Beyond the Book: Background information when reading The Rabbit Factory

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Rabbit Factory

by Marshall Karp

The Rabbit Factory by Marshall Karp X
The Rabbit Factory by Marshall Karp
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Apr 2006, 632 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2007, 550 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse Review Team

Buy This Book

About this Book

Beyond the Book

Print Review

Karp's 1st time novelist status belies his experience as a writer - gleaned from many years as an advertising copyrighter on accounts such as Coca-Cola, Gillette and Paine Webber (remember the "Thank you Paine Webber ads?), followed by further time spent as a writer/producer on TV sitcoms such as "Amen", "Baby Talk" and "Working It Out". He has also written a play, "Squabbles", which has been performed in over 500 theaters, and a movie, "Just Looking", that was released in 2000.

He was born and brought up in and around New York City. Graduating with a BA in English during the Vietnam era he spent six months on active duty with the National Guard in Missouri, before signing up as an advertising copyrighter. He spent the next 22 years in the ad business, dabbling on the side with scriptwriting before eventually making the break into full-time scriptwriting.

However, that required him to work in LA and he didn't want to uproot his family from the East Coast, so eventually he moved back East just in time to catch the start of the Internet revolution - founding Compelling Content (an internet advertising agency) in 1994.

In 2000 he sold the company and his film "Just Looking" was released; and he realized it was time to write a novel - six drafts later along came The Rabbit Factory.

Bloodthirsty, is due to be released in May 2007. The only reviews so far are "author blurbs" from John Lescroart, Joseph Finder and Sheldon Siegel which, like all author blurbs, are positive. However, they are substantially more upbeat and glowing than is strictly necessary simply to fulfill a favor to a friend or publisher, which bodes well for the second volume in the series!

This article was originally published in June 2006, and has been updated for the March 2007 paperback release. Click here to go to this issue.

This article is available to non-members for a limited time. You can also read these articles for free. For full access, become a member today.
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.