniel Mason
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Sep 2018, 336 pages

    Paperback:
    Sep 2019, 336 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Poornima Apte
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

By the international bestselling author of The Piano Tuner, a sweeping and unforgettable love story of a young doctor and nurse at a remote field hospital in the First World War.

Vienna, 1914. Lucius is a twenty-two-year-old medical student when World War I explodes across Europe. Enraptured by romantic tales of battlefield surgery, he enlists, expecting a position at a well-organized field hospital. But when he arrives, at a commandeered church tucked away high in a remote valley of the Carpathian Mountains, he finds a freezing outpost ravaged by typhus. The other doctors have fled, and only a single, mysterious nurse named Sister Margarete remains.

But Lucius has never lifted a surgeon's scalpel. And as the war rages across the winter landscape, he finds himself falling in love with the woman from whom he must learn a brutal, makeshift medicine. Then one day, an unconscious soldier is brought in from the snow, his uniform stuffed with strange drawings. He seems beyond rescue, until Lucius makes a fateful decision that will change the lives of doctor, patient, and nurse forever.

From the gilded ballrooms of Imperial Vienna to the frozen forests of the Eastern Front; from hardscrabble operating rooms to battlefields thundering with Cossack cavalry, The Winter Soldier is the story of war and medicine, of family, of finding love in the sweeping tides of history, and finally, of the mistakes we make, and the precious opportunities to atone.

Certain affections have an unfortunate destiny.

—André Léri, 1918, Commotions et émotions de guerre

1.

Northern Hungary,
February 1915


They were five hours east of Debrecen when the train came to a halt before the station on the empty plain.

There was no announcement, not even a whistle. Were it not for the snow-draped placard, he wouldn't have known they had arrived. Hastening, afraid he would miss the stop, he gathered his bag, his coat, his saber, pushing his way out through the men who filled the corridor of the train. He was the only passenger to descend. Farther down the line, porters unloaded a pair of crates onto the snow before jumping back on board, slapping warmth into their hands. Then the carriages began to move, chains clanking, stirring his greatcoat and swirling snow around his knees.

He found the hussar in the station house, with the horses brought in from the cold. Their ears flicked against the low ceiling, their long faces ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!
  1. The Winter Soldier is a story of World War I from the perspective of a citizen of the Austro-Hungarian Empire.  Are you familiar with other novels where WWI is portrayed from this point-of-view, and if so, which?  Does this perspective make the story feel different from those told from the Allied side, and if so, how?
  2. What surprised you about the novel? Did you learn anything new from it?
  3. Lucius was passionate about becoming a doctor, but felt the origin of his interest was a mystery.  Based on the novel's depiction of his childhood, do you have any insight as to where his fascination may have had its genesis?  Have you ever been absorbed by a career or hobby and if so, do you know where your interest arose?
  4. ...
Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

Here are some of the comments posted about The Winter Soldier.
You can see the full discussion here.


Are you familiar with other novels where WWI is portrayed from the point of view of a citizen of the Austro-Hungarian Empire? Does this perspective make the story feel different from those told from the Allied side?
No I haven't, this is my first but won't be my last. - lilliantpr

Did the intensely graphic descriptions of the hospital make it difficult for you to keep reading?
I was reviewing the responses and I started thinking about my preferred way of receiving information. It is reading it instead of listening to it. I find that I get more emotional listening to something than reading it. I do this for news items ... - scgirl

Do some professions offer greater social status, and do some who enter them do so solely for that purpose?
Some professions do offer a greater status and surely, people do enter them solely for that purpose. Hence, we have bad doctors, with very little or no empathy towards their patients, lawyers who can misrepresent their clients, etc... - lilliantpr

Do you have any insight as to where Lucius' fascination with medicine had its genesis? Have you ever been absorbed by a career or hobby and if so, do you know where your interest arose?
I think he was just better at understanding what goes on under the skin than he was at understanding people. - PiperUp

Do you think people can learn to become proficient at small-talk? Did you feel his discomfort when members of society helped or hurt him?
Yes. People can develop an ability to engage in small talk despite shyness or introversion. Just ask somebody an open ended question, show interest, and let the other person talk. I think Lucius ultimately would develop his ability to be in social ... - vivianh

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!
  • award image

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

The Winter Soldier weaves a spellbinding story, which draws you into another world from the very first page. There is so much grandeur and sweep in these pages that you might be forgiven for not wanting to turn the last page...continued

Full Review (631 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Poornima Apte).

Media Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
Mason's contribution to war literature involves almost no depiction of fighting but rather its aftermath, the tragically scarred soldiers, and the almost equally traumatized caregivers who sacrifice their health in providing medical help to the wounded.

Library Journal
[Mason's] lyrical and affecting novel about the costs of war and lost love will satisfy readers of quality fiction.

Publishers Weekly
Mason's old-fashioned novel delivers a sweeping yet intimate account of WWI, and in Lucius, the author has created an outstanding protagonist. Reminiscent of Thomas Keneally's Season in Purgatory, this novel is a fine addition to fictional testaments of doctors and nurses during wartime.

