Join BookBrowse today and get access to free books, our twice monthly digital magazine, and more.

Reviews of The Dry Grass of August by Anna Jean Mayhew

The Dry Grass of August

by Anna Jean Mayhew

The Dry Grass of August by Anna Jean Mayhew X
The Dry Grass of August by Anna Jean Mayhew
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 2011, 352 pages

    Paperback:
    Apr 2011, 352 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

In this beautifully written debut, Anna Jean Mayhew offers a riveting depiction of Southern life in the throes of segregation and what it will mean for a young girl on her way to adulthood and for the woman who means the world to her.

On a scorching day in August 1954, thirteen-year-old Jubie Watts leaves Charlotte, North Carolina, with her family for a Florida vacation. Crammed into the Packard along with Jubie are her three siblings, her mother, and the family's black maid, Mary Luther. For as long as Jubie can remember, Mary has been there cooking, cleaning, compensating for her father's rages and her mother's benign neglect, and loving Jubie unconditionally.

Bright and curious, Jubie takes note of the anti-integration signs they pass and of the racial tension that builds as they journey further south. But she could never have predicted the shocking turn their trip will take. Now, in the wake of tragedy, Jubie must confront her parents failings and limitations, decide where her own convictions lie, and make the tumultuous leap to independence.

Infused with the intensity of a changing time, here is a story of hope, heartbreak, and the love and courage that can transform us from child to adult, wounded to indomitable.

Paperback original.

Excerpt
The Dry Grass of August

In August of 1954, we took our first trip without Daddy, and Stell got to use the driver's license she'd had such a fit about. It was just a little card saying she was Estelle Annette Watts, that she was white, with hazel eyes and brown hair. But her having a license made that trip different from any others, because if she hadn't had it, we never would have been stuck in Sally's Motel Park in Claxton, Georgia, where we went to buy fruitcakes and had a wreck instead. And Mary would still be with us.

Stell and I carried the last of the suitcases to the driveway. The sky was a wide far blue above the willow oaks that line Queens Road West, with no promise of rain to break the heat. I put Mary's flowered cloth bag in the trunk and Daddy took it out. "Always start with the biggest piece." He picked up Mama's Pullman and grunted. "She packed like she's never coming back." He hefted it into the trunk. "Okay, girls, what's ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!
  1. What do you think about Paula's decision to take Mary on the trip, given the antipathy in the deep south post Brown v. Board?
  2. Why does Puddin so often try to hide or run away? What does her behavior say about the family?
  3. Why didn't Paula try to stop Bill from beating Jubie?
  4. Is Uncle Taylor a racist?
  5. Why did the clown at Joyland by the Sea give Jubie a rose?
  6. If you'd been Paula (or Bill) what would you have done when Cordelia failed to appear for dinner? How could they have handled that differently?
  7. Why does Paula take Bill back after his affair with her brother's wife?
  8. Did Bill and Paula act responsibly as parents when they allowed Jubie and Stell to go with Mary to the Daddy Grace parade in Charlotte?...
Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

Here are some of the comments posted about The Dry Grass of August.
You can see the full discussion here.


Anna Jean Mayhew Answers Questions About The Dry Grass of August
Hi, Dave, I've had a positive response from the majority of readers, especially Southerners. The book was an Okra Pick from the Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance; I've been invited to speak at the Southern Voices conference in February, ... - Carolina

Do you agree or disagree with Paula's decision to stay with Bill as long as she does?
I think the comments by many of you are right on -- that divorce in the South in the 50's was not something that was done lightly. Plus the fact that the character Paula was not a strong person - dave s

Do you think Jubie's parents are racist?
I think probably both Bill and Paula were raised as products of their environment where whites thought themselves to be completely superior to blacks. I think as Paula may have had more personal interactions with Mary and others, she could see the ... - sylviaj

Do you think Paula makes the right decision to take Mary on the trip?
I really agree with the gist of most of the responses to this question. I don't think Paula thought about the inherent dangers of such a trip. Even when her sister-in-law mentioned that the Klan had become active (on page 3, I think), Paula pooh-... - Carolina

Do you think Stell is partially responsible for Mary's death?
I do think that Stell is partially responsible but at 16 I don't believe that she understood the possible remifications of their actions. After all, she had Paula as her role model! Had Paula been more sensitive or less selfish, Mary wouldn't have ... - Terry R

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Woman's World
A must-read for fans of The Help.

