Reading guide for The Rabbit Factory by Marshall Karp

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Rabbit Factory

by Marshall Karp

The Rabbit Factory by Marshall Karp X
The Rabbit Factory by Marshall Karp
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2006, 632 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2007, 550 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Mike and Terry have very distinct personalities that mesh to make them an excellent duo. What aspects of the two characters make them work so well together? How would the story be different if Terry were narrating it?
  2. Are Joanie’s letters to Mike helpful or hurtful to his grieving process? Why do you think she left them? Why does he not open her last letter – is he just obeying her wishes or do you think there is another reason? Do you agree with his decision?
  3. Declan Brady is one of several murderers we meet who have moral qualms about their actions. Although they commit atrocious crimes, they exhibit a certain degree of compassion. Does their compassion make them at all sympathetic?
  4. Ike Rose doesn’t respond immediately to the terrorists’ demands, resulting in further destruction. Do you think he shares responsibility for the crimes that take place? Would you have handled the situation differently? If so, how?
  5. To help his brother Frankie, Mike is forced to bargain on the wrong side of the law. What do you think this says about Mike’s character? Under the circumstances, are his decisions morally acceptable?
  6. Mike got drunk and paid for sex with Coral C. the night his wife died. He continued the relationship with her for six months. What does that say about him as a man? As a husband? Did you accept his decision or did you see it as a flaw in his character? Or both?
  7. Is Mike a good role model for Hugo Cordner? Is he sincere? What could his other motivation(s) be for befriending Hugo?
  8. Aside from the two detectives, what characters are instrumental in solving the mystery? Is there a character that deserves more credit for breaking the case?
  9. Terry, Big Jim, Ike Rose, Penina Benjamin and Dean Lamaar’s father are just some of the characters whose actions as parents affect the course of the main narrative. Who are the positive and negative role models as parents? Do they all “mean well?” Did you see parenthood as an underlying theme of the novel?
  10. As you worked alongside Lomax and Biggs, at what point did you uncover the mystery of the Familyland murders? What significant clues tipped you off?

Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of MacAdam/Cage Publishing. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Sunburn
    Sunburn
    by Laura Lippman
    Crime writer Laura Lippman is both prolific and versatile. After spending years as a reporter for ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.