We are proud to announce that BookBrowse has won Platinum in the 2024 Modern Library Awards.

Reviews of The Magnificent Esme Wells by Adrienne Sharp

The Magnificent Esme Wells

by Adrienne Sharp

The Magnificent Esme Wells by Adrienne Sharp X
The Magnificent Esme Wells by Adrienne Sharp
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2018, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2019, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Grace Symes
Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

From the nationally bestselling author of The True Memoirs of Little K, a deeply felt and historically detailed novel of family, loss, and love, told by an irrepressible young girl - the daughter of a two-bit gangster and a movie showgirl - growing up in golden-age Hollywood and Las Vegas in its early days.

Esme Silver has always taken care of her charming ne'er-do-well father, Ike Silver, a small-time crook with dreams of making it big with Bugsy Siegel. Devoted to her daddy, Esme is often his "date" at the racetrack, where she amiably fetches the hot dogs while keeping an eye to the ground for any cast-off tickets that may be winners.

In awe of her mother, Dina Wells, Esme is more than happy to be the foil who gets the beautiful Dina into meetings and screen tests with some of Hollywood's greats. When Ike gets an opportunity to move to Vegas - and, in what could at last be his big break, to help the man she knows as "Benny" open the Flamingo Hotel - life takes an unexpected turn for Esme. A stunner like her mother, the young girl catches the attention of Nate Stein, one of the Strip's most powerful men.

Narrated by the twenty-year-old Esme, The Magnificent Esme Wells moves between pre–WWII Hollywood and postwar Las Vegas - a golden age when Jewish gangsters and movie moguls were often indistinguishable in looks and behavior. Esme's voice - sharp, observant, and with a quiet, mordant wit - chronicles the rise and fall and further fall of her complicated parents, as well as her own painful reckoning with love and life. A coming-of-age story with a tinge of noir, and a tale that illuminates the promise and perils of the American dream and its dreamers, The Magnificent Esme Wells is immersive, moving, and compelling.

Las Vegas
1945
1

MY FATHER AND I first drove out to Vegas with Benny Siegel in late summer, 1945, all three of us covered with fine brown sand by the time we got there. We shook it from our clothes and our hair and swept it from the seats, the floor, even the dashboard of Mr. Siegel's little red coupe convertible. And when we were done sweeping, Mr. Siegel offered me his hand with his manicured nails to help me out of the cramped little backseat where no one but a child could possibly fit, his face jubilant and eager, as if he were about to show us some great prize. I jumped from the car, all excited, only to gaze with my father and Benny at the blank acres that held the ruins of some old motel where the Flamingo Club and hotel would soon be built.

That was the prize. The unformed future.

The landscape was otherwise empty, except for the carcass of a prairie dog, a collapsed bundle of dull fur and bones. I looked around for something else to focus on and when I found it, I ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!
  1. What particular version of the American Dream is suggested by young Hollywood or Las Vegas?
  2. What's relevant and important about the historic time in which the novel is set?
  3. Consider Esme's parents, Ike Silver and Dina Wells. What is each of them like? What's the nature of their relationship? What draws them to or repels them from each other?
  4. In what ways are Ike and Dina good parents or not? How does the world they create for Esme affect her as she grows up? What are Esme's biggest challenges as a girl?
  5. At 16, Esme realizes that "the transition from girlhood to womanhood turned on a pivot. One day you were a child and then, all at once, you weren't." What was the determining moment for her? In what ways is ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

The Magnificent Esme Wells is a twisted take on the American dream, laying bare Esme's struggle to achieve her dream without losing her innocence along the way. Written in a straightforward, earnest style this novel for adults will also be accessible to teen audiences. It gives us a close-up view of a driven and ambitious girl finding her own way in the world, and discovering what she wants and just how much she is willing to give up to get it...continued

Full Review (687 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Grace Symes).

Media Reviews

Booklist
Starred Review. With real-life figures, mushroom clouds rising from desert test sites, and arresting insights into the power and vulnerability of a daring woman performer, Sharp's novel, like Jennifer Egan's Manhattan Beach, is propulsive and profound.

Kirkus Reviews
Starred Review. This glittering noirish tragedy, with its lushly imagined period landscape and subtle feminist trajectory, is both fun to read and sad to think about.

Publishers Weekly
Sharp's narrative is a bold and gritty portrayal of unreachable dreams, anchored by its notable depiction of Esme.

