Summary and book reviews of The 9 Steps to Financial Freedom by Suze Orman

The 9 Steps to Financial Freedom

by Suze Orman

The 9 Steps to Financial Freedom by Suze Orman X
The 9 Steps to Financial Freedom by Suze Orman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • First Published:
    Apr 1997, 285 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2000, 288 pages

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Book Summary

The first personal finance book that gives us not only the knowledge of how to handle money, but also the power to break through the barriers that hold us back.

Managing money is far more than a matter of balancing our checkbooks or picking investments--witness the fact that many of us know what we ought to be doing with our money yet often just don't do it. This is the first personal finance book that gives us not only the knowledge of how to handle money, but also the power to break through the barriers that hold us back.

Suze Orman, certified financial planner and best-selling author of You've Earned It, Don 't Lose it, goes beyond the nuts and bolts of managing money to explore the psychological, even spiritual, power money has in our lives. Before we can get control of our finances, we must get control of our attitudes about money, feelings that were shaped by our earliest experiences with it. Letting go of these anxieties and creating new attitudes are the first steps of Suze Orman's program.

Next comes mastering the practical elements of financial life: investments, credit, insurance, and estate and retirement planning. This book tells you everything you need to know to provide for your-self and your family--not abstract principles but specific, concrete, and easy-to-follow procedures. Here you will also find the latest tax code revisions regarding estate taxes, inheritance, and individual retirement allowances (IRAs), including vital information on the new Roth IRA and educational IRAs and how to make them work best for you. You'll also learn why you should trust your own instincts more than someone else's advice in making any financial decision.

Finally come the most unusual--and powerful--steps: understanding the spiritual side of money. As Suze Orman explains, financial freedom is about realizing that we are worth far more than our money. Her program concludes by showing how to leave behind financial anxieties and open ourselves to true abundance--not only of the pocketbook but also of the heart.

What Do You Want from Your Money?

What do you want from your money? College tuition for your kids? A bigger house and a new car? Security when you retire? Wouldn't it be great simply to have enough money so you don't have to worry?

The "enough money" part of that equation is easy. By the time you finish this book you will understand everything you need to know about managing and protecting your money and making it grow. The "so you don't have to worry" part is much more complex. It actually has nothing to do with how much money you have or how little. You can balance your checkbook until you're blue in the face, you can move money every day between your mutual funds, you can double your life insurance, you can buy lottery tickets--and none of it will do you any good until you get beyond the worry and fear. The fear of money, the fear of not having enough, the fear of having enough, the fear of taking action, the fear of inaction.

There isn't a part of ...

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Reviews

Media Reviews

Library Journal
In her latest work, she analyzes the psychological and spiritual factors involved in how we perceive money. Her definition of financial freedom is "when you have power over your fears and anxieties instead of the other way around." Through case studies, Orman illustrates the psychological importance of money and its effect on our lives. She offers practical guidelines for investing, preparing a budget, purchasing a home, getting out of debt, and writing a will. A helpful financial worksheet is included. Orman's insightful guide is highly recommended to public libraries.

Business Week Magazine - Robert Barker
Nestled inside [Orman's] cocoon of human-potential bunk are fine chapters on estates, trusts, and insurance---the three deadliest topics on earth - which she handles deftly. The book's single-best section, How To Be a Stockbroker, is a must read if you use or are tempted to use a full-service broker.

Reader Reviews

Hyrum Wacaster

This book is not what people should do but what a couch potato wants to hear. No one is in better hands than with a pro. Her life insurance planning is also a joke

kennethz

According to Business Week,
:the book's single-best section, How To Be a Stockbroker, is a must read if you use or are tempted to use a full-service broker."

And that makes me to add the following questions:

-before you see a stock broker, ...   Read More

Write your own review!

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

Readalikes Full readalike results are for members only

More books by Suze Orman

If you liked The 9 Steps to Financial Freedom, try these:

  • Fortune In Your Cookies jacket

    Fortune In Your Cookies

    by Meena Cheng

    Published 2002

    About this book

    Combines the sensuality found in food with the stoic subject of money, creating a uniquely enchanting and informative personal finance book that can be described as Chocolat meets Wall Street.

  • Rich Dad's Guide to Investing jacket

    Rich Dad's Guide to Investing

    by Robert Kiyosaki, Sharon L. Lechter

    Published 2000

    About this book

    More books by this author

    Reveals the secrets of how the wealthiest Americans become even wealthier, and how all Americans can learn how to benefit from some simple investing secrets.

Non-members are limited to two results. Become a member
Search Readalikes again
How we choose readalikes

Books with similar themes


Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.