Author Blurb Andrew Sean Greer, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Less
So real, so rich and detailed, that the room in which I was reading vanished. I was transported to a lost world of the past. Suspenseful, thrilling, aching with emotion. Living with Lucius and Margarete, it was the First World War as I have never felt it.

Author Blurb Anthony Doerr, author of New York Times bestseller All the Light We Cannot See
Part mystery, part war story, part romance, The Winter Soldier is a dream of a novel - impeccably researched and totally immersive. The unsinkable Margarete is a mesmerizing character, and the book's investigation into the psychiatric toll of war on its combatants could not be more timely. This novel convinces you with every sentence.

Author Blurb Julia Glass, author of A House Among the Trees and National Book Award-winning Three Junes
In the tradition of Cold Mountain and Doctor Zhivago, Daniel Mason's new novel is a gloriously gripping story of love, war, and the marvel of human endurance. Sweeping yet intimate, brutal yet tender, it kept me up, it broke my heart, and it made me remember yet again just how a good book - a really good book - rekindles our love of life.

Reader Reviews

DMZ18

The Winter Soldier
The Winter Soldier is a beautifully nuanced novel set as World War I begins to fester within the Austro-Hungarian Empire. Daniel Mason draws the reader into Lucius Kzeleweski’s psyche, the angst, and alienation this bashful, sensitive 22 year old ...   Read More
Catherine O

Get Lost in The Winter Soldier
The Winter Soldier transports the reader back one hundred years to war torn Eastern Europe. We see events through the eyes of a young medical student being trained in Vienna who is suddenly delivered to a field hospital in the Carpathian Mountains as...   Read More
Christine Schaefer

This had everything and more
I really really loved this book. It was thoughtfully and poetically written about the difficult times in a makeshift hospital during WWI. Each couple of pages had a vignette that helped deepen the understanding of what the people went through - ...   Read More
Faseel

Story of young medical student
"The Winter Soldier" by Daniel Mason is a captivating historical novel set during World War I. Mason's vivid prose and meticulous research bring to life the harsh realities of war and the complex characters within. The story follows a young medical ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

Medicine and World War I

Makeshift hospital at a church in Bezu-le-Geury, France, June 16, 1918The Winter Soldier shines light on the desperate measures taken to save lives during a war that produced casualties in the millions. When Lucius Krzelewski arrives in the small Eastern European village of Lemnowice, Sister Margarete informs him that she has lost many soldiers to typhus (typhoid fever) and that chronic infections of lice had driven many literally insane. Medical supplies are limited to sutures and a few antiseptics, which have to be periodically supplied to the remote field unit.

Given that the use of advanced weapons of killing such as machine guns and artillery increased dramatically during WWI, the types of wounds that soldiers suffered were correspondingly catastrophic. Prior to WWI, the best hope for wounded ...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Winter Soldier, try these:

  • In Memoriam jacket

    In Memoriam

    by Alice Winn

    Published 2024

    About this book

    Winner: BookBrowse Debut Book Award 2023

    A haunting, virtuosic debut novel about two young men who fall in love during World War I.

  • The Facemaker jacket

    The Facemaker

    by Lindsey Fitzharris

    Published 2023

    About this book

    More by this author

    Lindsey Fitzharris, the award-winning author of The Butchering Art, presents the compelling, true story of a visionary surgeon who rebuilt the faces of the First World War's injured heroes, and in the process ushered in the modern era of plastic surgery.

We have 10 read-alikes for The Winter Soldier, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Daniel Mason
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Sicilian Inheritance
    The Sicilian Inheritance
    by Jo Piazza
    Sara Marsala is going through a rough patch, to say the least. In the process of divorcing from her ...
  • Book Jacket: The Light Eaters
    The Light Eaters
    by Zoë Schlanger
    The human race is completely dependent on plants. Many people, however, give little thought to ...
  • Book Jacket: Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    Joy Is the Justice We Give Ourselves
    by J Drew Lanham
    As a recipient of the MacArthur "Genius" Grant, and a Professor of Wildlife Ecology and Master ...
  • Book Jacket: Glorious Exploits
    Glorious Exploits
    by Ferdia Lennon
    Lampo and Gelon are two unemployed potters in their thirties whose lives are spent between their ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Only the Beautiful
by Susan Meissner
A heartrending story about a young mother’s fight to keep her daughter, and the terrible injustice that tears them apart.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Daughters of Shandong
    by Eve J. Chung

    Eve J. Chung's debut novel recounts a family's flight to Taiwan during China's Communist revolution.

  • Book Jacket

    This Strange Eventful History
    by Claire Messud

    An immersive, masterful story of a family born on the wrong side of history.

Win This Book
Win Only the Brave

Only the Brave by Danielle Steel

A powerful, sweeping historical novel about a courageous woman in World War II Germany.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

F T a T

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.