BookBrowse has a new look! Learn more about the update here.

Reviews of Take Me Home by Brian Leung

Take Me Home by Brian Leung

Take Me Home

by Brian Leung
  • BookBrowse Review:
  • Critics' Consensus:
  • Readers' Rating:
  • First Published:
  • Oct 1, 2010
  • Paperback:
  • Nov 2011
  • Rate this book

  • Buy This Book

About This Book

Book Summary

Take Me Home is a powerful story about friendship and love set against the stunning backdrop of 1880s Wyoming and based in the pages of history.

Like many classic stories, Brian Leung's novel begins with a journey home. Adele "Addie" Maine is returning to Dire, a Wyoming coal-mining town, forty years after the deadly events that nearly took her life and drove her away without a word to her husband.

Years earlier: Headed West to stay with her brother Tommy, a young and feisty Addie arrives in Wyoming having been convinced along the way that the Chinese who work alongside the white men in the small Wyoming town are half-man, half-beast - devious creatures to be wary of. When Tommy falters at homesteading, the siblings look to the coal mines and Addie comes into close contact with one Chinese man in particular, Wing Lee. The bond between the two is a mere spark at first, hampered by the reality for both that a friendship would be impossible, forbidden, even in a territory where almost everyone is an immigrant.

Together, Addie and Wing harbor a secret. Ultimately Addie must protect Wing's life and fight for what she knows is right, but she still can't find the answers to life's most important questions. It's only as a much older woman, returning to Dire to bid farewell to a friend from decades ago, that Addie comes face-to-face with the man she's certain tried to kill her, and at last confronts the surprises and losses that await at the end of a difficult journey.

Take Me Home is a searing, redemptive novel that explores justice in a time of violence, and the sweeping landscape between friendship and love.

Excerpt
Take Me Home

It was mid-afternoon when Addie finally got on the train going to Rock Springs. The bright, cloudless sky was comforting as an embrace. Addie gripped her cloth sack and leaned against the window. Cheyenne was a surprisingly orderly city, built on a grid that lipped right up to the train tracks, but the precision made her nervous, made her feel hemmed in. It was certainly a change from what she'd seen coming into Cheyenne. Wyoming Territory, the expanse of it all, gave her a grand new feeling, as if all her life she'd been living in a crate and someone came along, ripped off the top, and let all four sides drop away. It seemed as if a person, even a woman, could stand and walk off in any direction they chose. Where else could she think such a thing? The land didn't give you much to work with, it was true, but on the other hand it looked so swept clean that not much was bound to get in your way. And the thing about heading out for fresh places, she ...

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!
  1. The concept of "home" appears often in this story - the home that Tommy builds, Wing being in foreign territory, and Addie being uncertain "whether folks came to Wyoming Territory to live or to die." How do you think "home" evolves for Addie and Wing as the novel progresses? Which character does the title speak to?
  2. Addie and Wing have a deep bond, almost from the first moment they meet. List the reasons why the two are drawn to each other and why Addie comes to trust Wing more than anyone, "except maybe Tommy."
  3. On page 154, Wing claims, "One language is never enough." Do you agree? Describe times in your life when you've also felt that words weren't enough to ...
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Reviews

BookBrowse Review

BookBrowse

Brian Leung's haunting, lyrical love story is a powerful parable about how someone's personal history can be superseded by the creative machinations of those involved in writing history... In the end, it seems that Leung is reminding us that the stories - both personal and national - that endure are not necessarily the whole truth but simply a version of the storyteller's truth...continued

Full Review (532 words)

This review is available to non-members for a limited time. For full access, become a member today.

(Reviewed by Donna Chavez).

Media Reviews

Louisville Courier Journal
A sweeping, action-packed novel.

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
Every now and then, a small, quiet, well-crafted novel is just what the doctor ordered... Take Me Home by Brian Leung fits the bill.

Kirkus Reviews
Starred Review. An engaging and beguiling novel about prejudice, relationships and the possibilities of redemption.

Publishers Weekly
[A] lyrical sophomore novel... Evocative... Leung's subtle, perceptive saga closes on notes both touching and patriotic.

