MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Reading guide for Ghost Wall by Sarah Moss

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Ghost Wall

A Novel

by Sarah Moss

Ghost Wall by Sarah Moss X
Ghost Wall by Sarah Moss
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Jan 2019, 144 pages
    Paperback:
    Dec 2019, 144 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Karen Lewis
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide will contain spoilers!

  1. How would you describe the dynamic in Silvie's family when the novel opens? How about Silvie's attitude specifically? In what ways does your view of this family evolve as the novel progresses? Are there particular points in the story that shift these views?
  2. In what ways do you see contemporary views of culture and behavior exhibited during the re-enactment? Identify a few examples.
  3. Silvie sneaks out early in the morning to relieve herself and remarks, "without a house, it occurred to me, it is much harder to restrict a person's movement. Harder for a man to restrain a woman." In what ways do you see this notion play out in the novel? How do you see Silvie's premise contradicted?
  4. When Silvie asks Molly why she's not taking the re-enactment experience, "seriously," Mollie notes, "I just think a lot it's boys playing in the woods. Your dad and Jim, have you noticed, they're not much interested in the foraging and cooking, they just want to kill things and talk about fighting, why would I take it seriously?" In turn, Silvie's gut reaction is, "because they are in charge... because there will be consequences if you don't." How would you describe the differences in how Mollie and Silvie perceive the power dynamics in the group?" How do you think Dan and Pete may perceive this dynamic?
  5. In what ways does Molly challenge the status quo? How do the other characters react to her attempts to disrupt their sense of "normalcy?"
  6. Describe your interpretation of Mom. In what ways is she a victim of her circumstances? Are there ways in which she is complicit in the abuse enacted by Silvie's dad?
  7. The bog serves as both a destructive force and preserver of what people most care for and revere. Spend some time unpacking this image of "the bog." Why do you think it plays such a central role in the novel? How does it interplay with the notion of time? How about hierarchy?
  8. Identify 2-3 instances of when characters project customs or beliefs onto the past. In what ways does this practice deflect or justify what's happening in the present?
  9. How do class dynamics play into the interactions among the characters? How might you extrapolate these tensions to the present day?
  10. How do you interpret the refrain, "people don't hurt what they don't love." In what ways is this phrase twisted or abused throughout Ghost Wall?
  11. How do you think you would respond if you were in Silvie's situation when her dad and the Prof present the idea of simulating a sacrifice?
  12. Discuss the portrayal of gender roles in the novel. In what ways do class distinctions and opportunity interact with gender in the story?


Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Picador. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Children of the Land
    Children of the Land
    by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo
    In this exquisitely crafted memoir, Marcelo Hernandez Castillo describes coming of age as a young ...
  • Book Jacket: A Good Neighborhood
    A Good Neighborhood
    by Therese Anne Fowler
    After fictionalized biographies of Zelda Fitzgerald (Z, 2013) and Alva Vanderbilt (A Well-Behaved ...
  • Book Jacket: Little Gods
    Little Gods
    by Meng Jin
    Little Gods, Meng Jin's intricate, emotionally intelligent debut, opens with a scene in which ...
  • Book Jacket: The Truants
    The Truants
    by Kate Weinberg
    The Truants opens with Jess Walker, a first-year university student in Norfolk, England, ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Remembrance
    by Rita Woods

    A breakout debut with modern resonance, perfect for fans of The Underground Railroad and Orphan Train.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Sun Down Motel
    by Simone St. James

    The chilling new novel from the national bestselling and award-winning author of The Broken Girls.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
American Dirt
by Jeanine Cummins

"American Dirt is a Grapes of Wrath for our times."
—Don Winslow

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win The Lost Family

The Lost Family
by Libby Copeland

A deeply reported look at the rise of home genetic testing and the seismic shock it has had on individual lives.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

A F I Need I A F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.