Author Blurb Ann Hood, author of The Book That Matters Most and The Knitting Circle

Consider it your good luck to join Esme Wells as she comes of age with the glamour, gangsters, and big dreams of Hollywood and Las Vegas of the 30s and 40s. Like its narrator, this novel is magnificent.

Author Blurb Ayelet Waldman, author of Love and Treasure
This lovely novel, alternately dark and funny, is a powerful examination of both the nature of love and the will to survive.

Author Blurb Caroline Leavitt, New York Times bestselling author of Pictures of You and Cruel Beautiful World
Violent and voluptuous; heartbreaking and profound, The Magnificent Esme Wells is about the losses we endure, and the love we keep betting on, despite the odds. Truly, a showstopper.

Author Blurb Janet Fitch, New York Times bestselling author of White Oleander
Adrienne Sharp brilliantly recreates the tawdry magic of twin dream machines, studio-era Hollywood and early Las Vegas, in this tale of ... the scrappy, precocious Esme Wells, her go-for-broke parents, and the toll these dreams took on their dreamers.

Author Blurb Jennifer Gilmore, New York Timesbestselling author of Golden Country and The Mothers
Adrienne Sharp sure can WRITE! And her newest novel, The Magnificent Esme Wells, does all the best things: it transports, amuses, delights and heartbreaks. What a gem of a book.

Author Blurb Rosellen Brown, author of Before and After

How Esme keeps her head, if not her innocence, among these fast-living, fast-dying Vegas and Hollywood stars makes Adrienne Sharp's novel fascinating and rich with secrets she tells with wit and gusto.

Reader Reviews

Veronica Earley

MEMORIES
This story brought up a lot of memories for me. The story of Vegas was a part of my growing up in the 1950's. It was always such a wonder, exciting place to go on vacation. The story really tells it like it was.

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book

The Flamingo Hotel

The Flamingo Hotel, opened by Bugsy Siegel in 1946, where Esme spends her teenage years, was the third gambling establishment to open on the Strip. It is now Las Vegas' oldest hotel.

The Flamingo HotelThe hotel had been the brainchild of Billy Wilkerson, who envisioned a European-style hotel and casino, a far cry from the rustic, western-themed establishments that were already present in Vegas. After running into budget problems, Wilkerson accepted one million dollars from a group of New York gangsters headed by Meyer Lansky, and granted them control over two-thirds of the casino.

At this point, Lansky appointed Benjamin "Bugsy" Siegel to run the hotel for him and to make him a profit. So Siegel began supervising the construction of the casino.

...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Magnificent Esme Wells, try these:

  • The World of Tomorrow jacket

    The World of Tomorrow

    by Brendan Mathews

    Published 2018

    About this book

    Three brothers caught up in a whirlwind week of love, blackmail, and betrayal culminating in an assassination plot, set in prewar New York.

  • Pachinko jacket

    Pachinko

    by Min Jin Lee

    Published 2017

    About this book

    More by this author

    A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of The Kite Runner and Cutting for Stone.

We have 6 read-alikes for The Magnificent Esme Wells, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
More books by Adrienne Sharp
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: The Ascent
    The Ascent
    by Adam Plantinga
    Adam Plantinga's brilliant debut novel, The Ascent, introduces readers to former Detroit police ...
  • Book Jacket: The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    The Curse of Pietro Houdini
    by Derek B. Miller
    Derek B. Miller's sixth novel, The Curse of Pietro Houdini, opens in the town of Cassino, Italy, in ...
  • Book Jacket: Our Moon
    Our Moon
    by Rebecca Boyle
    In Our Moon: How Earth's Celestial Companion Transformed the Planet, Guided Evolution, and Made Us ...
  • Book Jacket: Neighbors and Other Stories
    Neighbors and Other Stories
    by Diane Oliver
    The history of American segregation, along with changes to it in the 1960s, is sometimes taught and ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Mockingbird Summer
by Lynda Rutledge
A powerful and emotional coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s by the bestselling author of West with Giraffes.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Strong Passions
    by Barbara Weisberg

    Shocking revelations of a wife's adultery in 19th New York explode in an incendiary trial exposing the upper-crust and its secrets.

  • Book Jacket

    Leaving
    by Roxana Robinson

    An engrossing exploration of the vows we make to one another and what we owe to others and ourselves.

Win This Book
Win The Cleaner

The Cleaner
by Brandi Wells

Rarely has cubicle culture been depicted in such griminess or with such glee."
PW (starred review)

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

I Wouldn't T H W A T-F P

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.