Summary and book reviews of Victoria by Daisy Goodwin

Victoria

by Daisy Goodwin

Victoria by Daisy Goodwin
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Nov 2016, 352 pages
    Paperback:
    Sep 2017, 416 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

Drawing on Queen Victoria's diaries, which she first started reading when she was a student at Cambridge University, Daisy Goodwin—creator and writer of the new PBS/Masterpiece drama Victoria and author of the bestselling novels The American Heiress and The Fortune Hunter—brings the young nineteenth-century monarch, who would go on to reign for 63 years, richly to life in this magnificent novel.

Early one morning, less than a month after her eighteenth birthday, Alexandrina Victoria is roused from bed with the news that her uncle William IV has died and she is now Queen of England. The men who run the country have doubts about whether this sheltered young woman, who stands less than five feet tall, can rule the greatest nation in the world.

Despite her age, however, the young queen is no puppet. She has very definite ideas about the kind of queen she wants to be, and the first thing is to choose her name.

"I do not like the name Alexandrina," she proclaims. "From now on I wish to be known only by my second name, Victoria."

Next, people say she must choose a husband. Everyone keeps telling her she's destined to marry her first cousin, Prince Albert, but Victoria found him dull and priggish when they met three years ago. She is quite happy being queen with the help of her prime minister, Lord Melbourne, who may be old enough to be her father but is the first person to take her seriously.

On June 19th, 1837, she was a teenager. On June 20th, 1837, she was a queen. Daisy Goodwin's impeccably researched and vividly imagined new book brings readers Queen Victoria as they have never seen her before.

CHAPTER ONE

Kensington Palace, June 20th, 1837

When she opened her eyes, Victoria saw a faint sliver of light coming through the shutters. She could hear her mother breathing in the big bed on the other side of the room. But not for much longer. Soon, Victoria thought, she would have her own bedroom. Soon she would be able to walk down the stairs without holding Lehzen's hand; soon she would be able to do whatever she pleased. She had celebrated her eighteenth birthday last month, so when the moment came, she would reign alone.

Dash lifted his head and then Victoria heard her governess's quick footsteps. If Lehzen was coming now, it could only mean one thing. She got out of bed and went to the door, opening it just as Lehzen was putting out her hand to knock. The Baroness looked so comical standing there with her hand outstretched that Victoria started to giggle, but checked herself as she saw the expression on her governess's face.

"The messenger from Windsor is ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!
  1. Daisy Goodwin was inspired to tell this story by Queen Victoria's diaries. "How handsome Albert looks in his white cashmere breeches," the young queen wrote in 1839. Daisy suddenly found herself imagining what it would be like if her own teenage daughter became the most powerful woman in the world overnight. How does Victoria handle her rise to power at the age of eighteen? How do you think you might have handled it?
  2. In what ways does Victoria come across a "typical" teenager and/or as a powerful sovereign?
  3. How does Victoria's sheltered upbringing at Kensington Palace influence her ultimate ability to rule her country?
  4. Why do you think one of the young queen's first acts is to reject her given name of Alexandrina ...
Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

Some of the recent comments posted about Victoria. Join the discussion! You can see the full discussion here.

Are there any modern-day world leaders you would compare to the young Victoria?
Queen Elizabeth when she first became Queen. I think Churchill probably helped her in her new role. She was better educated for the role then Victoria. I think Edward's rebellion made Elizabeth react the opposite way. Seeing the harm her rebel Uncle ... - karenrn

How did Victoria's sheltered upbringing at Kensington Palace influence her ultimate ability to rule her country?
I do believe her upbringing made her ready to accept the life of Royalty, and she had the basics of what it meant to be Queen. She was being groomed by her mother and Conroy. The average person off the street would have no idea of courtly manners and... - paml

How do you feel about Lord Melbourne? What might Victoria's life have been like if she had chosen him over Albert?
I liked Lord M very much. He was true to himself, to his country and to his monarch. He gave Victoria support and knowledge when she needed it most. Without him, she may not have developed into the successful monarch that she became. - dorinned

How do you see the role of women in general – and Queen Victoria in particular – in the course of the novel?
I am sure there was much more to Victoria becoming queen and being able to hold her own than this novel suggests. I believe as a woman she did not receive the education she may have needed to fill her role as a man would have, but that she was ... - Navy Mom