Author Blurb Nami Mun, author of Miles from Nowhere
Take Me Home is very much about humanity - very much about our need to love, no matter how forbidden. Lovers of history and heroines will want to devour this book.

Author Blurb Percival Everett, author of Wounded and I Am Not Sidney Poitie
Take Me Home is beautiful. The language of Brian Leung's novel is poetic and surprising and yet still manages to capture the coarseness, the beardedness of Rock Springs, Wyoming. It's a smart book that offers an important window into the West and therefore the American story.

Reader Reviews

Sandra H.

Take Me Home by Brian Leung
Take Me Home is a historical novel about the clash between Chinese workers brought in by the Union Pacific to work in coal mines in Wyoming and the white workers who become convinced they are taking jobs from them and eventually rise up to run out ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Beyond the Book



Chinese Immigration to the USA

During much of the second half of the 19th century, the Union Pacific Railroad (UP) was able to maintain a monopoly on coal production because it controlled the only means of transportation into the Western territories. Thus it owned and operated all the coalmines, fixed coal prices to its own benefit and was able to establish its own standards - or lack of - for employee treatment and compensation. In 1875, UP cut the piecework rate paid to miners by one-fifth but made no corresponding reduction in prices charged at the Company stores. When the miners went on strike, UP responded by practicing a kind of reverse outsourcing, replacing striking laborers with recently immigrated Chinese laborers who accepted the lower pay.

...

This "beyond the book" feature is available to non-members for a limited time. Join today for full access.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Read-Alikes

Read-Alikes Full readalike results are for members only

If you liked Take Me Home, try these:

  • Four Treasures of the Sky jacket

    Four Treasures of the Sky

    by Jenny Tinghui Zhang

    Published 2022

    About this book

    A propulsive and dazzling debut novel set against the backdrop of the Chinese Exclusion Act, about a Chinese girl fighting to claim her place in the 1880s American West.

  • Red Sky in Morning jacket

    Red Sky in Morning

    by Paul Lynch

    Published 2014

    About this book

    More by this author

    Language and landscape combine powerfully in this tense exploration of life and death, parts of which are based on historical events. A visceral and meditative novel that marks the debut of a stunning new talent.

We have 7 read-alikes for Take Me Home, but non-members are limited to two results. To see the complete list of this book's read-alikes, you need to be a member.
Search read-alikes
How we choose read-alikes
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $45 for 12 months or $15 for 3 months.
  • More about membership!

Become a Member

Join BookBrowse today to start
discovering exceptional books!
Find Out More

Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: Bury Your Gays
    Bury Your Gays
    by Chuck Tingle
    Chuck Tingle, for those who don't know, is the pseudonym of an eccentric writer best known for his ...
  • Book Jacket: Blue Ruin
    Blue Ruin
    by Hari Kunzru
    Like Red Pill and White Tears, the first two novels in Hari Kunzru's loosely connected Three-...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman and a Thief
    A Gentleman and a Thief
    by Dean Jobb
    In the Roaring Twenties—an era known for its flash and glamour as well as its gangsters and ...
  • Book Jacket: Early Sobrieties
    Early Sobrieties
    by Michael Deagler
    Dennis Monk is sober now, and he expects some applause. Or at least some recognition that he's ...

BookBrowse Book Club

Book Jacket
The 1619 Project
by Nikole Hannah-Jones
An impactful expansion of groundbreaking journalism, The 1619 Project offers a revealing vision of America's past and present.
Book Jacket
Lady Tan's Circle of Women
by Lisa See
Lisa See's latest historical novel, inspired by the true story of a woman physician from 15th-century China.

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Very Long, Very Strange Life of Isaac Dahl
    by Bart Yates

    A saga spanning 12 significant days across nearly 100 years in the life of a single man.

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

L T C O of the B

and be entered to win..

Win This Book
Win Smothermoss

Smothermoss by Alisa Alering

A haunting, imaginative, and twisting tale of two sisters and the menacing, unexplained forces that threaten them and their rural mountain community.

Enter