Reading guide for Tomorrow Will Be Different by Sarah McBride

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the Book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Tomorrow Will Be Different

Love, Loss, and the Fight for Trans Equality

by Sarah McBride

Tomorrow Will Be Different by Sarah McBride X
Tomorrow Will Be Different by Sarah McBride
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

     Not Yet Rated
  • First Published:
    Mar 2018, 288 pages
    Paperback:
    Mar 2019, 288 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
Rose Rankin
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reading Guide Questions Print Excerpt

Please be aware that this discussion guide may contain spoilers!

  1. Sarah knew she was transgender at a very young age but struggled for years to accept her identity because she didn't see herself represented in the media (unless a trans person was the butt of a mean joke on a sitcom). How have things changed since then? What factors do you feel have enabled this shift?
  2. What was your experience reading Tomorrow Will Be Different? What surprised you most while reading the book and in what you learned?
  3. Many people don't know where to begin when they start learning about LGBTQ issues and are often overwhelmed with information. Did you feel this way before reading Tomorrow Will Be Different? Why or why not? Did your opinions change after reading the book? If so, how? Which part?
  4. Which part of Sarah's story were you most drawn to and why?
  5. Sarah writes about the nearly universal desire to be seen. When were some times you felt unseen, unheard, or marginalized, and how did you go about handling those situations?
  6. Sarah's experiences are the main focus of her memoir, but she points out that trans issues are closely linked with many other issues. For example: Trans women of color are more likely to experience violence, assault, and even homelessness. What other major issues can you think of that affect transgender people, whether in this book or in the world in general?
  7. Throughout Sarah's life, she has sought to bring about change. What do you think of her strategies for making progress? What do you think are the most effective ways to bring about change?
  8. Did reading Sarah's story inspire you to want to join the fight for equality? If so, how do you think you might get involved? (Hint: Visit HRC.org to learn more about how to fight the good fight!)


Unless otherwise stated, this discussion guide is reprinted with the permission of Three Rivers Press. Any page references refer to a USA edition of the book, usually the trade paperback version, and may vary in other editions.

Membership Advantages
  • Reviews
  • "Beyond the Book" backstories
  • Free books to read and review (US only)
  • Find books by time period, setting & theme
  • Read-alike suggestions by book and author
  • Book club discussions
  • and much more!
  • Just $12 for 3 months or $39 for a year
  • More about membership!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Long Call
    The Long Call
    by Ann Cleeves
    Penning a great murder mystery seems like it would be particularly challenging. The story often fits...
  • Book Jacket: The Liar
    The Liar
    by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen
    The Liar is a book that will make its readers uncomfortable by design; set in modern-day Israel, it ...
  • Book Jacket: The Dutch House
    The Dutch House
    by Ann Patchett

    There are a few times in life when you leap up and the past that you'd been standing on falls away ...

  • Book Jacket: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek
    by Kim Michele Richardson
    A loyal animal companion, treks through gorgeous but forbidding wilderness, glimpses of larger ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Motherhood So White
    by Nefertiti Austin

    A heartwarming memoir of motherhood and adoption told through an African American lens.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Shadow King
    by Maaza Mengiste

    "A brilliant novel, lyrically lifting history towards myth. It's also compulsively readable."
    —Salman Rushdie
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

The Girl Who Reads on the Métro

An enchanting story for fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

L, Damn L, A S

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.