Booklist
Because the novel is totally true to Jubie's point of view, it generates gripping drama as we watch her reach beyond authority to question law and order.

Publishers Weekly
Mayhew keeps the story taut, thoughtful, and complex, elevating it from the throng of coming-of-age books.

Author Blurb Angela Davis-Gardner, author of Butterfly's Child
A beautifully written and important novel. Set in the 1950s South, it deals with race relations in an original, powerful way. It's also a great story about complicated family relationships, told with humor, delicacy, and penetrating insight. I wish I had written this book.

Author Blurb Karen White, New York Times bestselling author
A beautiful book that fans of The Help will enjoy.

Author Blurb Lee Smith, author of Last Girls and Fair and Tender Ladies
Written with unusual charm, wonderful dialogue, and a deeply felt sense of time and place, The Dry Grass of August is a book for adults and young people both a beautifully written literary novel that is a real page-turner, I have to add. Fast, suspenseful, and meaningful. I read this book straight through.

Reader Reviews

Milagros Vargas Neu

An Eye Opener
When I started reading “ The Dry Grass Of August “ I was taken aback from how it touched me emotionally. This is when I knew that this book was going to be incredible. The writer uses vivid descriptions and words to capture the essence of how racism ...   Read More
Cathryn Conroy

Unputdownable! A Riveting Snapshot in Time of August 1954 on the Cusp of the Civil Rights Movement
There is only one way to describe this book: Unputdownable. As in, once you start reading, you really will not be able to stop. Written by Anna Jean Mayhew, this is a snapshot of August 1954 in the deep South, three months after the Supreme Court...   Read More
Darlene Mour

The Dry Grass of August
This book is very relevant to my growing up in the 50's. Most of our families could not afford maids or servants, but living in a town where negros had to be off the streets at night . Anna Mayhew artfully mades the characters come alive. Jubie's ...   Read More
Karenr

A gem!
Other readers compared this to the Help so I crossed my fingers that it could meet my expectations as I dove into reading it. It absolutely did and was engaging through the last page. I felt I was right there along side and sharing the emotions of ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked The Dry Grass of August, try these:

  • Ginny Gall jacket

    Ginny Gall

    by Charlie Smith

    Published 2017

    About this book

    A sweeping, eerily resonant epic of race and violence in the Jim Crow South: a lyrical and emotionally devastating masterpiece from Charlie Smith, whom the New York Public Library has said "may be America's most bewitching stylist alive."

  • The Twelve Tribes of Hattie jacket

    The Twelve Tribes of Hattie

    by Ayana Mathis

    Published 2013

    About this book

    More by this author

    A debut of extraordinary distinction: through the trials of one unforgettable family, Ayana Mathis tells the story of the children of the Great Migration, a story of love and bitterness and the promise of a new America.

We have 6 read-alikes for The Dry Grass of August, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Join our inner reading circle, go ad-free and get way more!

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Clear
    Clear
    by Carys Davies
    John Ferguson is a principled man. But when, in 1843, those principles drive him to break from the ...
  • Book Jacket: Change
    Change
    by Edouard Louis
    Édouard Louis's 2014 debut novel, The End of Eddy—an instant literary success, published ...
  • Book Jacket: Big Time
    Big Time
    by Ben H. Winters
    Big Time, the latest offering from prolific novelist and screenwriter Ben H. Winters, is as ...
  • Book Jacket: Becoming Madam Secretary
    Becoming Madam Secretary
    by Stephanie Dray
    Our First Impressions reviewers enjoyed reading about Frances Perkins, Franklin Delano Roosevelt's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
Half a Cup of Sand and Sky
by Nadine Bjursten
A poignant portrayal of a woman's quest for love and belonging amid political turmoil.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Stone Home
    by Crystal Hana Kim

    A moving family drama and coming-of-age story revealing a dark corner of South Korean history.

  • Book Jacket

    The Flower Sisters
    by Michelle Collins Anderson

    From the new Fannie Flagg of the Ozarks, a richly-woven story of family, forgiveness, and reinvention.

Win This Book
Win The Funeral Cryer

The Funeral Cryer by Wenyan Lu

Debut novelist Wenyan Lu brings us this witty yet profound story about one woman's midlife reawakening in contemporary rural China.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

M as A H

and be entered to win..

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.