How does Victoria handle her rise to power at the age of eighteen? How do you think you might have handled it? If you have children of your own, how do you think they would have handled that kind of power?
Having a royal heritage undoubtedly was instrumental in Victoria's ability to assume the power of the throne at her young age. By the same token, a U.S. teen would be completely unsuited to such a role, with no knowledge of the "rules of conduct" ... - dorinned

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Stylist (UK)

[Victoria] will sweep you away. It sumptuously brings to life the tale of Victoria's ascension to the throne, her battles with her mother and her relationship with her Prime Minister, Lord Melbourne. I loved the detail in this novel, and tore through it.

People

[An] irresistible love story…Fans of Downton, The Crown, etc., will want to dive right in.

Real Simple

Best New Books to Read This Month. Fans of character-driven storylines will relish witnessing Victoria's transition from immaturity to adulthood.

Publishers Weekly

Irresistible...[A] rich and passionate historical novel.

Booklist

Highly recommended...Bestselling Goodwin always draws in fans.

The Sunday TImes (UK)

Goodwin demonstrates her admirable ability to fuse wide-ranging knowledge of the period with lively storytelling skills.

The Sunday Mirror (UK)

A hit…The research is impeccable, the attention to detail—from protocol to petticoats—perfect, and it brings the formidable figure of Victoria to sparkling life.

Author Blurb Amanda Foreman
Victoria is an absolutely captivating novel of youth, love, and the often painful transition from immaturity to adulthood. Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit

Reader Reviews

Tiffany April Griffin

History of Queen Victoria
If you love history, you have to read this book. If you think this historical era is not your cup of tea, also try this novel. We meet a young lady who is not stucked up. We meet a lady with a heart of courage and fortitude. The author, Daisy ...   Read More

Emily

A Different Perspective
Everything I have previously read about about Queen Victoria had to do with her later years as a Mother, Wife, and grieving Widow. This book, dealing with her childhood years and her years immediately following her Coronation, gave me a much ...   Read More

Kathy B. (St. Louis Park, MN)

I Love Victoria
This Is a very moving story about young girl who becomes Queen of England at the age of 18. The queen soon faces the trial of public disapproval. She is expected to marry her cousin Prince Albert who she finds very dull. However, she enjoys the ...   Read More

Katherine J. (calumet park, IL)

SURPRISINGLY ......
When I first started reading this book,I thought it was going to be about the political side of becoming a queen, but it was mostly a coming of age book....AND I REALLY ENJOYED IT! I loved how even though Victoria was a queen she was still this ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Victoria, try these:

  • Longbourn jacket

    Longbourn

    by Jo Baker

    Published 2014

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    Pride and Prejudice was only half the story. Jo Baker dares to take us beyond the drawing rooms of Jane Austen's classic and creates a vivid, fascinating, fully realized world that is wholly her own.

  • Habits of the House jacket

    Habits of the House

    by Fay Weldon

    Published 2013

    More about this book

    Read Reviews

    From the award-winning novelist and writer of Upstairs Downstairs, the launch of a brilliant new trilogy about what life was really like for masters and servants before the world of Downton Abbey.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member


Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

One-Month Free Membership

Discover your next great read here

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Rules of Magic
    The Rules of Magic
    by Alice Hoffman
    Alice Hoffman's Rules of Magic is the long-awaited prequel to one of her most cherished novels,...
  • Book Jacket: Good Me Bad Me
    Good Me Bad Me
    by Ali Land
    Is a psychopath born or made? This is the terrifying question that author Ali Land explores in her ...
  • Book Jacket: Five-Carat Soul
    Five-Carat Soul
    by James McBride
    In the short story "Sonny's Blues," from the 1965 collection Going to Meet the Man, African-...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
Being Mortal by Atul Gawande

An eye-opening and riveting look at how how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Never Coming Back
    by Alison McGhee

    A moving exploration of growing up and growing old, and the ties that bind parents and children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Wisdom of Sundays

The Wisdom of Sundays
by Oprah Winfrey

Life-changing insights from super soul conversations.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

A Good M I H T F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.