MLA Platinum Award Press Release

Sarah Moss biography

Author Biography  | Books by this Author  | Readalikes

Sarah Moss

Sarah Moss

Sarah Moss Biography

Sarah Moss was born in Glasgow and moved to Manchester as a young child and lived there until she left for Oxford at eighteen. It was a Northern childhood, revolving around her home in south Manchester, her grandparents in rural Yorkshire, and weekends spent climbing mountains in the Lake District. These are still the landscapes that feel like home to her.

Moss spent ten years in Oxford, taking a BA, MS. and D.Phil in English Literature and then a postdoctoral research fellowship. There Moss developed her two main research interests: the literature of the far north, and in food and material culture in fiction, specializing in the Romantic and early Victorian periods. Moss moved on to be a lecturer and then senior lecturer at the University of Kent from 2004 – 2009, when Cold Earth was published. She took a year's leave to teach at the University of Iceland. At the end of that year, she was appointed Senior Lecturer in Literature and Place at Exeter University's Cornwall Campus, where she taught courses on various kinds of writing about nature and place.

Moss is currently Professor in Creative Writing at the University of Warwick, where she moved in 2013. She has no intention of moving house ever again.

Sarah Moss's website

This bio was last updated on 02/17/2019. We try to keep BookBrowse's biographies both up to date and accurate, but with many thousands of lives to keep track of it's a tough task. So, please help us - if the information about this author is out of date or inaccurate, and you know of a more complete source, please let us know. Authors and publishers: If you wish to make changes to a bio, send the complete biography as you would like it displayed so that we can replace the old with the new.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Books by this Author

Books by Sarah Moss at BookBrowse
Ghost Wall jacket Signs for Lost Children jacket
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Readalikes

All the books below are recommended as readalikes for Sarah Moss but some maybe more relevant to you than others depending on which books by the author you have read and enjoyed. So look for the suggested read-alikes by title linked on the right.
How we choose readalikes

  • Emily Murdoch

    Emily Murdoch

    Emily Murdoch lives in the Arizona desert with her husband and adopted dogs, spending her days operating a sanctuary for slaughter-rescued horses and burros. At night, she writes furiously by candlelight, capturing the ideas ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Ghost Wall

    Try:
    If You Find Me
    by Emily Murdoch

  • Delia Owens

    Delia Owens

    Delia Owens is the coauthor of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa - Cry of the Kalahari, The Eye of the Elephant, and Secrets of the Savanna. She has won the ... (more)

    If you enjoyed:
    Ghost Wall

    Try:
    Where the Crawdads Sing
    by Delia Owens

We recommend 4 similar authors

View all 4 Readalikes

Non-members can see 2 results. Become a member
Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" articles
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $39 for a year or $12 for 3 months
  • More about membership!

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten.

Join Now!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Island of Sea Women
    by Lisa See
    Lisa See's latest novel, The Island of Sea Women, follows the lives of Mi-ja and Young-sook, two ...
  • Book Jacket: Race Against Time
    Race Against Time
    by Jerry Mitchell
    Jerry Mitchell spent nearly three decades trailing cold cases from the Civil Rights Movement. As a ...
  • Book Jacket: The Resisters
    The Resisters
    by Gish Jen
    Gish Jen's The Resisters depicts a future United States, dubbed AutoAmerica, where climate change ...
  • Book Jacket: The Mercies
    The Mercies
    by Kiran Millwood Hargrave
    It's 1617 and a violent storm has claimed the lives of 40 fishermen off the coast of Vardø, a ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    And They Called It Camelot
    by Stephanie Marie Thornton

    An unforgettable portrait of American legend Jackie O.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Mountains Sing
    by Nguyen Phan Que Mai

    An enveloping, multigenerational tale set against the backdrop of the Viet Nam War.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club Discussion
Book Jacket
The Things They Carried
by Tim O'Brien

The classic, ground-breaking meditation on war and the redemptive power of storytelling.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Mostly Dead Things

Mostly Dead Things
by Kristen Arnett

"Hilarious, deeply morbid, and full of heart."
- BuzzFeed

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T Die I C

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.